suppliers.ai
How it works
Procurement software AI sourcing agent Supplier sourcing Manufacturer sourcing Supplier discovery Supplier management Purchase order software RFQ software Wholesale suppliers Cosmetic contract manufacturers Supplement contract manufacturers Electronics contract manufacturers Private label skin care manufacturers Co-packers Haircare manufacturers Clothing manufacturers Custom packaging manufacturers Jewelry manufacturers Candle manufacturers Pharmaceutical contract manufacturers Medical device contract manufacturers Pet product manufacturers Pet food manufacturers Furniture manufacturers Private label manufacturers Private label soap manufacturers Gummy manufacturers Private label coffee roasters Activewear manufacturers Hat manufacturers Sock manufacturers Swimwear manufacturers Private label perfume manufacturers Makeup manufacturers US manufacturers directory CNC machining companies Low MOQ manufacturers Manufacturers for small businesses Contract manufacturers Is Alibaba legit Alibaba vs AliExpress Alibaba vs Temu Custom clothing manufacturers Plastic injection molding companies Metal fabricators Laser cutting services Protein powder manufacturers Energy drink manufacturers Private label lip balm manufacturers Private label sunscreen manufacturers Softgel manufacturers Sauce manufacturers Snack manufacturers Wire harness manufacturers Die casting manufacturers Spring manufacturers Rubber molding companies Handbag manufacturers Tote bag manufacturers Clothing manufacturers in Mexico Vietnam clothing manufacturers Beverage co packers Factories in Mexico Toy manufacturers Private label deodorant manufacturers
Features Security Pricing Blog Sign in

ELECTRONICS CONTRACT MANUFACTURERS AND PCB ASSEMBLY SERVICES

Electronics contract manufacturers and PCB assembly services in the USA

Describe the board or product you need built, and the AI shortlists US electronics contract manufacturers and PCB assembly services with published setup fees, turn times, IPC class and certifications compared, so you can see how much of a quote is one time cost before you commit.

Try the demo ↓
electronics contract manufacturers pcb assembly services contract electronics manufacturing ems contract manufacturing printed circuit board assembly services pcb assembly companies electronic manufacturing services pcba manufacturing prototype pcb assembly electronic manufacturing company high volume electronics contract manufacturing
Sourcing console
Interactive demo

Parsed spec Searching and cross-checking_
vetted matches
Supplier Unit MOQ Lead Fit

Press Source or pick a category to get a vetted shortlist.

Every shortlist is vetted/ Registry & customs cross-checked/ Certifications surfaced/ Risk flags shown/ No per-deal commission

The short answer

An electronics contract manufacturer, also called an EMS provider or a CEM, buys your components, assembles your printed circuit boards and often builds the finished product under your part number. Reading US assembly houses' own sites in September 2026, the surprise is that the minimum order barely exists. Screaming Circuits states that the minimum order size is one, and MacroFab advertises no contracts and no minimums. What gates a first run is the fixed setup cost instead. Amtech publishes the figure most of the category leaves out, $600 to $1,750 in non recurring engineering per job, and publishes the arithmetic with it: a $600 NRE is $120 a board at five units, $12 at fifty and $1.20 at five hundred. So the question to ask an EMS partner is not what is your minimum order quantity. It is what is your setup fee, is it charged again on a reorder, and what is the per board price at two different quantities.

Why Suppliers

Sourcing an electronics contract manufacturer feels different from sourcing anything else, and the reason is that the usual first question does not work. Ask a US assembly house for its minimum order quantity and you will often be told there is not one. That sounds like good news until the quote arrives and a run of ten boards costs more per board than a run of five hundred by a factor you were not expecting. Nothing has gone wrong. A fixed setup charge is being divided by ten instead of five hundred, and almost nobody publishes what that charge is.

Suppliers is the AI sourcing agent for that search. Describe the board, the volume for the first run, whether you want the shop to buy the parts or you will supply them, the IPC class and any certification your market requires, and the agent shortlists US electronics contract manufacturers and PCB assembly services that fit. Published terms land alongside each match, including setup and tooling charges where a company states them, turn times with the milestone they are counted from, IPC workmanship class, ISO 9001, ISO 13485, AS9100, IATF 16949 and ITAR registration, plus identity verification, registry cross checks and risk flags. The agent shortlists and ranks; you read the evidence and decide who builds your product.

The minimum is one, so ask about the setup fee instead

Most US assembly houses will build a single board. What decides whether a first run is affordable is the fixed non recurring engineering charge, which does not shrink with quantity. The brief asks every shop for that figure up front, and for the per board price at two quantities so you can see how much of the quote is setup.

Turnkey or consigned, priced both ways

In a turnkey build the manufacturer buys your components. In a consigned build you do, and you also have to supply attrition stock because machines lose parts. Say which model you want and the shortlist shows who runs it, who stores your inventory, and who charges for the difference.

The longest lead part, before you commit

Assembly takes days. Components take months. The brief asks each shop to run your bill of materials and report the longest lead item and anything single sourced, because that part, not the factory, sets your delivery date.

IPC class and certification matched to your market

IPC-A-610 Class 2 covers most commercial products and Class 3 covers high reliability work. ISO 13485 gates medical, AS9100 gates aerospace, IATF 16949 gates automotive and ITAR registration gates defense. These are surfaced per provider so a regulated launch does not stall at the last step.

PCBA, box build or cable assembly

Some shops stop at the assembled board. Others take it through enclosure, wiring, functional test and final packaging under one part number. Name the scope and the shops that cannot cover it drop out before you write an email.

Flat price, no commission

A predictable monthly fee in USD with no percentage of your purchase order, so nothing in our model rewards steering you toward a larger run or a particular manufacturer.

How it works

Describe, match, decide.

1

Describe what you need

Type your need in plain English. The agent extracts the structured spec, from quantity and material to target price and destination.

2

AI finds & vets

It matches qualified suppliers, cross-checks registry and customs data, surfaces certifications, and flags risk, then ranks the fits.

3

Compare & decide

Review quotes, MOQs, and lead-times side by side, then run RFQ outreach and POs in one place. You stay in control.

Buyer's guide

What to know before you commit.

The minimum order in electronics is one, and that is the wrong question

Every other manufacturing category on this site is gated by minimum order quantity. Cosmetics, supplements, sauce, snacks: the first question is always how many units you have to commit to, and the answer decides whether you can start. Electronics inverts it.

Screaming Circuits in Milwaukie, Oregon answers the question in one line on its own FAQ: the minimum order size is one, and it builds single board prototypes through volume runs. MacroFab in Houston puts the same promise at the bottom of its home page, next to the quote button: no contracts, no minimums. CircuitHub builds on demand and publishes price examples at low quantities as the whole point of its business.

So the number that stops founders in other categories does not exist here. What replaces it is a fixed cost that does not care how many boards you order, and most of the industry does not publish it.

The real gate is non recurring engineering, and one company publishes the figure

Non recurring engineering, almost always shortened to NRE, is what a shop charges once to make your specific board buildable. Optimum Design Associates describes it in two halves: tools, meaning stencils, artwork, jigs, fixtures and press fits, and programming, meaning the labor to set up every machine in the line, the pick and place, the selective solder machine, the reflow oven and the inspection machines.

Most of the category will not tell you what that costs. Amtech will. It publishes that US contract manufacturers typically charge $600 to $1,750 in NRE per job, and then does the arithmetic that matters: a $600 fee is $120 a board at five units, $12 a board at fifty, and $1.20 a board at five hundred.

Read that ladder twice, because it is the whole economics of a first run. The board does not get cheaper because the factory gets generous at volume. It gets cheaper because a fixed number is being divided by a larger one. Amtech puts its own bands on the product cost too: a simple two layer board at $20 to $80 each in quantities of one to ten, $10 to $40 at eleven to fifty, and $10 to $30 at fifty one to two hundred and fifty, with a wearable example running roughly $100 a board at five units and around $35 at a hundred.

Those are Amtech's published figures for its own market, not a universal price list, and complexity moves them a long way. Use them to sanity check a quote, not to replace one.

Two companies published an article about setup costs and left the cost out

It is worth being precise about how unusual Amtech is, because the absence is the finding.

Bittele Electronics publishes a blog post titled Non-Recurring Engineering (NRE) and Tooling Costs. It explains that NRE depends on the physical dimensions of the board, the number of layers and the quantity ordered. It contains no dollar figure. QueenEMS publishes a post on what NRE means and how to reduce PCB setup and tooling costs, which sets out ownership principles and when tooling can be reused, and contains no dollar figure either.

Neither company is doing anything wrong. Both articles are genuinely useful on the mechanics. But a buyer who reads two articles whose headings promise a cost and finish with no number will reasonably conclude the number is unknowable, and it is not. It is $600 to $1,750 according to the one company that wrote it down, and that band is enough to build a budget around and to notice when a quote is an outlier.

The practical move is to make the first email produce the figure. Ask for the NRE broken out as a line item rather than folded into the board price, and ask whether it is charged again on a repeat order.

Amortized or broken out, the same NRE gives two very different second orders

There are two ways a shop can bill setup, and which one you agree to changes what your second order costs.

Broken out means you pay the tooling and programming as a separate line, once, up front. Amortized means it is spread across the units instead. Optimum Design Associates gives the worked example: if the unit cost is $100 per assembly, the manufacturer might charge $110 per unit, and once the NRE is paid off the per unit cost drops back to $100.

The reason this matters is that NRE is genuinely non recurring. Tooling and programming are reusable on repeat orders unless the design changes, so the second build of the same revision should not carry the charge again. If your quote is amortized and nobody says when it stops, it quietly becomes a permanent $10 on every board you ever buy.

Three questions settle it. Is the NRE broken out or amortized. At what quantity does the amortization end. And does a minor revision, a changed resistor value or a new silkscreen, reset the charge. Get those in writing before the first purchase order, not after. If the size of the first commitment is the part you are working around, our low MOQ manufacturers guide covers the same trade off across other categories.

A three day turn and a forty week wait are both true, and the gap is the bill of materials

US assembly houses advertise speed, and the speed is real. Amtech states fully assembled prototype boards in 24 to 72 hours and small production panels shipping in one to three working days when parts are stocked. CircuitHub states three day full turnkey fab and assembly by default, and publishes that it ships 81 percent of full turnkey orders within three days as standard. Pro-Active Engineering in Wisconsin states quick turnaround prototype assemblies in two to five days. Sierra Circuits in Sunnyvale publishes turn times of one, two, three, four, five and ten business days and says it can expedite a board within 24 hours.

Now read the sentence Screaming Circuits puts in its FAQ, which nobody advertises: it cannot begin assembly until all materials required for the build have been received, the receiving cutoff is noon, and the day the last material arrives by noon becomes the official assembly start date, with turn times counted on a rolling 24 hour basis.

That is the clock start, stated in writing, and it is the single most useful sentence in this category. The advertised turn time begins when the last component lands on the dock. It does not begin when you place the order.

What lands on the other side of that clock is not encouraging right now. Accuris Supply Chain Intelligence, tracking average weeks across part type categories in its monthly Lead Time Changes reports from March 2025 through March 2026, recorded semiconductor lead times reaching a 40 week ceiling in March 2026, a 67 percent jump in a single month from February, against the 20 to 25 weeks that were typical through most of 2025. The categories it named were circuit protection devices, converters, diodes, fiber optics, interface ICs, logic ICs, memory ICs, programmable logic, transistors and trigger devices. Passives stayed comparatively stable in the 10 to 20 week range.

So a 72 hour build and a nine month wait are both honest descriptions of the same project. One measures the factory. The other measures your riskiest part number. Ask for both, and ask which part is the constraint.

Turnkey or consigned, and the attrition nobody warns you about

The fork that decides most of your quote is who buys the components.

In a full turnkey build the manufacturer sources everything, bare boards and parts, and sells you a finished assembly. You pay for their purchasing power and their handling margin, and in exchange the shortage risk is largely theirs. Screaming Circuits offers this alongside partial turnkey, where you supply some combination of boards and parts and it sources the rest, and a fully customer supplied option.

In a consigned build you buy the parts. It can be cheaper, and it is sometimes the only option when you already hold inventory or have an allocation with a distributor. It also carries a cost that catches people out. Machines lose parts: components get flung off feeders, rejected by vision systems, or consumed setting up a reel. So you cannot send exactly enough. Screaming Circuits publishes attrition guidelines for precisely this and notes that leftover components, whether customer supplied or not, are returned with the completed order. MacroFab describes the same reality from the other side, offering consigned inventory shipped to its warehouse with live consumption tracking that explicitly includes manufacturing wastage.

There is a second consigned trap that has nothing to do with the assembler. Distributors sell many parts on full reels. You can order five boards, and still have to buy 2,500 of a connector because that is the packaging. CircuitHub built this into its quoting flow: its system extracts part numbers from your design files and alerts you to out of stock parts and to component MOQs as you build the bill of materials. That is the minimum order quantity that actually exists in electronics, and it sits with the distributor, not the factory.

What decides the shortlist before price does, class, certification and where the board is built

Three filters remove most of a shortlist before anyone quotes.

The first is IPC-A-610 workmanship class. Class 1 is general electronics, Class 2 covers most commercial and industrial products, and Class 3 is high reliability, for products where a failure is not survivable. If you do not state a class, you will be quoted Class 2 and compared against shops quoting Class 1, and the cheapest number will win a comparison it should not have been in.

The second is certification, and it is market access rather than a quality badge. ISO 9001 is the baseline quality system. ISO 13485 and FDA registration gate medical devices. AS9100 gates aerospace. IATF 16949 gates automotive. ITAR registration gates export controlled defense work, and it is a real differentiator: MacroFab describes itself as the only ITAR registered self service PCB assembly platform, and Pro-Active Engineering states ISO 9001:2015, ITAR registration and JCP certification together. If you sell into a regulated market, this filter comes before price, because a cheaper shop that cannot legally build your product is not cheaper.

The third is geography, and it is mostly a speed and control decision rather than a patriotic one. Amtech puts the fastest realistic offshore door to door at six to ten days against 24 to 72 hours domestically for a prototype, which is the difference between iterating twice in a week and iterating twice in a month. CircuitHub and MacroFab both build in the USA and both sell that as a feature. For the same trade off in machined and fabricated parts, our CNC machining companies and metal fabricators pages cover how enclosure and chassis work sorts by process rather than by product name, which is the part of a box build most hardware teams source separately. The wiring that connects boards to the enclosure is usually a separate purchase too, and our wire harness assembly and custom cable assembly manufacturers guide covers how those shops publish minimums, lead times and IPC/WHMA-A-620 class.

At a glance

What US electronics contract manufacturers and PCB assembly services publish about minimums, speed and setup, read from their own sites in September 2026.

Company Location Builds Published minimum, as stated Published speed and clock start Turnkey model and setup charges
Screaming Circuits Milwaukie, OR Prototype to mid volume PCBA The minimum order size is one Turn time starts when the last material is received, noon cutoff, rolling 24 hours Full, partial and customer supplied
MacroFab Houston, TX Turnkey PCBA, box build, ITAR work No contracts, no minimums Itemized quote in under 15 minutes from BOM and design files Turnkey, plus consigned inventory with wastage tracking
CircuitHub USA On demand PCBA for prototypes and small batches On demand, no stated floor 3 day full turnkey by default; states it ships 81% of full turnkey orders in 3 days Turnkey, with 35,000 common parts in shared inventory
Sierra Circuits Sunnyvale, CA PCB fabrication and assembly Not stated Turn times of 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 10 business days; expedite within 24 hours Not stated
Pro-Active Engineering Wisconsin Prototype, medium and high volume PCBA Not stated Quick turnaround prototype assemblies in 2 to 5 days Not stated
Amtech (buildamtech.com) USA Low volume PCBA Prototype 1 to 10, pilot 11 to 50, short run 51 to 250 24 to 72 hours for assembled prototypes when parts are stocked Publishes NRE of $600 to $1,750 per job
Bittele Electronics Toronto, serving US PCBA and turnkey Not stated Not stated Publishes an article titled NRE and Tooling Costs containing no cost
QueenEMS Not stated PCBA and EMS Not stated Not stated Publishes an article on reducing setup and tooling costs containing no figure

Figures were read in September 2026 from each company's own website. Not stated means the company publishes nothing on that point, which is itself the finding rather than an omission on our part. Amtech's $600 to $1,750 NRE band and its per board figures are that company's published guidance for the US market and are not a quote for your board; complexity, layer count, placement count and IPC class move them substantially. Component lead time figures cited elsewhere on this page are from Accuris Supply Chain Intelligence monthly Lead Time Changes reports covering March 2025 to March 2026. Confirm every figure directly before committing, because setup fees, turn times and capacity change.

People also ask

The questions buyers actually search.

What is the minimum order for PCB assembly?

In the United States there is usually no minimum. Screaming Circuits states plainly that the minimum order size is one and that it builds single board prototypes through volume runs, and MacroFab advertises no contracts and no minimums. The real floor is economic rather than contractual: a fixed setup fee divided across a very small run makes the per board price high.

How much does PCB assembly cost?

Amtech publishes the clearest bands: a simple two layer board at $20 to $80 each in quantities of one to ten, $10 to $40 at eleven to fifty, and $10 to $30 at fifty one to two hundred and fifty, with a wearable example at roughly $100 a board at five units and around $35 at a hundred. Add non recurring engineering on top, which Amtech puts at $600 to $1,750 per job.

What is NRE in PCB assembly?

Non recurring engineering is the one time charge to make your specific board buildable. It covers tooling, meaning stencils, artwork, jigs and fixtures, and programming, meaning the labor to set up the pick and place, the reflow oven, the selective solder machine and the inspection equipment. It does not scale with quantity, which is why it dominates the price of a small run.

What is the difference between turnkey and consigned PCB assembly?

In a turnkey build the manufacturer buys the bare boards and every component and sells you a finished assembly, carrying the shortage risk. In a consigned build you supply the parts and pay for labor and machine time, which can cost less but leaves procurement, obsolescence and attrition with you. Partial turnkey splits the two, with you supplying long lead or allocated parts.

How long does PCB assembly take?

Assembly itself is fast. Amtech states 24 to 72 hours for assembled prototypes when parts are stocked and CircuitHub states three day full turnkey as its default. The schedule belongs to components: Screaming Circuits states that assembly cannot begin until all materials are received, and Accuris recorded semiconductor lead times reaching 40 weeks in March 2026.

What does EMS stand for in manufacturing?

EMS stands for electronic manufacturing services, and an EMS provider is the same thing as an electronics contract manufacturer or CEM. The work spans component procurement, printed circuit board assembly, functional test, box build and sometimes repair and fulfillment. EMS usually implies a broader service range than a shop that only populates boards.

What certifications should an electronics contract manufacturer have?

ISO 9001 is the baseline quality system and IPC-A-610 sets workmanship class, with Class 3 required for high reliability products. Beyond that, certification is market access: ISO 13485 and FDA registration for medical devices, AS9100 for aerospace, IATF 16949 for automotive, and ITAR registration for export controlled defense work.

Which electronics contract manufacturers handle high volume production?

High volume electronics contract manufacturing is a different business from the quick-turn shops in the table above. The large US-headquartered EMS providers, such as Jabil, Flex, Sanmina, Benchmark Electronics, Plexus and Kimball Electronics, quote on forecast annual volume under a supply agreement, not per job, and usually build in several countries. A brand moving from 500 boards to 50,000 a year should send the same forecast to a mid-tier regional EMS as well, then compare unit price, NRE and the inventory liability each one asks you to sign.

How do I find an electronics contract manufacturer in the USA?

Sort by volume band first, because prototype shops and production lines are different businesses, then by certification, then by whether you want turnkey or consigned. US shops publishing terms in September 2026 include Screaming Circuits in Oregon, MacroFab in Texas, Sierra Circuits in California, CircuitHub and Pro-Active Engineering in Wisconsin.

FAQ

Common questions.

Describe the build in plain English: board complexity and layer count, the volume for the first run and a twelve month forecast, whether you want turnkey or consigned, the IPC class, and any certification your market requires. The agent searches for shops that run that combination, verifies each one, and returns a ranked shortlist with published terms and the evidence behind every match.

Yes, and it is the first filter applied. A quick turn prototype house and a high volume production line quote the same job very differently, and a shop that does not want your run will price it to go away. Naming the volume band in the brief keeps the shortlist to manufacturers that want the work.

Where a manufacturer publishes them, yes, and where it does not the shortlist records not stated rather than estimating a figure. The RFQ then asks every shop for the NRE as a separate line item, for the per board price at the quoted quantity and at roughly double it, and for whether the charge repeats on a reorder.

The brief asks every shortlisted manufacturer to run your bill of materials and report the longest lead part and anything single sourced, and the replies sit side by side so you can see which shop actually did the work. We surface and compare what manufacturers and public sources state. We do not hold component stock or guarantee availability.

No. We do identity verification, registry and customs cross checks, surfaced certifications and risk flags, with the evidence shown so you can judge it yourself. That is risk reduction, not elimination. Line audits, first article inspection, IPC class sign off and product acceptance stay with you and your manufacturer, and we do not classify products under ITAR, FDA or export control rules.

A flat monthly fee for the platform in USD, with no commission on what you buy and no margin on your orders. You contract with the manufacturer directly and we are never a counterparty on your purchase order. There is no free plan.

Related solutions

Explore more of Suppliers.

Factories in Mexico

Describe the part, the volume and the date you need it in the US, and the AI shortlists Mexican contract manufacturers and shelter operators with their published certifications, volume bands and start up times compared.

Learn more →

Medical device contract manufacturers

Describe the device you need built, and the AI shortlists FDA registered, ISO 13485 medical device contract manufacturers with device class, cleanrooms, startup fit and terms of sale compared, so you know who will take your build before you send a drawing.

Learn more →

Rubber molding companies

Describe the molded rubber or silicone part you need, and the AI shortlists US rubber molding companies with published tooling prices, lead times, tolerance classes and certifications compared, so you know which molder fits your drawing before you send it.

Learn more →

Wire harness manufacturers

Describe the harness or cable assembly you need built, and the AI shortlists US wire harness manufacturers with published minimums, lead times, IPC/WHMA-A-620 class and certifications compared, so you know which shop can build to your drawing before you send it.

Learn more →

CNC machining companies

Describe the part you need machined, and the AI shortlists CNC machining companies and precision machine shops with their certifications, tolerance capability, quantities, and lead times compared side by side.

Learn more →

Metal fabricators

Describe the metal part or assembly you need built and the AI shortlists metal fabricators with material, thickness range, tolerances, finishing, certifications, lead times, and quotes compared side by side.

Learn more →

Plastic injection molding companies

Describe the plastic part you need produced and the AI shortlists plastic injection molding companies with tooling cost, mold class, cavitation, lead times, and per-part quotes compared side by side.

Learn more →

Custom packaging manufacturers

Describe the box, mailer, or pouch you need, and the AI shortlists custom packaging manufacturers with minimum order quantities, lead times, and finishes compared.

Learn more →

Low MOQ manufacturers

Describe what you want made and the quantity you can actually commit to, and the AI shortlists low MOQ manufacturers whose minimum order quantities, unit prices, and lead times fit a first run.

Learn more →

Manufacturers for small businesses

Describe what your business needs made, and the AI shortlists manufacturers, suppliers, and vendors that actually take small business orders, with minimums, lead times, and quotes compared side by side.

Learn more →

Contract manufacturers

Describe the product you need built and the AI shortlists contract manufacturing companies set up for your process, category, and volume, with minimums, lead times, certifications, and quotes compared side by side.

Learn more →

All sourcing & procurement solutions

Source your next product

Get a vetted shortlist in minutes.

Describe what you need and get a quote-compared supplier shortlist. Vetted shortlists, quotes compared, no per-deal commission.