suppliers.ai
How it works Features Security Pricing Blog Sign in

SNACK MANUFACTURERS AND PRIVATE LABEL SNACK CO PACKERS

Snack manufacturers: private label snacks, protein bar co packers

Describe the snack you want to sell, whether it is a protein bar, a granola, a kettle chip, a popcorn or a beef jerky, and the AI shortlists US snack manufacturers and private label co packers with every published minimum converted into the same unit, alongside lead times, one-time fees and certifications.

Try the demo ↓
snack manufacturers private label snacks protein bar manufacturers snack co packer snack food manufacturers private label protein bar manufacturer jerky co packer private label granola nutrition bar contract manufacturer snack contract manufacturer
Sourcing console
Interactive demo

Parsed spec Searching and cross-checking_
vetted matches
Supplier Unit MOQ Lead Fit

Press Source or pick a category to get a vetted shortlist.

Every shortlist is vetted/ Registry & customs cross-checked/ Certifications surfaced/ Risk flags shown/ No per-deal commission

The short answer

A snack manufacturer, usually called a co packer or co manufacturer, makes your recipe on its own line and packs it under your brand. Reading US snack and bar co packers' own websites in September 2026, the striking thing is the unit. Katie's Premium Jerky states a minimum batch of about 20 pounds of finished product. Curio Sweets in Houston states 100 pounds per SKU and publishes the conversion itself, 800 protein bars at 2 oz each. ChipMonk Baking states 5,000 units. YouBar in Los Angeles states 10,000 servings on one of its FAQ pages and tells you to call on the other. PartnerSlate, the marketplace, files anything under 25,000 units as a startup run. Converted onto one basis at 8 two ounce pieces per pound, the published floor runs from roughly 160 units to 25,000, a 156 fold spread that is invisible while the numbers stay in pounds, units, servings, bags, cases and batches.

Why Suppliers

Ask five snack co packers for their minimum and you get five answers in five different units. One quotes pounds, one quotes units, one quotes servings, one quotes bags, and one has a heading on its website that says minimums and lead times and then publishes neither. None of them is hiding anything. Pounds is how a kettle or an oven schedules work, units is how a flow wrapper schedules work, and servings is how a nutrition panel is built. The founder in the middle just wants to know what the first run costs, and cannot compare a single quote until every figure sits on the same basis.

Suppliers is the AI sourcing agent for that search. Describe the snack, the pack size, the quantity you can fund and the region, and the agent shortlists US snack manufacturers and private label co packers that fit. Published minimums land converted into your unit, with stated lead times, one-time development fees and certifications such as SQF, GMP, USDA Organic or a USDA grant of inspection for meat snacks, plus identity verification, registry cross-checks and risk flags on every match. The agent shortlists and ranks; you read the evidence and decide who makes your snack.

Every minimum on one basis

Pounds, units, servings, bags, cases and batches all describe the same commitment differently. Name your pack size and each published minimum is converted into the pieces you will actually sell, so a 100 pound bakery and a 10,000 unit bar plant sit on one comparable line.

The FDA and USDA fork, checked first

Beef jerky and meat sticks need a plant running under a USDA grant of inspection. Bars, granola, popcorn and chips sit under FDA. That single fork removes most of any shortlist before you write the first email, so the brief asks about it up front.

Packaging format as a hard filter

A flow wrapper, a vertical form fill seal bagger and a band sealer are different machines with different film. Some minimums exist only because a wrapper has to be re-threaded for your artwork. Name the format and the lines that cannot run it drop out early.

Development fees surfaced, not discovered

Recipe replication, bench prototypes, shelf life testing and nutrition panels are billed before a single case exists, and they are usually charged per flavor. Where a co packer publishes those fees they appear with the shortlist, so a three flavor launch is budgeted as three.

Lead times with a stated start

A four to six week quote that excludes research, development and ingredient staging is not the same as a four to six week delivery date. The shortlist records what each figure is counted from, and flags the ones that state a duration with no starting point.

Flat price, no commission

A predictable monthly fee in USD with no percentage of your purchase order, so nothing in our model rewards steering you toward a bigger run or a particular co packer.

How it works

Describe, match, decide.

1

Describe what you need

Type your need in plain English. The agent extracts the structured spec, from quantity and material to target price and destination.

2

AI finds & vets

It matches qualified suppliers, cross-checks registry and customs data, surfaces certifications, and flags risk, then ranks the fits.

3

Compare & decide

Review quotes, MOQs, and lead-times side by side, then run RFQ outreach and POs in one place. You stay in control.

Buyer's guide

What to know before you commit.

Six units, one question, and that is why snack minimums look random

Sit down with the websites of US snack and bar co packers and write each published minimum in a column, and the column will not add up. Katie's Premium Jerky states that its minimum batch size is approximately 20 pounds of finished product. Curio Sweets in Houston states that MOQs start as low as 100 pounds of product per SKU. ChipMonk Baking in Houston is listed with low minimum order quantities of 5,000 units. YouBar in Los Angeles states that MOQs typically start at 10,000 servings. Big Boss Baking Company, which trades as a granola co packer in High Point, North Carolina, quotes its bulk packaging in 15 and 20 pound cases and totes of roughly 700 to 1,000 pounds. PartnerSlate, the marketplace, sorts its directory into manufacturers that suit startups under 25,000 units and small batch work between 25,000 and 100,000 units.

Six ways of saying the same thing. Pounds is the unit a kettle, an oven or a dehydrator thinks in, because the batch is what gets scheduled. Units is the unit a flow wrapper thinks in, because film and wrapping speed set the floor. Servings is the unit a nutrition panel thinks in. Cases and totes are how the loading dock thinks. Batches are how a small kitchen thinks. Every one of those numbers is honest inside its own building, and none of them is comparable to the one next door.

The practical effect is worse than confusing. It makes the category feel arbitrary, so founders assume the biggest number they have seen is the rule. It is not. It is one line speed quoted in one unit.

One co packer publishes the conversion, and it collapses the whole spread

You do not have to guess at the arithmetic, because Curio Sweets publishes it. Its listing states that MOQs start as low as 100 pounds of product per SKU, and then, in its own words, that this is equal to 800 protein bars at 2 oz weight per bar. That single sentence hands the category a constant: eight two ounce pieces per pound.

Apply it and the spread stops looking random. Katie's 20 pound jerky batch is roughly 160 two ounce packs. Curio's 100 pounds is 800 bars, published. ChipMonk's 5,000 units is about 625 pounds. YouBar's 10,000 servings is about 1,250 pounds. PartnerSlate's startup ceiling of 25,000 units is about 3,125 pounds. From smallest to largest that is roughly 160 to 25,000 pieces, a 156 fold range, and crucially the bottom of it is a number a person can fund out of savings.

Two cautions on this model, because it is a model. The 2 oz basis is Curio's, taken from its own example, and your bar or pack may weigh more or less, which moves every converted figure proportionally. And jerky is not a bar: 20 pounds of finished jerky is a lot more pieces if you pack one ounce bags and a lot fewer if you pack four ounce bags. Convert into the pack size you actually intend to sell, then ask each co packer to confirm the number in writing. What the conversion is for is shortlisting, not contracting.

Notice as well what the unit was doing to your perception before you converted. A hundred pounds sounds like something you could carry. Ten thousand servings sounds like a factory. On this basis they are 800 pieces and 10,000 pieces, only about twelve times apart, and both are smaller than the figure most founders arrive with in their heads.

The same manufacturer answers the minimum order question two different ways

YouBar is one of the best known bar co manufacturers in the United States, and in September 2026 it ran two live FAQ pages that answer the same question differently.

On one of them, the question What are YouBar's minimum order quantities is answered with a number: MOQs typically start at 10,000 servings, described as 10,000 nutrition bars, with MOQs higher for baked goods. The same page publishes a lead time of 4 to 6 weeks to produce and ship a custom order, and a cost range of as little as 30 cents each and as much as $2 each depending on ingredients, product type, size, run speed and order quantity. On the other page, the same question is answered with: our MOQs vary depending on the product type, equipment used and annual forecast, please contact us. The lead time question on that page gets the same treatment.

Both pages returned HTTP 200 when we checked them on September 15, 2026. Which one you land on from a search decides whether you believe this category publishes numbers at all.

There is a smaller discrepancy on the page that does publish. It states 10,000 bars as roughly 940 boxes of 12 bars each. Ten thousand divided by twelve is 833. Nine hundred and forty boxes of twelve would be 11,280 bars. It is almost certainly a case count that changed, and it is not a reason to avoid the company. It is a reason to put the case configuration in writing, because the number of cases is what your warehouse, your freight quote and your retailer pallet plan are built on, not the number of bars.

The wider lesson for anyone briefing a snack co packer: get the minimum in two units, the piece and the case, from the same person, in the same email.

Four to six weeks and six to twelve months are both true, and the gap is the clock start

The same YouBar page publishes both ends of the timeline, which makes it unusually useful. It states 4 to 6 weeks to produce and ship a custom order, and then says plainly that this does not include the additional time required to do research and development or to source and stage ingredients. Immediately after, it states that if you are starting from scratch it typically takes 6 to 12 months to get all the way from idea to market.

Those two figures are roughly ten to twenty six times apart and neither is spin. One is the production window. One is the project. A founder who reads only the first will plan a launch date that is wrong by most of a year.

This is the single most common way snack timelines go wrong, and it is not specific to one company. Big Boss Baking Company puts a heading on its process page that reads minimums and lead times, and under it says that minimum runs can be assessed based on your brand's needs and that lead times will vary and will be estimated at the time of order placement. Curio Sweets states that most development projects take approximately 2 to 4 months, with timing depending on the product, feedback between rounds, ingredient availability and outside testing. Those are different clocks again: one is production, one is development, one is unstated.

The fix in one sentence: ask every co packer for a delivery date for finished goods, and ask what milestone that date is counted from. Deposit, approved formula, received packaging and received ingredients are four different starting guns, and the last two quietly move your film, your cartons and your raw materials onto the critical path.

Twenty one gated steps, and the price quote is one of the later ones

There is a reason so few snack co packers publish a price. YouBar's own sitemap makes the reason visible: alongside its 86 public pages sit 21 separate confirmation pages, one for each gated step of a bar program. They include a product development brief, a bench sample prototype bar order, an organoleptic evaluation of bench prototypes, additional bench prototypes of the finished recipe, prototype bar feedback, nutrition fact panel feedback, bar formulation after special ingredient arrival, a recipe disclosure request, final recipe approval, master recipe approval, a new product hazard analysis review, a new package supplier material approval, package design sign offs, a large scale efficiency test order, efficiency test results, and a bar pricing request.

Read the order of that list. The pricing request sits near the end, after the efficiency test. The efficiency test is how a plant finds out how fast your specific formula runs through its wrapper, and run speed is a direct input into cost per bar. A manufacturer genuinely cannot publish your price per bar before it has run your formula, because your formula is what decides the price.

That has three consequences worth planning around. Development is a sequence of small paid steps rather than one fee, so ask for the list and the price of each. The number you get at the end is specific to your recipe, which means a cheaper recipe is a cheaper bar, and the reformulation conversation is worth having before the efficiency test rather than after. And the whole sequence is where most of the 6 to 12 months goes, which is why the production window looks so short by comparison.

Meat snacks are a different regulator, and that decides your shortlist before price does

The biggest sorting question in snack manufacturing is not minimum order quantity. It is which agency regulates the product. Shelf stable snacks such as protein bars, granola, trail mix, popcorn, pretzels, cookies and chips are FDA regulated foods, made in FDA registered facilities. Meat and poultry snacks, including beef jerky, meat sticks and meat bars, fall under USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service, and have to be produced in a plant operating under a federal grant of inspection or an equivalent state program.

That is why a jerky brand cannot simply use the granola co packer with the friendly minimum. Katie's Premium Jerky describes itself as a small batch jerky specialist and states it can convert your recipe, which is the shape of a USDA side facility. Bar and bakery co packers such as YouBar, ChipMonk Baking and Curio Sweets sit on the FDA side. A dedicated gluten free facility, which ChipMonk states it runs, is a separate question again and matters if your label carries a gluten free claim.

Certifications sort the rest. SQF and GMP show up repeatedly in this category, USDA Organic applies if you want the seal, and Non-GMO Project Verification is a per formula process rather than a facility badge. We surface what a facility states and cross check it in registries where one exists. We do not audit plants, inspect production or classify your product under FDA or USDA rules, and a qualified regulatory consultant should confirm which path your snack takes. For adjacent formats and how facilities sort by process rather than by product name, our co packers page covers the same ground across food and beverage.

What a first snack run actually costs, using only published numbers

Take the one published price range in this cohort and run it against the published minimums. YouBar states bars from as little as 30 cents each up to $2 each. At its own 10,000 bar starting minimum that is $3,000 to $20,000 of finished product, before artwork, development steps, freight and storage. At Curio Sweets' published 800 bar floor, the same range is $240 to $1,600 of product. Both figures are our arithmetic on YouBar's published price band and are offered as a model to sanity check quotes, not as either company's quote for your recipe.

That comparison is the whole argument for shortlisting carefully. The gap between those two numbers is not quality. It is line size. A plant built for national retail volume cannot profitably re-thread a wrapper for 800 bars, and a bakery built for 100 pound runs cannot serve a grocery rollout. Both are correct businesses. Picking the wrong one wastes months.

Budget the one-time work separately, because it is charged per flavor almost everywhere. Big Boss Baking Company charges a recipe replication fee per flavor, which covers sourcing your ingredients and baking test batches, and a separate recipe development fee per flavor for a proprietary recipe, with ingredients billed on top. It publishes neither amount. Curio Sweets sells development as a project of roughly 2 to 4 months. YouBar runs it as the 21 step sequence above. The cheaper sequence in every case is to launch one flavor, sell it, and add the second once you know which one moves. If a low first order is the deciding factor for you, our guide to low MOQ manufacturers covers the same trade off across other categories, and manufacturers for small businesses covers how to approach a factory that is bigger than your order.

At a glance

What US snack and bar co packers publish about minimums, lead times and price, read from their own sites and listings in September 2026.

Company Location Makes Published minimum, as stated On one basis (2 oz pieces) Lead time and price published
Katie's Premium Jerky & Snacks Not stated Beef jerky, meat snacks Minimum batch approximately 20 pounds of finished product About 160 (modeled) Neither stated
Curio Sweets Houston, TX Protein bars, bites, cookies, brownies, pet treats 100 pounds per SKU, stated as 800 protein bars at 2 oz 800 (published by the company) Development 2 to 4 months; price not stated
ChipMonk Baking Houston, TX Gluten free cookies, muffins, brownies, energy bars 5,000 units, in its directory listing About 5,000 Neither stated
YouBar Los Angeles, CA Protein and nutrition bars, bites, protein bakery 10,000 servings on one FAQ page; varies, contact us on another About 10,000 4 to 6 weeks production, excluding R and D and ingredients; 6 to 12 months idea to market; 30 cents to $2 per bar
Big Boss Baking Co. (granolacopacker.com) High Point, NC Granola, trail mix, bulk and stand up pouches Not stated, under a heading that reads minimums and lead times Not stated Not stated; recipe replication and development fees per flavor, amounts not stated
L'Orenta Nuts Houston, TX Nuts, trail mix, candy, chocolate, dried fruit Low minimums, no figure, in an article titled costs and minimums Not stated Not stated; stores your packaging 6 months to 1 year
Silver Screen Snack Co. Lindon, UT Ready to eat popcorn Not stated Not stated Neither stated
Bridgetown Natural Foods Portland, OR Bars, granola, snacks Not stated in its co packer directory listing Not stated Neither stated
PartnerSlate (marketplace, for reference) Not applicable Directory of food and beverage co packers Groups partners as startup under 25,000 units and small batch 25,000 to 100,000 units 25,000 to 100,000 Not applicable

Figures were read in September 2026 from each company's own website, or from its self written entry in the Specialty Food Co-Packers directory where marked. Not stated means the company publishes nothing, which is itself the finding rather than an omission on our part. The one basis column is our model using the 2 oz per piece figure that Curio Sweets publishes for its own minimum, at eight pieces per pound; your pack weight will move every converted number proportionally. Of the fourteen bar co packers listed on that directory's bars page, three mention a minimum at all and two state a number. Confirm every figure directly before committing, because minimums, fees and turnaround change.

People also ask

The questions buyers actually search.

What is the minimum order for a snack co packer?

Published minimums in September 2026 ranged from about 20 pounds of finished product at Katie's Premium Jerky and 100 pounds per SKU at Curio Sweets, which it states is 800 protein bars, up to 5,000 units at ChipMonk Baking and 10,000 servings at YouBar. PartnerSlate treats anything under 25,000 units as a startup run. Convert to your own pack size before comparing.

How much does it cost to make a protein bar?

YouBar is the only manufacturer in this group publishing a price, and states bars costing as little as 30 cents each and as much as $2 each, depending on ingredients, product type, size, run speed and order quantity. On our arithmetic that puts a 10,000 bar first run at $3,000 to $20,000 of product, before development, artwork and freight.

How much does it cost to start a snack brand?

The product is rarely the largest line. Development is charged per flavor and covers recipe replication, bench prototypes, shelf life testing and a nutrition panel, and most co packers do not publish the amount. Budget the product run itself using a published price band, then add per flavor development, packaging film, artwork and freight, and launch one flavor rather than three.

How long does it take to manufacture a protein bar?

YouBar publishes both figures: 4 to 6 weeks to produce and ship a custom order, explicitly excluding research, development and ingredient staging, and 6 to 12 months to get from idea to market if you start from scratch. Curio Sweets states development alone takes about 2 to 4 months. Ask for a delivery date and the milestone it is counted from.

Do I need a USDA inspected plant to make beef jerky?

Yes, in almost every case. Meat and poultry snacks are regulated by USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service rather than FDA, so jerky, meat sticks and meat bars have to be produced under a federal grant of inspection or an equivalent state program. That rules out bar and bakery co packers, whatever their minimum order looks like. Confirm the plant's status before sending a recipe.

Can a co packer use my own snack recipe?

Yes. That is co packing rather than private label, and it starts with recipe replication: the plant sources your specified ingredients and bakes or runs test batches to your formula for approval. Big Boss Baking Company charges a recipe replication fee per flavor for exactly that, and a separate development fee if the recipe is proprietary and built from scratch.

What is the difference between private label snacks and co packing?

Private label means putting your brand on a product the manufacturer already makes, so there is little or no development and the minimum is usually the lowest a company offers. Co packing means the plant makes your recipe to your specification, which adds development steps, per flavor fees and a minimum set by the line rather than by the shelf.

How do I find a snack manufacturer in the USA?

Start with the regulator, since meat snacks and shelf stable snacks use different plants, then filter on packaging format, because the wrapper often sets the minimum. US facilities publishing terms in September 2026 include YouBar in California, Curio Sweets and ChipMonk Baking in Texas, Big Boss Baking in North Carolina, Silver Screen Snack Co. in Utah and Bridgetown Natural Foods in Oregon.

FAQ

Common questions.

Describe the snack in plain English, including whether it is a meat snack or shelf stable, the pack format and weight, the quantity you can fund and the region. The agent searches for co packers that run that combination, verifies each one, and returns a ranked shortlist with published minimums, fees, formats, certifications and lead times where stated, plus the evidence behind every match.

Yes. Minimums are shown in the unit the co packer used, whether that is pounds, units, servings, bags or cases, alongside a conversion into your pack size that is clearly labeled as a model with its assumptions stated. Where a company publishes nothing, the shortlist records not stated rather than inventing a figure.

It surfaces what facilities state about inspection status and certifications and cross checks registries where one exists, so meat capable plants separate from FDA only bakeries early in the search. We do not certify plants or confirm a grant of inspection on your behalf. Verify inspection status directly with the facility before you send a meat recipe.

Yes. The agent builds one brief covering recipe status, pack format and weight, quantity in both pieces and cases, ingredient and packaging supply, certification needs and the date you need finished goods, sends it to the co packers you approve, and keeps the replies side by side so minimums, fees and dates compare like for like.

No. We do identity verification, registry cross checks, surfaced certifications and risk flags, with the evidence shown so you can judge it yourself. That is risk reduction, not elimination. Plant audits, recipe approval, shelf life validation and product release stay with you and your co packer, and we do not classify products under FDA or USDA rules.

A flat monthly fee for the platform in USD, with no commission on what you buy and no margin taken on your orders. You contract with the manufacturer directly and we are never a counterparty on your purchase order. There is no free plan.

Related solutions

Explore more of Suppliers.

Source your next product

Get a vetted shortlist in minutes.

Describe what you need and get a quote-compared supplier shortlist. Vetted shortlists, quotes compared, no per-deal commission.