PROTEIN POWDER MANUFACTURERS
Protein powder manufacturers: whey, collagen, private label
Describe the protein powder you want made and the AI shortlists cGMP manufacturers that run your format, with minimums, lead times, testing, and quotes compared side by side.
| Supplier | Unit | MOQ | Lead | Fit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Shortlist matched to your spec. Sample data shown.
Press Source or pick a category to get a vetted shortlist.
The short answer
Last updated September 2026
A protein powder manufacturer blends, flavors, tests, and fills whey, casein, collagen, or plant protein that you sell under your own brand, under FDA dietary supplement cGMP rules in 21 CFR Part 111. The minimum order is the number that surprises new brands most, and it is not one number. Reading seven US private label manufacturers' own pages in September 2026, published minimums run from 48 bottles at ViaCore Nutrition to 1,250 for a custom formula at the same company, a 26x spread that tracks stock formula versus custom formula rather than company size. None of the seven publishes a price. Describe your product here and the AI shortlists manufacturers that run your protein type and format, then puts their minimums, lead times, testing, and quotes next to each other.
Why Suppliers
Protein powder looks like the easiest supplement to launch and it is the one where the numbers move most between manufacturers. A capsule is mostly a capsule. A protein powder is a raw material that costs real money by the pound, a flavor system that has to survive being mixed into water by somebody in a hurry, and a fill that has to hit a label claim after two years on a shelf. Those three things are why two quotes for the same twenty five servings of chocolate whey can differ by more than the margin you were planning to make.
The minimum order is where most first time brands get their expectations wrong, and they usually get them wrong in the expensive direction. The number that circulates is thousands of units, which sends founders looking for money they do not need yet. It is a real number, but it belongs to custom formulation, and it has escaped the context it came from. Stock formula private label, where you put your label on a protein the manufacturer already makes, starts far lower than that at several US facilities.
Suppliers is the AI sourcing agent that gets you to the right pool. Describe the protein type, the format, the flavor, the certifications you need, and the quantity you can genuinely commit to, and the agent shortlists protein powder manufacturers and nutraceutical co-manufacturers that run that work. Each match carries its vetting evidence: identity verification, registry and customs cross-checks, surfaced certifications such as cGMP and NSF, and any risk flags worth a second look. The agent shortlists and ranks; you read the evidence and choose who makes your product.
Stock or custom, priced separately
These are two different products with minimums that differ by a factor of twenty or more. Say which one you want in the brief and the shortlist only returns manufacturers whose published starting quantity matches the inventory risk you can actually carry.
Matched to your protein, not just to powder
Whey isolate, whey concentrate, micellar casein, collagen peptides, pea, and rice each have different suppliers, different costs, and different flavor problems. Name yours and only makers who already run it get shortlisted.
Every fill format
Tubs, pouches, single serve stickpacks, and ready to mix sachets need different filling lines. A facility that runs tubs beautifully may not own a stickpack machine, so format is a filter rather than an afterthought.
Sport certification visible
If you intend to sell to athletes, teams, or retail, NSF Certified for Sport, Informed Sport, and BSCG status is surfaced with each maker, because retrofitting a certification onto an existing run is not possible.
Testing capability surfaced
See which facilities run identity, potency, heavy metal, and microbial testing in house and which send it out, before you build a brand on their certificates of analysis.
Flat price, no commission
A predictable monthly fee in USD with no percentage of your purchase order, so nothing in our model rewards steering you toward a bigger run or a particular manufacturer.
How it works
Describe, match, decide.
Describe what you need
Type your need in plain English. The agent extracts the structured spec, from quantity and material to target price and destination.
AI finds & vets
It matches qualified suppliers, cross-checks registry and customs data, surfaces certifications, and flags risk, then ranks the fits.
Compare & decide
Review quotes, MOQs, and lead-times side by side, then run RFQ outreach and POs in one place. You stay in control.
Buyer's guide
What to know before you commit.
Published minimums run from 48 units to 1,250, and the split is stock versus custom
Ask what the minimum order is for private label protein powder and you will get a confident answer from whichever page you opened first. Put the pages side by side and the confidence disappears. Reading each company's own site in September 2026: ViaCore Nutrition publishes as few as 48 bottles on a stock product, Vitalabs publishes a minimum of 72 bottles per SKU, Pure Private Label publishes 144 units, and Makers Nutrition publishes as low as 500. Aligen, Bactolac, and YouBar publish no minimum at all and route you to a quote form.
So four of seven publish a number, and those four span roughly a tenfold range on their own. The spread gets wider once you include custom work, and the most useful single data point on this page comes from one company publishing both ends of it. ViaCore states as few as 48 bottles on a stock product, increasing to 1,250 bottles on a custom formula. Same facility, same equipment, same week. The minimum moved by a factor of about twenty six because of one decision the buyer made.
That is the mechanism nobody spells out on a sales page. A stock formula already exists. The manufacturer has bought the raw material, validated the blend, run the stability study, and holds finished inventory, so your order is really a labeling and packing job. A custom formula means buying raw ingredients in commercial quantities, building and testing a new blend, and dedicating a line, and the minimum has to cover all of that before a single tub ships.
The practical consequence is that the widely repeated advice that you need thousands of units to start a protein brand is answering a question you may not have asked. If your first run is a stock whey with your label on it, several US facilities will start you in the dozens or low hundreds. If you want your own ratio, your own sweetener, and a branded ingredient, expect four figures and plan the cash for it. Deciding stock or custom before you contact anyone is the highest leverage half hour in the whole project, and it is the same trade that shapes minimums across private label manufacturers in every category.
None of the seven publishes a price, so the quote is the only real number
Across all seven manufacturers checked in September 2026, not one publishes a dollar figure for a private label protein powder run. ViaCore shows a From $2.00 placeholder that requires signing in to see anything real. Bactolac's own FAQ answers the pricing question by saying the cost varies with packaging and ingredient costs. The rest point at a quote form or a phone number.
That is a stronger absence than you find in most manufacturing categories. It is not evasion so much as a category where the material is a commodity with a moving price, and the vendors know it. Whey markets move, and a per unit price quoted today against last month's whey is a promise the manufacturer would have to eat.
It does mean the only way to learn your number is to put the same brief in front of several facilities, and that the comparison work falls entirely on you. It also means you should be suspicious of a per unit price offered before anyone has asked your protein type, your grams of protein per serving, your flavor, your tub size, and your quantity. Those five inputs decide the cost, and a number given without them is a marketing figure rather than a quote.
Only one of the seven publishes a lead time. Aligen states a six week turnaround for private label. ViaCore states same day shipping on stock products and only that custom formulas take longer, without saying how much longer. Everyone else is silent. Treat any timeline you are told verbally as a number to get in writing before you plan a launch date around it.
The protein is most of your cost, which is not true of a capsule
In capsules and tablets the ingredients are usually measured in milligrams and the packaging, the bottle, and the labor are a large share of the unit cost. Protein flips that. You are selling twenty to thirty grams of an actual commodity per serving, times twenty five or thirty servings per tub, so a single tub carries roughly a pound and a half of raw material. The protein you choose is the dominant line on your cost sheet, and no amount of negotiating on packaging will move the total the way switching protein does.
This is why whey concentrate and whey isolate produce such different quotes for what looks like the same product. Concentrate runs lower in protein by weight and carries more lactose and fat, isolate is further processed to a higher protein percentage, and the price gap between them is real and persistent. Plant proteins carry their own version of the trade: pea protein is usually cheaper than isolate but has a flavor profile that costs you more in masking, and rice protein is often blended with pea to fix an amino acid gap rather than used alone. Collagen peptides are a separate market again with their own supply and their own claims, and they are not a complete protein, which matters for what you can put on the panel.
Two other things move the cost sheet in ways new brands do not plan for. The first is overage. To guarantee the protein and any actives on your label through the whole shelf life, the manufacturer overfills against the claim, and you pay for material that exists only to keep the panel true at month twenty four. The second is the flavor system. Getting a chocolate whey to taste acceptable in cold water in a shaker bottle is a genuine formulation problem, and sweetener choice, whether you are on sucralose, stevia, monk fruit, or unsweetened, changes both the cost and the length of the development cycle.
When you compare quotes, compare cost per gram of protein delivered rather than cost per tub. Two manufacturers quoting the same price per unit can be selling you meaningfully different products once serving size and protein percentage are accounted for.
Pick your sport certification before you pick your manufacturer
If you plan to sell to athletes, to teams, or into retail chains that ask for it, banned substance certification is not something you add later. It is a facility and batch level program, so it has to be chosen before the run rather than applied to finished inventory sitting in a warehouse.
Three programs matter in the US and they are not interchangeable. NSF Certified for Sport tests for approximately 290 banned substances and is the one with the deepest institutional recognition: it is recognized by the United States Anti-Doping Agency, Major League Baseball, the National Hockey League and the Canadian Centre for Ethics in Sport, and recommended by the NFL, NBA, PGA, LPGA, NASCAR and Ironman among others. Informed Sport, run by LGC Assure and established in 2008, covers more than 285 substances. BSCG Certified Drug Free covers approximately 450, the widest list of the three.
The substance count is the number everyone compares and it is the less important one. The real difference is testing frequency. Informed Sport tests every batch before release and also runs blind off the shelf tests on retail product, and BSCG likewise works on an every lot basis, while NSF Certified for Sport operates on a variable model rather than certifying every single lot. If your buyer is a professional team or a league, recognition is what they will ask about and NSF has the most of it. If your risk is a contaminated lot reaching a customer, per batch testing is what actually reduces it.
Whichever you choose, ask a prospective manufacturer two questions: whether the facility is already enrolled in that program, and whether your specific product would be certified or merely made in a certified facility. Those are different claims and only one of them can go on your label. If your buyer is a retailer rather than an athlete, the equivalent questions are about third party GMP registration and allergen controls, which is the same conversation you would have with a co-packer for any food product.
What to put in a protein powder RFQ so the quotes are comparable
Most protein quotes come back non comparable, and the brief is usually why. Seven lines fix it.
Say stock or custom in the first sentence. It moves the minimum by roughly twenty six times at one of the manufacturers above, so leaving it ambiguous guarantees you get quoted for different things.
Name the protein and the grade. Whey isolate, whey concentrate at a stated percentage, micellar casein, collagen peptides, pea, or a blend with the ratio. This is the largest cost input, so it cannot be left to the manufacturer's assumption.
Give grams of protein per serving and servings per container. Cost per tub is meaningless without both, and it is the only way to compare two quotes on cost per gram of protein delivered.
Specify the format and the closure. A twenty serving tub, a stand up pouch, and a stickpack are three different filling lines, and not every facility owns all three.
State the certifications you need up front, including sport certification, organic, non GMO, gluten free, and kosher or halal. Each one narrows the facility pool before anyone quotes.
Give quantity at two or three volumes. This shows you the price break curve rather than a single number, and on a material driven product the curve is steep enough to change your launch plan.
Ask what the overage assumption is and who owns the stability data. If the manufacturer runs the stability study, ask whether you receive the report, because it is what supports your expiry date if anyone ever asks. If you are sending the same brief to more shops than you want to email by hand, an RFQ tool keeps every response in one comparable place, and the wider question of how to shortlist a facility at all is covered on our supplement contract manufacturers page.
At a glance
What seven US private label protein powder manufacturers publish on their own websites, September 2026.
| Manufacturer | Published minimum order | Stated lead time | Publishes a price? | Certifications stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ViaCore Nutrition | As few as 48 bottles on a stock product, increasing to 1,250 bottles on a custom formula | Same day shipping on stock; custom formulas stated as longer, no figure given | No. A From $2.00 placeholder requires signing in | GMP certified, Eurofins |
| Vitalabs | 72 bottles per SKU | Not stated | No | Not stated on the private labeling page |
| Pure Private Label | 144 units, described for custom formulation | Not stated beyond fast turnaround | No. Quote by phone | FDA registered, cGMP compliant, made in USA |
| Makers Nutrition | As low as 500 | Not stated | No. Quote by form or phone | Not stated on the protein powder page |
| Aligen | Not stated. Described as flexible | Six weeks | No. Pricing by request | FDA registered, Florida Health Department licensed, cGMP |
| Bactolac Pharmaceutical | Not stated | Not stated | No. FAQ states cost varies with packaging and ingredients | cGMP, FDA compliant, supports NSF Certified for Sport, organic and non GMO |
| YouBar Manufacturing | Not stated | Not stated | No | Not stated on the protein powders page |
Every figure above was read from that company's own website in September 2026, not from a directory, and blank cells mean the company publishes nothing rather than that the answer is no. Four of the seven publish a minimum order quantity, one publishes a lead time, and none publishes a price for a private label run. Confirm all of it directly with the facility before you commit, because published minimums and turnarounds change.
People also ask
The questions buyers actually search.
What is the minimum order for private label protein powder?
It depends almost entirely on whether you take a stock formula or a custom one. Reading seven US manufacturers in September 2026, published minimums run from 48 bottles at ViaCore Nutrition and 72 at Vitalabs to 144 at Pure Private Label and 500 at Makers Nutrition. ViaCore publishes both ends of the split itself, rising from 48 on a stock product to 1,250 on a custom formula.
How much does it cost to make your own protein powder?
None of the seven US private label manufacturers checked in September 2026 publishes a price, so there is no rate to quote honestly. Cost is driven by the protein type and grade, grams per serving, servings per container, the flavor system, and quantity. Because raw protein is the dominant input, compare quotes on cost per gram of protein delivered rather than cost per tub.
How long does it take to manufacture protein powder?
Published figures are scarce. Aligen states a six week turnaround for private label, and ViaCore states same day shipping on stock products with custom formulas taking longer without giving a number. The other five publish nothing. Expect stock label runs in weeks and custom formulation in months once ingredient sourcing, a stability study, and release testing are included.
What is the difference between private label and white label protein powder?
In practice the terms are used interchangeably for putting your brand on an existing stock formula. Where people draw a line, white label means a generic product sold to many brands with minimal changes, and private label implies some exclusivity or modification for you. Both differ from custom formulation, which is a formula built to your specification and carries a much higher minimum.
Do protein powder manufacturers need to be FDA approved?
The FDA does not approve dietary supplements or the facilities that make them before sale. It does require the facility to register and to follow cGMP rules in 21 CFR Part 111, and it inspects for compliance. A manufacturer that describes itself as FDA approved is using the wrong word, which is worth noticing.
Is NSF Certified for Sport or Informed Sport better?
They solve slightly different problems. NSF Certified for Sport covers approximately 290 banned substances and carries the deepest institutional recognition, including USADA, MLB and the NHL. Informed Sport covers more than 285 and tests every batch before release. If your buyer is a league or a team, recognition matters most; if your concern is a contaminated lot, per batch testing does.
Can I make protein powder with a low minimum order?
Yes, if you accept a stock formula. Several US facilities publish minimums in the dozens or low hundreds of units, including 48 bottles at ViaCore Nutrition, 72 per SKU at Vitalabs and 144 units at Pure Private Label. The four figure minimums people quote generally apply to custom formulation, where the manufacturer has to buy raw material and validate a new blend.
Who manufactures protein powder for supplement brands?
Most brands do not own a facility. They use nutraceutical contract manufacturers and co-manufacturers that blend, flavor, test, and fill under cGMP, then ship in your packaging. The pool splits between stock private label houses with low minimums and custom formulation facilities that develop a blend to your specification for a larger commitment.
FAQ
Common questions.
Yes. Protein type decides both the raw material supply chain and the flavor work, so state it in the brief. The shortlist keeps makers that already run whey isolate, whey concentrate, casein, collagen peptides, pea, rice, or a blend, rather than facilities that would be starting from scratch on your order.
Yes. Ask for NSF Certified for Sport, Informed Sport, or BSCG in the brief and the shortlist surfaces where a facility holds or supports that program, with the evidence shown. Confirm current enrollment directly with the facility, and confirm whether your product would be certified or only made in a certified facility.
It surfaces published and stated minimums where a manufacturer makes them available, which is the filter that matters most in this category given the range runs from dozens of units to over a thousand. Where a facility publishes nothing, the shortlist says so rather than guessing a number for it.
Yes. Set the region in the brief and the shortlist focuses on domestic facilities, which most supplement brands prefer for shorter lead times, easier site visits, a simpler compliance story, and the ability to put a made in USA claim on the label where it is genuinely supportable.
No. We do identity verification, registry and customs cross-checks, surfaced certifications, and risk flags, with the evidence shown so you can judge it yourself. That is risk reduction, not elimination. Facility audits, certificate of analysis review, and finished product approval remain yours, and a human should sign off before a production release.
A flat monthly fee for the platform in USD, with no commission on what you buy and no margin taken on your orders. You contract with the manufacturer directly and we are never a counterparty on your purchase order. There is no free plan.
Related solutions
Explore more of Suppliers.
Supplement contract manufacturers
Describe the supplement you want made, and the AI shortlists cGMP contract manufacturers with MOQs, lead times, and testing compared.
Learn more →Gummy manufacturers
Describe the gummy you want to sell, from a private label vitamin gummy to a custom supplement or candy formula, and the AI shortlists US gummy manufacturers with minimum order quantities, actives, certifications, and lead times compared side by side.
Learn more →Co-packers
Describe the food or beverage you want made and packed, and the AI shortlists co-packers with capacity, certifications, and lead times compared.
Learn more →Private label manufacturers
Describe the product you want to sell under your own brand, and the AI shortlists private label manufacturers and suppliers with minimum order quantities, certifications, and lead times compared side by side.
Learn more →Low MOQ manufacturers
Describe what you want made and the quantity you can actually commit to, and the AI shortlists low MOQ manufacturers whose minimum order quantities, unit prices, and lead times fit a first run.
Learn more →Contract manufacturers
Describe the product you need built and the AI shortlists contract manufacturing companies set up for your process, category, and volume, with minimums, lead times, certifications, and quotes compared side by side.
Learn more →All sourcing & procurement solutions
- Procurement software
- AI sourcing agent
- Supplier sourcing
- Manufacturer sourcing
- Supplier discovery
- Supplier management
- Purchase order software
- RFQ software
- Wholesale suppliers
- Cosmetic contract manufacturers
- Supplement contract manufacturers
- Electronics contract manufacturers
- Private label skin care manufacturers
- Co-packers
- Private label shampoo manufacturers
- Clothing manufacturers
- Custom packaging manufacturers
- Jewelry manufacturers
- Candle manufacturers
- Pharmaceutical contract manufacturers
- Medical device contract manufacturers
- Pet product manufacturers
- Furniture manufacturers
- Private label manufacturers
- Private label soap manufacturers
- Gummy manufacturers
- Private label coffee manufacturers
- Activewear manufacturers
- Hat manufacturers
- Sock manufacturers
- Swimwear manufacturers
- Private label perfume manufacturers
- Makeup manufacturers
- US manufacturers directory
- CNC machining companies
- Low MOQ manufacturers
- Manufacturers for small businesses
- Contract manufacturers
- Is Alibaba legit
- Alibaba vs AliExpress
- Alibaba vs Temu
- Custom clothing manufacturers
- Plastic injection molding companies
- Metal fabricators
- Laser cutting services
Source your next product
Get a vetted shortlist in minutes.
Describe what you need and get a quote-compared supplier shortlist. Vetted shortlists, quotes compared, no per-deal commission.