PRIVATE LABEL TEA MANUFACTURERS
Private label tea manufacturers and white label tea suppliers
Describe the tea you want to sell, from loose leaf in your pouch to pyramid sachets or tea bags in your box, and the AI shortlists US tea blenders and packers with minimums, packaging costs and lead times side by side.
| Supplier | Unit | MOQ | Lead | Fit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Press Source or pick a category to get a vetted shortlist.
The short answer
Private label tea in the US starts small on the tea and big on the packaging. Read on US tea companies' own sites in October 2026, loose leaf blends start at 25 lb bags at Tiesta Tea, a custom blend at 100 lb at Davidson's and 250 lb per blend at The Tea Spot, while pyramid sachets start at 12,000 units per SKU. The number that really sets your first order is the printer: Davidson's says custom overwraps and boxes start at 50,000 overwraps and 3,000 boxes, about $2,000 to $10,000 in packaging, and Elmwood Inn's label run is 1,000 labels with a $300 print fee.
Why Suppliers
You want a tea under your own name. Maybe it is a house blend for a cafe, a wellness line for a spa or clinic, a gift tin for a boutique, or an online brand. You search for private label tea manufacturers and get a Shopify forum thread, a contact list you can buy, and offshore marketplaces quoting iced tea minimums of 100,000 units. None of it says who in the US will take a first run you can fund, or what that run costs once the packaging is printed.
We read the private label and co-packing pages of US tea blenders and packers on their own websites in October 2026 and kept only what each one put in writing: the minimum and the unit it is counted in, any fee, the packaging requirement, and the lead time. Where a company publishes nothing, we say so, because that is the first question for your brief. The federal labeling rule that makes plain tea simpler than most foods comes from 21 CFR 101.9(j)(4).
Loose leaf, sachet or tea bag
Each format runs on different equipment with a different minimum. State the format and the shortlist only holds blenders and packers that say they run it.
Tea and packaging minimums apart
A blend minimum in pounds and a printing minimum in overwraps or labels are two separate gates. Both are shown for every company so you see which one binds your first run.
Stock blend or your recipe
Putting your label on a catalog blend and developing your own recipe are different orders. Say which you need and the agent ranks makers that state they do it.
Ingredient limits surfaced
Some packers cap flavoring and powders or refuse nuts, coconut and gluten. Those limits sit next to each name, before you spend a month on a recipe they cannot run.
Certifications with evidence
Organic, kosher, fair trade and GFSI schemes such as SQF or BRCGS are listed as each company states them, with the source, so you know what to confirm with the certifier.
Flat price, no commission
One monthly fee in USD. We take no cut of your tea order and we are never a party to it, so nothing pushes you toward a bigger run.
How it works
Describe, match, decide.
Describe what you need
Type your need in plain English. The agent extracts the structured spec, from quantity and material to target price and destination.
AI finds & vets
It matches qualified suppliers, cross-checks registry and customs data, surfaces certifications, and flags risk, then ranks the fits.
Compare & decide
Review quotes, MOQs, and lead-times side by side, then run RFQ outreach and POs in one place. You stay in control.
Buyer's guide
What to know before you commit.
The tea is cheap to start and the packaging is not
Most buyers expect the tea itself to be the hard minimum. On the companies we read, it is the easy part. Tiesta Tea sells every one of its 30 plus blends for private label in 25 lb bags, "no questions asked." Davidson's will "custom blend as little as 100 lbs as minimum, subject to review of ingredients, volume, and machine capability." The Tea Spot in Broomfield, Colorado sets bulk loose leaf at "250 lb minimum per blend."
The gate that surprises people is printed packaging. Davidson's writes it down more plainly than anyone: "Printers have minimum custom printing volume requirements starting at 50,000 overwraps and 3000 boxes, translating to a start-up financial investment of $2000 to $10,000 appx. for your packaging materials," with printer timelines of "4 weeks to 6 weeks." It also says it can provide generic packaging case by case to reduce that outlay.
Elmwood Inn Fine Teas in Danville, Kentucky shows the small end of the same rule: its label supplier "requires a minimum run of 1000 labels" and "the print fee is $300 minimum." So before you compare tea prices, decide what your package is, because that decision moves your first order from a few hundred dollars to five figures.
Three ways to put your name on tea, from 24 labels to 50,000 overwraps
Elmwood Inn publishes a full ladder of service levels, and it is the clearest map of the choices a first time tea brand has. The lightest is a gold foil label with your blend name placed over the existing name on any Elmwood loose tea package: "$0.25 per label is added to the cost and we require a minimum order of 24 labels of the same name." Next is unlabeled tea packages you label yourself, where you "deduct $.20 per unit from any tea on our wholesale price sheet." The full private label tier uses your own three panel label from Elmwood's template, with the 1,000 label run, the $300 print fee, $0.20 off each unit, and "a four-case minimum" on each order.
At the other end, tea bags with a printed overwrap and a printed retail box are where the 50,000 overwrap and 3,000 box printing minimums apply. Davidson's describes the formats: filter bags without string and tag for bulk counts, bags with string, tag and overwrap for foodservice, gifts and grocery, and larger filter brew bags from 5 grams to 6 ounces for iced tea.
The practical order of steps for most new brands is to launch on labels or a stock pouch, prove the blend sells, then pay for printed boxes and overwraps once you know which SKU deserves them.
What the minimums mean in cups and packages, as a worked model
Tea minimums are written in pounds, sachets and labels, which do not compare as written. Here is a worked model to put them in one unit. The assumptions are ours and stated so you can replace them: 2.5 grams of loose leaf per cup, 2 grams per tea bag, 3 grams per pyramid sachet and 2 oz per retail pouch.
Tiesta's 25 lb bag is about 11,340 grams, so roughly 4,500 cups or 200 pouches of 2 oz. Davidson's 100 lb custom blend is about 45,360 grams, or roughly 22,700 tea bags at 2 grams. The Tea Spot's 12,000 sachet minimum per SKU uses about 36 kg of tea at 3 grams, near 80 lb.
Now put the printer next to it. Filling 50,000 printed overwraps at 2 grams a bag takes about 100 kg of tea, roughly 220 lb, more than twice Davidson's blend minimum. So for tea bags, the overwrap order, not the blend, decides how much tea you buy. That is a model, not a quote; ask every company for the price at two quantities so you can see how much of the first order is one-time setup.
Ingredient limits that decide whether your recipe can run
A custom blend has to fit the machine, and packers that run pyramid sachets often publish limits. The Tea Spot caps liquid flavorings at 8% of the blend by weight and powders such as turmeric and matcha at 1%, and its sachets are whole leaf and herbal only, "never dust or fannings." It excludes tree nuts, coconut, cayenne, coffee and gluten containing ingredients. It does not co-pack loose leaf into tins, pouches or cartons, so a loose leaf line from them ships to you in bulk for your own packing.
Davidson's says tea grades from tea bag grade to cut and sift work for its filter bags and up to whole leaf for filter brew bags, that it has 3 blending machines for small to large runs, and over 300 in-house flavors. If your recipe has a heavy powder share, chunky fruit, or an allergen, put it in the first line of your brief, because it rules some packers out before price matters.
Lead times and what starts the clock
For tea, the clock usually starts when the packaging is ready, not when you pay for the tea. Elmwood Inn says printers take an average of 2 to 3 weeks to complete an order of private labels, and that "once your labels arrive, your first customized tea order will be processed and shipped within a week." Davidson's puts general printer timelines at 4 to 6 weeks "depending on volume, regulatory approval and certification requirements." Harris Tea, Caraway Tea and The Tea Spot do not publish a lead time on their private label pages.
So count back from your launch date: shipping, the packer's run time, the printer's weeks, then proofs and artwork approval. If the answer is too close, start on a stock pouch with your label and move to printed boxes on the second order.
Why plain tea is simpler to label, and what breaks that
Plain tea is one of the few foods the FDA exempts from the Nutrition Facts panel. Under 21 CFR 101.9(j)(4), foods with insignificant amounts of all required nutrients are exempt, and the rule names "tea leaves, plain unsweetened instant coffee and tea" as examples, provided the food "bears no nutrition claims or other nutrition information in any context on the label or in labeling or advertising."
That proviso matters for a wellness line. Add a nutrition claim, sweetener or added nutrients, and the exemption is gone, so the label needs a full panel. Health style claims on herbal blends raise a separate question about how the product is regulated. Organic is its own gate: to use the USDA organic seal, the blend has to be made by a certified operation, and The Tea Spot says it can help certify a custom blend only if all ingredients qualify.
We do not do label review or regulatory classification. We help you find packers and compare what they state; the label decision stays with you and the packer.
Retail scale and food safety certifications to ask about
If you are pitching a grocery or club buyer, the certification question comes before the tea. Harris Tea calls itself "the largest private label tea packer in the US," with "over 40 years of experience," and lists "two BRCGS-GFSI certified manufacturing facilities in the USA," in Georgia and New Jersey, packing "every style of tea bag from square or round tea bags to flow through and pyramid formats," including national brand equivalent blends. It publishes no minimum, which usually means a retail scale program.
Caraway Tea Company runs loose leaf, pyramid sachets, filter bags, portion iced tea and bulk packs, says products go through GMP and HACCP practices, offers organic, kosher and non-GMO certifications, and displays an SQF supplement certified heading. It advertises a low minimum order without a number. The Tea Spot states USDA NOP organic and kosher for its facility and is a certified B Corp. Davidson's advises on organic, fair trade and kosher processes.
Suppliers surfaces certifications each company states, with the evidence, and flags what is missing. It does not audit facilities or guarantee quality; you confirm the certificate with the company or the certifying body.
What to send a tea packer for a real quote
Give the route (a catalog blend under your label, or your own recipe), the format (loose leaf, pyramid sachet, tea bag with or without string and overwrap, iced tea brew bag), the net weight per package, the number of SKUs, the quantity at two levels, whether you will supply printed packaging or need stock packaging, your certification needs, and the date the tea must arrive.
Ask for the blend minimum and the packaging minimum separately, any plate, print or setup fee, the case size and order minimum, ingredient limits, the sample policy, shelf life, and what starts the lead time. A packer who answers each in writing is one you can compare with the next.
Suppliers turns that brief into a shortlist of US tea packers with their published terms side by side, then sends one RFQ to the ones you choose and keeps the replies in one place. For other drink lines, see the private label coffee manufacturers and beverage co-packers guides, the low MOQ manufacturers list, and the paired roundup of the best private label tea manufacturers.
At a glance
Private label tea manufacturers compared on published terms
| Company | What they make for you | Published minimum | Packaging or fees, as stated | Timeline, as stated | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tiesta Tea | Any of its 30 plus blends in bulk for your label | 25 lb increments | Not stated | Not stated | Non-GMO blends; bulk only |
| Davidson's Organics | Custom blends, tea bags, pyramids, iced tea, bulk | 100 lb custom blend | Printed packaging from 50,000 overwraps and 3,000 boxes, about $2,000 to $10,000 | Printers 4 to 6 weeks | Organic; co-packs in the US and India |
| The Tea Spot, Broomfield, CO | Pyramid sachets, naked or overwrapped; bulk loose leaf | 12,000 sachets per SKU; 250 lb per loose blend | Not stated | Not stated | Organic and kosher facility; B Corp; flavor and powder caps |
| Elmwood Inn Fine Teas, Danville, KY | Your label on its loose tea and pyramid sachets | 24 foil labels; 1,000 printed labels; 4 cases per order | $0.25 per foil label; $300 minimum print fee; $0.20 off per unit | Labels 2 to 3 weeks, ships within a week after | Pouches from 15 to 200 count sachets |
| Harris Tea Company, GA and NJ | Retail tea bags in every format, national brand equivalents | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Two BRCGS GFSI certified US facilities |
| Caraway Tea Company | Loose leaf, pyramids, filter bags, iced tea, bulk | "Low minimum", no figure | Not stated | Not stated | Organic, kosher, non-GMO; SQF heading |
Read on each company's own website in October 2026. "Not stated" means the company does not publish it on its private label pages. Prices and minimums change, so confirm every figure in writing before you place an order.
People also ask
The questions buyers actually search.
What is the minimum order for private label tea?
For the tea itself, 25 lb to 250 lb of loose leaf at US blenders that publish it: Tiesta Tea sells blends in 25 lb increments, Davidson's custom blends from 100 lb and The Tea Spot from 250 lb per blend. Pyramid sachets start at 12,000 per SKU at The Tea Spot. Printed packaging adds its own minimum, from 1,000 labels to 50,000 overwraps.
How much does it cost to start a private label tea brand?
A label based launch can start in the hundreds of dollars, while printed tea bag packaging alone runs about $2,000 to $10,000. Elmwood Inn charges a $300 minimum print fee for a 1,000 label run, or $0.25 per foil label from 24 labels. Davidson's puts printed overwraps and boxes at roughly $2,000 to $10,000 before any tea is bought.
Can I sell tea under my own brand?
Yes. The quickest route is a blender's catalog tea under your label, which Tiesta Tea, Elmwood Inn and The Tea Spot all offer. You need artwork the packer can print, a label with the product name, net weight, ingredients and your business details, and a supplier that can document any organic or kosher claim you make.
Do private label tea products need a Nutrition Facts label?
Plain tea usually does not. 21 CFR 101.9(j)(4) exempts foods with insignificant amounts of all required nutrients and names tea leaves and plain unsweetened instant tea as examples, provided the label makes no nutrition claims. Add sweeteners, added nutrients or a nutrition claim and a full Nutrition Facts panel is required.
Who are the private label tea manufacturers in the USA?
US companies with private label programs include Harris Tea Company, which runs two BRCGS certified plants in Georgia and New Jersey, Davidson's Organics, The Tea Spot in Colorado, Elmwood Inn Fine Teas in Kentucky, Tiesta Tea and Caraway Tea Company. Only some publish minimums; Harris and Caraway quote on request.
How long does private label tea take to produce?
Usually three to seven weeks, set mostly by the printer. Elmwood Inn says private labels take 2 to 3 weeks to print and the first tea order ships within a week after they arrive. Davidson's puts printer timelines for overwraps and boxes at 4 to 6 weeks. Add artwork approval and shipping on top.
What is the difference between private label and white label tea?
White label usually means a supplier's existing blend sold under your name with no recipe change, while private label can also include a recipe made for you. In practice US tea companies use both terms loosely, so ask whether the quote is for a catalog blend or a custom blend, because custom blends carry their own minimum, such as Davidson's 100 lb.
Can a private label tea company make tea bags with my logo?
Yes, but printed bags and boxes carry the highest minimums. Davidson's offers bags with string, tag and a custom printed overwrap, and says printers start at 50,000 overwraps and 3,000 boxes. Harris Tea packs square, round, flow through and pyramid bags for retail. For a smaller start, use stock overwraps with your printed box or label.
FAQ
Common questions.
Yes. State your quantity and format and the agent ranks blenders and packers by whether their published tea and packaging minimums fit, converting pounds, sachets and labels into one unit you can compare.
Yes. Describe the blend, ingredients, flavor share and format, and the shortlist favors companies that state they do custom blending and can run your ingredients, with the limits they publish.
No. We do not do label review, regulatory classification or certification. We help you find and vet packers and compare what they publish; the label and the certificate stay with you and the packer.
Yes. Put both formats in the brief, such as retail pyramid boxes and foodservice iced tea brew bags, and the agent shows which companies run each format, with minimums side by side.
Yes. Send one RFQ to the packers you shortlist from the same workspace, then keep their quotes, packaging minimums and lead times in one place to decide.
Related solutions
Explore more of Suppliers.
Private label coffee roasters
Describe the coffee you want to sell under your brand, the format, the first quantity and whether it has to be organic, and the AI shortlists private label coffee roasters with published minimums, per pound prices, bag options and lead times compared.
Learn more →Beverage co packers
Describe the drink, the container and the first run you can fund, and the AI shortlists US beverage co packers with published minimums, processes and lead times compared side by side.
Learn more →Private label chocolate manufacturers
Describe the chocolate you want to sell or give, from a wrapped bar with your brand to a custom recipe for retail, and the AI shortlists US chocolate makers with minimums, setup fees and lead times side by side.
Learn more →Co-packers
Describe the food or beverage you want made and packed, and the AI shortlists co-packers with capacity, certifications, and lead times compared.
Learn more →Low MOQ manufacturers
Describe what you want made and the quantity you can actually commit to, and the AI shortlists low MOQ manufacturers whose minimum order quantities, unit prices, and lead times fit a first run.
Learn more →Private label manufacturers
Describe the product you want to sell under your own brand, and the AI shortlists private label manufacturers and suppliers whose published minimum fits your first run, with lead times, fees and certifications compared side by side.
Learn more →All sourcing & procurement solutions
- Procurement software
- AI sourcing agent
- Supplier sourcing
- Manufacturer sourcing
- Supplier discovery
- Supplier management
- Purchase order software
- RFQ software
- Wholesale suppliers
- Cosmetic contract manufacturers
- Supplement contract manufacturers
- Electronics contract manufacturers
- Private label skin care manufacturers
- Co-packers
- Haircare manufacturers
- Clothing manufacturers
- Custom packaging manufacturers
- Jewelry manufacturers
- Candle manufacturers
- Pharmaceutical contract manufacturers
- Medical device contract manufacturers
- Pet product manufacturers
- Pet food manufacturers
- Furniture manufacturers
- Private label manufacturers
- Private label soap manufacturers
- Gummy manufacturers
- Private label coffee roasters
- Activewear manufacturers
- Hat manufacturers
- Sock manufacturers
- Swimwear manufacturers
- Private label perfume manufacturers
- Makeup manufacturers
- US manufacturers directory
- CNC machining companies
- Low MOQ manufacturers
- Manufacturers for small businesses
- Contract manufacturers
- Is Alibaba legit
- Alibaba vs AliExpress
- Alibaba vs Temu
- Custom clothing manufacturers
- Plastic injection molding companies
- Metal fabricators
- Laser cutting services
- Protein powder manufacturers
- Energy drink manufacturers
- Private label lip balm manufacturers
- Private label sunscreen manufacturers
- Softgel manufacturers
- Sauce manufacturers
- Snack manufacturers
- Wire harness manufacturers
- Die casting manufacturers
- Spring manufacturers
- Rubber molding companies
- Handbag manufacturers
- Tote bag manufacturers
- Clothing manufacturers in Mexico
- Vietnam clothing manufacturers
- Beverage co packers
- Factories in Mexico
- Toy manufacturers
- Private label deodorant manufacturers
- Private label chocolate manufacturers
Source your next product
Get a vetted shortlist in minutes.
Describe what you need and get a quote-compared supplier shortlist. Vetted shortlists, quotes compared, no per-deal commission.