suppliers.ai
How it works Features Security Pricing Blog
All articles

Comparisons

Best Private Label Energy Drink Manufacturers

Six US and North American beverage co packers compared on what each one actually publishes: minimum order, lead time, price, formats and certifications. Five of the six state their minimum as an adjective rather than a number, and none publishes a price.

By the Suppliers team · September 2026 · 9 min read

Sourcing Console
sample data
Parsed spec Matching suppliers_
vetted matches
Supplier Unit MOQ Lead Fit

Shortlist matched to your spec. Sample data shown.

Press Source or pick a category to get a vetted shortlist.

The short answer: Abita Brewing is the only co packer in this group that publishes a hard minimum, 2,000 cases per brand, so it is the one you can plan against before you call. PowerBrands is the most useful page to read because it publishes both halves of the timeline, 8 to 12 weeks for a first run and 2 to 4 weeks for repeats. Lucky To Be Beverage carries the deepest certification stack for a functional drink. ProtoPackers is the one to call if you need a few hundred cans to validate a flavor rather than a launch quantity. And the finding that matters more than any ranking: five of the six describe their minimum order with an adjective instead of a number, and none of the six publishes a price.

This comparison was built by reading each company's own website in September 2026. Where a company publishes nothing, that is recorded as not stated rather than estimated. Guessing at a minimum order and printing it as fact is how a founder ends up raising money for a run nobody asked them to place.

The six co packers compared

Co packerLocationPublished minimumLead timePublishes a price?Certifications stated
Abita BrewingCovington, LA2,000 cases per brandNot statedNoNot stated on the private label page
PowerBrandsSherman Oaks, CAA few thousand cases per SKU for cans8 to 12 weeks new, 2 to 4 weeks repeatNoSQF, GMP, HACCP, Kosher, Halal, TTB
MetaBrandEdison, NJNot statedNot statedNoFDA and TTB registered
Lucky To Be BeverageNot statedNot stated, described as flexible and lowNot statedNoNSF cGMP, FDA, organic, non GMO
ProtoPackersSouthern CaliforniaNot stated, described as much smaller than traditionalNot statedNoNot stated on the co packing page
BEVMexico, ships to US brands180,000 cans per SKURoughly 6 weeksNoSQF Edition 9

One of six publishes a hard minimum. Two publish a lead time. Zero publish a price. That last line means the usual advice to compare quotes is not a preference in this category, it is the only mechanism that exists. There is no rate card anywhere to read.

Five of six state their minimum as an adjective

Read these pages back to back and the same sentence appears in five different fonts. Low MOQs. Flexible minimums. Much smaller minimum order quantities than traditional co packers. A few thousand cases per SKU. Every one of those is a description rather than a number, and low is relative to the facility saying it, not to your bank balance.

That is not evasiveness so much as an honest refusal to quote before knowing your can size, your formula, and whether the packer has to buy your cans. But it has a real cost to you: ranking facilities by how accommodating their marketing sounds produces a shortlist with no relationship to what you can actually order. A production co packer describing its minimum as low may mean five thousand cases. A short run packer using the identical word may mean four hundred cans. Both are telling the truth and they are two orders of magnitude apart.

The fix takes one sentence. Ask for the minimum as a number, in a stated unit, for your specific format, in your first email rather than your fourth. Facilities answer readily once asked. A facility that still will not give a figure after you have supplied format, volume, and formula status has told you something useful about how it will handle the rest of the relationship.

Convert cases to cans before you eliminate anyone

The two facilities that do publish figures publish them in different units, and the result looks incompatible. Abita states 2,000 cases per brand. BEV states 180,000 cans per SKU. At a glance that is a ninety fold difference and a founder scanning both concludes that one of them is out of reach.

Run the arithmetic and most of the gap is unit conversion. Take a standard 24 can case, which is the common configuration for 12oz cans and an assumption worth confirming with each packer rather than taking from an article. On that basis Abita's 2,000 cases is roughly 48,000 cans, so the real comparison is 48,000 against 180,000. Still a genuine difference, about four times, but one you can reason about rather than a number that quietly deletes a supplier from your list. Watch the format too, because a 16oz sleek can ships 12 or 24 to a case depending on the packer, so there is no single constant across a shortlist.

Build one column in your comparison sheet called cans, convert every quote into it, and keep the original unit beside it so you can quote each facility back to itself. State your own target in both units when you send the brief, for the same reason.

The 8 to 12 week lead time is a setup cost, not your cadence

PowerBrands is the only facility here that publishes both halves of the timeline, and the pair is worth more than either number alone: 8 to 12 weeks from approved formula to first production for a new product, and 2 to 4 weeks for repeat orders once materials are on hand.

One vendor there proves the mechanism for the whole category. The long figure is dominated by work you do exactly once, mostly formula approval, pilot batches, label review, and the printed can order, which carries its own lead time from the can supplier rather than from the packer. Once the materials sit in the warehouse, filling is a scheduling problem. BEV's roughly six weeks sits between the two figures and reads like a facility quoting a run rather than a launch.

The consequence is about cash rather than patience. Your first purchase order buys a formula, a pilot, artwork, and a can order on top of the inventory, and it is the only run carrying all of that. Forecast your second and third runs at the repeat cadence or you will plan a stockout a month later than it actually arrives. Ask every packer whether their quoted lead time starts at approved formula or at cans on the dock, because those two starting lines are weeks apart.

Best for a first run you can plan: Abita Brewing

Abita, in Covington and New Orleans, Louisiana, is a nearly four decade old brewer running private label energy and functional beverage work alongside its own beer. It asks directly whether your projected volume meets its minimum requirement of 2,000 cases per brand, which makes it the only facility in this group you can qualify yourself against before making contact. It publishes its formats too: 12oz, 16oz and 19.2oz cans in standard and sleek profiles, 12oz glass bottles, kegs, and multi pack configurations. The page states no lead time, no price, and no certifications beyond its craft brewer status, so those are questions for the first call.

Best for a brand that wants both numbers up front: PowerBrands

PowerBrands in Sherman Oaks, California publishes more operational detail than anyone else here. It states SQF, GMP and HACCP certification, offers Kosher and Halal, and holds TTB licensing for alcoholic products, which matters if a hard seltzer or RTD cocktail is anywhere in your roadmap. It handles cans, glass, PET, 2 to 3oz shots, cartons and pouches, and it is candid that can minimums start at a few thousand cases per SKU while bottles can be more flexible. It publishes no price. If you want a single facility that can grow across formats, this is the most transparent page in the group.

Best certification stack for a functional drink: Lucky To Be Beverage

Lucky To Be states NSF cGMP certification in an FDA regulated facility, plus organic and non GMO certification, and formats spanning 8.4oz to 16oz cans, 8oz to 16oz RTD bottles, 750ml bottles, and wellness shots. For a functional or clean label positioning, that combination is the point, because organic and non GMO claims on a can need a facility that can actually document them. It advertises flexible and low minimums without publishing a figure and states no lead time and no price, so treat the certification list as the reason to call and the numbers as the first thing to ask.

Best for validating a flavor: ProtoPackers

ProtoPackers, part of DIY Beverages in Southern California, exists in a different tier from everyone else on this list. It fills at deliberately lower speeds on its own smaller equipment specifically to serve minimum order quantities well below a production line, in aluminum cans and PET or HDPE bottles, with blending and mixing in house. That is a worse way to make a hundred thousand cans and a much better way to make five hundred.

Which points at the mistake underneath most of the advice in this category. The claim that you need tens of thousands of cans to launch a drink is true of production co packing and false of validation runs, and a founder who only calls production facilities will never learn the second tier exists. If you are testing a flavor, filming content, or putting product in front of a distributor before you have demand, ask for a pilot or short run and accept a higher cost per can in exchange for a much lower cost to find out. Once the cans are filled you will need the same attention on demand as on supply, and it is usually cheaper to turn the product page into ready to run UGC video ads than to shoot a launch campaign from scratch. If you already hold purchase orders, skip this tier entirely, because paying short run rates on volume is the same mistake in reverse.

Also worth a call: MetaBrand

MetaBrand in Edison, New Jersey is an independent beverage formulation and manufacturing company covering sports drinks, energy drinks and shots, nootropic RTDs, teas and plant based elixirs, plus alcohol infused RTD cocktails and mixers. It states an FDA and TTB registered facility. It publishes no minimum, no lead time and no price at all, which is why it sits at the bottom of a comparison built on published figures rather than at the bottom on capability. If your product still needs formulating rather than filling, a development led shop is the right kind of partner and worth the phone call the website will not save you.

Settle beverage or dietary supplement before you approve a formula

One question decides which of these facilities can make your product, and it is invisible on a shelf. A conventional beverage carries a Nutrition Facts panel. A liquid dietary supplement carries Supplement Facts. FDA issued guidance in January 2014 titled Distinguishing Liquid Dietary Supplements from Beverages, describing the factors it weighs, including how the product is labeled and named, its serving size, its packaging, and how it is marketed. Guidance documents describe the agency's current thinking rather than creating legally enforceable requirements, but it is the clearest public statement of where the line sits.

Facilities are built and audited for one path or the other and some hold both. The supplement path brings dietary supplement cGMP obligations under 21 CFR 111 that a straightforward beverage line does not carry, and that shows up in the quote. Changing paths after formulation means new labeling, possibly a new facility, and restarting work you already paid for, so write the answer into the first line of your brief. Brands running capsules or powders alongside a drink usually end up pairing a beverage co packer with supplement contract manufacturers for the other formats, which is normal and worth planning for. This is a question for a qualified regulatory consultant, not something we advise on.

What to put in the first email

Because none of these facilities publishes a price and only one publishes a minimum, the brief you send is the entire comparison. Include the format and can size, your quantity stated in both cases and cans, whether the formula is approved or still needs development, the regulatory path, any certifications your retailer requires, whether you are supplying cans or expecting the packer to procure them, and the date you need product on a shelf. Ask explicitly for the minimum as a number and for the lead time measured from a stated starting point.

Send that identical brief to four or five facilities rather than a tailored note to each. Identical inputs are the only way the replies come back comparable, and comparability is the thing this category takes away from you by default. That is the search our energy drink manufacturers page is built to run, and the same discipline applies across the wider pool of food and drink co packers if you are launching more than one product line.

Verify every figure in this article against the facility's own page before you commit. Published minimums, formats and turnarounds change, and a number read in September 2026 is a starting point for a conversation rather than a quote.

Frequently asked questions

Which private label energy drink manufacturer has the lowest minimum?

Among facilities that publish a figure, Abita Brewing is the only one with a hard number at 2,000 cases per brand, roughly 48,000 cans at a standard 24 can case. Lower minimums exist in the short run tier, where ProtoPackers fills at deliberately lower speeds to serve smaller orders, but it publishes no figure. Ask for the number in your first email, because five of the six only describe it.

How much does it cost to produce a private label energy drink?

None of the six co packers checked in September 2026 publishes a price, so there is no honest rate to quote. Cost is driven by can size, the formula and its actives, whether you are on a beverage or dietary supplement path, the printed can quantity, and run size. Printed cans are usually the single largest line on a first purchase order.

How long does an energy drink production run take?

PowerBrands publishes both figures: 8 to 12 weeks from approved formula to first production for a new product, and 2 to 4 weeks for repeat orders once materials are on hand. BEV states roughly six weeks. The long number is dominated by one time work, so forecast later runs at the repeat cadence rather than the launch cadence.

What is the difference between 2,000 cases and 180,000 cans?

Less than it looks. At a standard 24 can case, Abita 2,000 cases is roughly 48,000 cans, so the real comparison against BEV 180,000 cans is about four times rather than ninety. Confirm the case configuration with each packer, because a 16oz sleek can ships 12 or 24 to a case depending on the facility.

Do I need a co packer or a contract manufacturer for an energy drink?

In beverages the terms are used almost interchangeably and the distinction that matters is whether the facility formulates or only fills. A co packer expects an approved recipe and often your own materials. A development led shop such as MetaBrand will build the formula with you first. Say which you need in the first email, because it changes the quote and the timeline.

Is my energy drink a beverage or a dietary supplement?

FDA guidance from January 2014 on distinguishing liquid dietary supplements from beverages describes the factors that decide it, including labeling, product name, serving size, packaging and marketing. A beverage carries Nutrition Facts, a supplement carries Supplement Facts. Settle it before formulation, because facilities are built for one path or the other and switching later restarts paid work.

Suppliers · Get started

Put this into practice with an AI sourcing agent

Describe what you need to make or buy in plain English, and the AI finds, vets, and shortlists qualified manufacturers, with quotes, MOQs, and lead-times compared side by side, then helps you run RFQs and POs in one place. Flat price, no per-deal commission.

See how it works →

Source your next product

Get a vetted shortlist in minutes.

Describe what you need and get a quote-compared supplier shortlist. Vetted shortlists, quotes compared, no per-deal commission.

What vetting means →