CUSTOM RUBBER AND SILICONE MOLDING COMPANIES
Rubber molding companies: custom rubber and silicone molding
Describe the molded rubber or silicone part you need, and the AI shortlists US rubber molding companies with published tooling prices, lead times, tolerance classes and certifications compared, so you know which molder fits your drawing before you send it.
| Supplier | Unit | MOQ | Lead | Fit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Press Source or pick a category to get a vetted shortlist.
The short answer
Rubber molding companies make custom gaskets, seals, grommets, keypads and overmolds by compression, transfer, injection or liquid silicone rubber (LSR) molding. Reading 16 US molders' own sites in September 2026, only Apple Rubber publishes a minimum order, $1,000 per manufactured item, and only three publish a tooling price: steel prototype molds from $850 at Rubber Industries, tools from $1,295 at Konark, and molds from $1,495 at Protolabs. The real cost driver is the mold, and the tolerance class that sets its price is the buyer's to write on the drawing.
Why Suppliers
Sourcing a custom molded rubber part usually starts with a drawing and a deadline. You need a gasket that seals a housing, a silicone keypad, a grommet that survives a wash-down, or an overmold on a cable, and you want a molder who will quote it this week. Then the quotes arrive in different shapes. One includes the mold and one does not. One asks for a durometer you never specified. One quotes a prototype tool, another a production tool, and nobody states a minimum.
This page is built from what US custom rubber and silicone molding companies actually publish, read directly from 16 molders' own websites in September 2026, plus the ARPM Rubber Handbook that defines molded rubber tolerances. The pattern is consistent. The minimum order is almost never the gate. The mold is, and two decisions that sit on the buyer's drawing, the tolerance class and the material call-out, move the mold's price more than anything the molder chooses.
Suppliers is the AI sourcing agent for that search. Describe the part, the material and hardness, the quantities for prototype and production, the tolerance class and any certification your market requires. The agent shortlists US rubber molding companies that fit, with published terms side by side, then sends one consistent request for quote so the answers come back comparable.
Tooling separated from part price
The mold is usually the biggest number on a first order. The request asks every molder to itemize tooling, first article and unit price at two quantities, so you can see what is one-time cost and what repeats.
ARPM tolerance class stated up front
The handbook puts the choice of A1, A2, A3 or A4 on the designer's drawing, and most molders never name one online. The brief states the class, so every quote is priced to the same precision.
Material specified, not guessed
An ASTM D2000 line call-out or a named compound with a durometer and its tolerance goes into every request. Without it, two molders can quote two different rubbers for the same part.
Process matched to quantity
Compression, transfer, injection and LSR suit different volumes and tool budgets. Say what you need for prototypes, first production and a year, and the shortlist favors molders whose process fits.
Plant location surfaced
Some US molders make everything domestically and some route work through offshore partners. The shortlist shows what each states, which matters for ITAR, lead time and any made in USA claim.
Flat price, no commission
A predictable monthly fee in USD with no percentage of your purchase order, so nothing in our model rewards steering you toward a bigger tool or a particular molder. There is no free plan.
How it works
Describe, match, decide.
Describe what you need
Type your need in plain English. The agent extracts the structured spec, from quantity and material to target price and destination.
AI finds & vets
It matches qualified suppliers, cross-checks registry and customs data, surfaces certifications, and flags risk, then ranks the fits.
Compare & decide
Review quotes, MOQs, and lead-times side by side, then run RFQ outreach and POs in one place. You stay in control.
Buyer's guide
What to know before you commit.
The minimum is not the gate. The mold is.
Ask a US rubber molding company for its minimum order and you will rarely find the answer on its website. Of the 16 molders we read, only Apple Rubber in Lancaster, New York publishes one, and it counts in dollars rather than pieces: for anything in stock the minimum is $100 per line item, and if the part has to be manufactured there is a $1,000 per item minimum. Protolabs states the opposite on its injection molding page, parts on demand without MOQs. The other 14 say nothing at all.
What replaces the minimum is the mold, a fixed cost you pay whether you order 50 parts or 50,000. Three molders put a floor on it. Rubber Industries in Shakopee, Minnesota states steel molds starting at $850 for its prototyping services. Konark Silicone Technologies in Anaheim, California states tool prices starting at $1,295. Protolabs states a mold cost starting at $1,495 for injection molding generally, varying with part geometry and complexity. A rubber parts supplier, RPM Rubber Parts, writes in a blog post that compression tooling for custom rubber parts typically runs $500 to $3,500.
Treat those as floors for simple parts, not quotes for yours. Cavities, undercuts, inserts, the tolerance class and the material all move the number. The practical move is the one that works in every tooling-heavy category: ask for a quote at two quantities. The difference between the two tells you how much of your first order is the mold, and whether the molder amortizes it into the part price or bills it up front. This is the same inverted gate we found on electronics contract manufacturers, where the minimum is one board and the setup fee is the real barrier.
The tolerance class goes on your drawing: ARPM A1 to A4
Molded rubber has its own tolerance system, and it is not the one used for machined metal or rigid plastic. The ARPM Rubber Handbook, formerly the RMA handbook, defines four levels for molded products: A1 High Precision, A2 Precision, A3 Commercial and A4 Basic. It states that A3 commercial tolerances will normally be used for most products, and that A4 applies where some dimensional control is required but is secondary to cost.
The handbook is also clear about who decides. It calls the use of proper drawing designations by designers, specifying on drawings exactly what is required, a matter of paramount importance, and says tolerances not shown should be settled in consultation with the rubber manufacturer. In other words, if your drawing does not name a class, the molder will pick one.
The difference is real money. For a fixed dimension up to 0.400 inches, the handbook tables give plus or minus 0.004 in. at A1, 0.006 in. at A2, 0.008 in. at A3 and 0.013 in. at A4. The handbook notes that A1 requires expensive molds, fewer cavities per mold, and costly in-process controls and inspection, and that some materials, particularly those requiring post curing, do not lend themselves to A1 at all.
Online, few molders say where they work. Stockwell Elastomerics in Philadelphia states its molding tolerances are typically RMA A2 precision and A3 commercial. Konark names the four classes. Lake Erie Rubber in Erie, Pennsylvania publishes A1 to A3 values in millimeters. Protolabs and Xometry publish plus or minus inch values instead of a class. The rest are silent. Put the class on the drawing and in the request, and a cheap A3 quote stops competing against an expensive A2 one.
ASTM D2000: the material call-out only one molder names
A drawing that says 60 durometer EPDM leaves a lot open. ASTM D2000, which follows SAE J200, is the classification system that closes it: a single line call-out that states the material's heat and oil resistance, hardness, tensile strength and any extra test requirements. A call-out such as M2BC610 reads as SI units, grade 2, a type letter for heat resistance, a class letter for oil swell, a hardness digit of 6 for 60 Shore A, and 10 for a 10 MPa tensile strength, with suffix codes after it for specific tests such as compression set.
Of the 16 molders we read, only Apple Rubber names D2000, in an engineering article that also notes that for standard physical properties hardness is taken at plus or minus 5. So a hardness digit of 6 means 55 to 65 Shore A, and a part that must feel identical across lots needs a tighter tolerance written on the drawing. Custom Rubber Corp in Cleveland states it will meet any ASTM callout without naming the standard, and Lake Erie mentions ASTM compliance generally.
Hardness also changes the mold. Stockwell publishes shrink rates of 3 to 4 percent for very soft rubber at 15 to 30 durometer and 1.5 to 2 percent at 65 to 85 durometer. A mold is cut for a shrink rate, so changing the durometer after the tool is built can mean a new tool. Decide the material before you approve tooling, and if you do not have a call-out, ask the molder to propose one in writing so it can go on the drawing.
Compression, transfer, injection or LSR: quantity picks the process
The four common processes trade tool cost against part cost. Compression molding places a pre-formed charge of rubber into an open cavity and presses it closed. Minor Rubber in Bloomfield, New Jersey notes that it has less expensive tooling, which is why it suits prototypes and moderate volumes. Stockwell describes cure cycles of 5 to 15 minutes on its compression presses and states that its most common production quantities are 500 to 20,000 pieces.
Transfer and injection molding push rubber into a closed mold, which costs more to tool but cycles faster and holds tighter closure dimensions. Liquid silicone rubber, LSR, is injection molding with a two-part platinum-cured silicone. Stockwell states LSR cures in 30 to 120 seconds at 300 to 335 degrees Fahrenheit, and that closure dimensions can be held tighter than RMA A2 in LSR. That speed is why LSR wins at high volume and why it is common for medical and consumer silicone parts.
The mold material follows the same logic. Extreme Molding in Menands, New York publishes that low-volume aluminum injection molds typically last around 25,000 cycles, while high-volume steel molds last 500,000 or more. Protolabs guarantees its prototype molds for at least 2,000 shots. So state three quantities in the request, prototype, first production and annual, and let the molder recommend the process and mold material that fits. A quote for a 500,000-cycle steel tool on a 2,000-piece program is not wrong, just wrong for you.
Lead time: tooling first, then first article, then parts
Rubber molding lead times come in stages, and the published figures describe different stages. Rubber Industries publishes the most complete set: prototype tooling typically in 5 to 15 days, in steel, and production tooling typically in 2 to 5 weeks depending on complexity. Extreme Molding sources low-volume molds in as little as 3 weeks and high-volume production tools in as little as 12, and it is the only molder we read that states when its next clock starts: it aims to produce first article parts within 3 days of receiving the mold.
The fast-turn operators publish part lead times rather than tool times. Protolabs states LSR prototypes and end-use parts in 15 days or less. Xometry states LSR starting at 15 business days, including 24-hour quotes with design for manufacturing feedback. Konark states 1 to 1,000 silicone prototypes within 3 business days and 1,000 to 25,000 parts within 15 business days. Custom Rubber Corp says it can have parts within 10 days if they do not need to meet your exact material requirement, which is a useful reminder that the fastest route is often a stock compound, not yours.
No molder we read counts production lead time from first article approval, which is where most schedules slip. Ask every molder three things: how long the tool takes, how long after the tool the first article arrives, and how long production takes after you approve that first article.
Certifications, and where the part is actually made
For regulated markets, the certification narrows the list fast. ISO 13485 for medical device work was stated by Protolabs, Xometry, SIMTEC Silicone Parts in Miramar, Florida, and Extreme Molding. IATF 16949 for automotive was stated only by SIMTEC, which also runs Class 8 clean room molding. AS9100 was stated by Protolabs, Xometry and Apple Rubber, and ITAR registration by Protolabs, Xometry, Rubber Industries and Apple Rubber. ISO 9001 is the baseline almost everyone lists.
Location needs a second look. Konark states all of its manufacturing is done in California, and Custom Rubber Corp describes itself as proudly made in the USA. Xometry, as a manufacturing network, states domestic and international production. Stern Rubber in Staples, Minnesota lists off-shore sourcing among its services. Elasto Proxy's primary certified site is in Boisbriand, Quebec. None of that is a problem in itself, but it matters for export-controlled parts, for country of origin and any made in USA claim, and for freight time on a prototype. Ask which facility will mold your part number. We do not provide tariff or customs classification, so confirm duty treatment with your broker. For regulated devices, the medical device contract manufacturers guide covers the full assembly side.
What to put in the request so every quote is comparable
Most rubber molding quotes disagree because the requests were vague. Seven lines fix it. The drawing, with the ARPM tolerance class stated and any critical dimensions called out. The material as an ASTM D2000 line call-out, or a named compound with durometer and a hardness tolerance. Three quantities: prototype, first production and annual volume. Any inserts or overmolding, with who supplies the insert. Flash and parting line requirements on sealing surfaces. The inspection you expect with the first article, such as a dimensional report. And the certifications your market requires.
If silicone is your material, our comparison of silicone manufacturers in the USA lines up nine molders on the same published terms. That is exactly the brief Suppliers sends. Describe the part once, and the agent shortlists matching US rubber molding companies, surfaces their published tooling prices, lead times, tolerance classes and certifications, and sends the same request to each so you compare like with like. If the part is rigid plastic rather than rubber, the plastic injection molding companies guide covers that search, and contract manufacturers covers shops that build the whole assembly.
At a glance
What 12 US rubber and silicone molders publish, read from their own sites.
| Company | Location | Minimum and tooling, as stated | Lead time, as stated | Tolerance and material, as stated | Certifications stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apple Rubber | Lancaster, NY | $1,000 per manufactured item; $100 per line item from stock. Tooling not stated | Not stated | Names ASTM D2000; hardness taken at plus or minus 5 | AS9100D, ISO 9001, ITAR |
| Rubber Industries | Shakopee, MN | Minimum not stated. Steel prototype molds from $850 | Prototype tooling typically 5 to 15 days; production tooling typically 2 to 5 weeks | Not stated; over 2,000 formulas | ISO 9001:2015, ITAR |
| Konark Silicone Technologies | Anaheim, CA; all manufacturing in California | Minimum not stated. Tools from $1,295 | 1 to 1,000 prototypes in 3 business days; 1,000 to 25,000 parts in 15 business days | Names ARPM A1 to A4; 5A to 85A durometer | Not named on the pages read |
| Protolabs | Maple Plain, MN | Without MOQs; molds from $1,495 (injection molding page, not LSR specific) | LSR parts in 15 days or less | Plus or minus inch values; silicone 30 to 70 durometer | ISO 9001:2015, ISO 13485:2016, AS9100D, ITAR |
| Xometry | Manufacturing network, domestic and international | Not stated | LSR from 15 business days, 24 hour quotes with DFM feedback | Mold cavity plus or minus 0.005 in. | ISO 9001, AS9100, ISO 13485, UL, ITAR |
| Extreme Molding | Menands, NY | Not stated | Molds in 3 to 12 weeks; first article within 3 days of the mold arriving | Not stated | ISO 9001:2015, ISO 13485:2016, FDA registered |
| SIMTEC Silicone Parts | Miramar, FL | Not stated | Not stated on the capability pages | Not stated; LSR, 2-shot and multi-shot | ISO 9001, ISO 13485, IATF 16949 |
| Stockwell Elastomerics | Philadelphia, PA | Not stated; common production runs 500 to 20,000 pieces | Not stated | RMA A2 and A3; silicone 25 to 80 Shore A | Not stated on the pages read |
| Custom Rubber Corp | Cleveland, OH | Not stated | Quotes targeted in 3 days; parts in 10 days if exact material is not required | Will meet any ASTM callout | ISO 9001 |
| Lake Erie Rubber | Erie, PA | Not stated | Not stated | Publishes ARPM A1 to A3 values | ISO 9001 |
| Minor Rubber | Bloomfield, NJ | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated; mil-spec grommets | ISO 9001:2015 |
| Robinson Rubber Products | Minneapolis, MN | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated; over 1,500 formulations | ISO 9001:2015 |
Figures were read in September 2026 from each company's own website; 16 molders were read in total and 12 are shown. Not stated means the company publishes nothing on that point in the pages we read, which is the finding rather than an omission. Tooling figures are published starting prices for simple parts, not quotes. ARPM tolerance classes and values are from the ARPM Rubber Handbook (revised 2020). Confirm every figure directly with the molder before committing, because prices, capacity and certifications change.
People also ask
The questions buyers actually search.
How much does a custom rubber mold cost?
Published starting prices for simple molds run from about $850 to $1,500. Rubber Industries states steel prototype molds from $850, Konark states tools from $1,295, and Protolabs states injection molds from $1,495. A rubber parts supplier puts compression tooling at $500 to $3,500. Cavities, inserts, tolerance class and material push the price up, so quote two quantities to separate tooling from part cost.
What is the minimum order for custom rubber parts?
Most US molders do not publish one. Of 16 we read in September 2026, only Apple Rubber states a minimum: $1,000 per manufactured item, or $100 per line item from stock. Protolabs states it works without MOQs. The real barrier is the one-time mold cost, which you pay whether you order 50 parts or 50,000.
How long does it take to make custom rubber parts?
Typically two to twelve weeks, most of it tooling. Rubber Industries publishes prototype tooling in 5 to 15 days and production tooling in 2 to 5 weeks. Extreme Molding sources molds in 3 to 12 weeks and molds first article parts within 3 days of receiving the tool. Protolabs quotes LSR parts in 15 days or less.
What are RMA tolerances for molded rubber?
They are four classes defined in the ARPM, formerly RMA, Rubber Handbook: A1 High Precision, A2 Precision, A3 Commercial and A4 Basic. For a fixed dimension up to 0.400 inches they allow plus or minus 0.004, 0.006, 0.008 and 0.013 inches. A3 is normally used for most products, and the designer states the class on the drawing.
What is the difference between compression molding and injection molding rubber?
Compression molding presses a pre-formed rubber charge into an open cavity, with cheaper tooling and slower cycles, so it suits prototypes and moderate volumes. Injection molding forces rubber into a closed mold, with higher tooling cost but faster cycles and tighter closure dimensions, so it wins at high volume. LSR is injection molding of liquid silicone.
What does ASTM D2000 mean on a rubber drawing?
ASTM D2000 is the classification system for specifying rubber materials in a single line call-out. A call-out like M2BC610 states the units, grade, heat resistance type, oil swell class, hardness (6 means 60 Shore A) and tensile strength, with suffix codes for extra tests. Hardness is taken at plus or minus 5 for standard properties.
Who are the best rubber molding companies in the USA?
It depends on the part and the market. For fast prototypes, Rubber Industries, Konark and Protolabs publish the quickest turns. For medical silicone, SIMTEC and Extreme Molding state ISO 13485. For automotive, SIMTEC states IATF 16949. For defense, Apple Rubber, Rubber Industries and Protolabs state ITAR. Shortlist by process, class and certification.
What is LSR molding used for?
Liquid silicone rubber molding makes flexible, heat-resistant and biocompatible parts at high volume: medical components, seals and gaskets, keypads, baby and kitchen products, and overmolds on plastic or metal. LSR cures in about 30 to 120 seconds, so once the steel mold is paid for, the part cost falls quickly with volume.
FAQ
Common questions.
Usually, yes. Tooling is quoted as a one-time charge or amortized into the part price. Ask each molder which it is, who owns the mold, and how many cycles it is built for, because a low-volume aluminum tool and a steel production tool are priced very differently.
Normally the buyer who paid for the tooling, but it should be written into the purchase order. Agree ownership, storage, maintenance and your right to move the tool to another molder before you approve the tooling invoice.
For prototypes, often yes. Aluminum molds cost less and Extreme Molding states they typically last around 25,000 cycles. Protolabs guarantees prototype molds for at least 2,000 shots. Move to a steel tool once the design and volume are settled.
ISO 9001 is the baseline. Medical parts call for ISO 13485, automotive parts for IATF 16949, aerospace for AS9100 and defense work for ITAR registration. Food contact and potable water parts need compounds that meet FDA or NSF requirements.
You cannot tell from websites, because none of the US molders we read publishes a part price. Offshore tooling and labor can be cheaper at volume, while US molders often win on prototype speed, communication and control. Quote the same drawing, class and material both ways and compare landed cost.
Describe the part in plain English: material, hardness, tolerance class, quantities and certifications. The agent shortlists US rubber and silicone molders that match, shows their published terms side by side and sends one consistent request for quote. A human reviews the shortlist and decides who to order from.
Related solutions
Explore more of Suppliers.
Plastic injection molding companies
Describe the plastic part you need produced and the AI shortlists plastic injection molding companies with tooling cost, mold class, cavitation, lead times, and per-part quotes compared side by side.
Learn more →Medical device contract manufacturers
Describe the device you need built, and the AI shortlists medical device contract manufacturers with ISO 13485 status, process capabilities, minimums, and lead times compared side by side.
Learn more →Electronics contract manufacturers
Describe the board or product you need built, and the AI shortlists US electronics contract manufacturers and PCB assembly services with published setup fees, turn times, IPC class and certifications compared, so you can see how much of a quote is one time cost before you commit.
Learn more →Wire harness manufacturers
Describe the harness or cable assembly you need built, and the AI shortlists US wire harness manufacturers with published minimums, lead times, IPC/WHMA-A-620 class and certifications compared, so you know which shop can build to your drawing before you send it.
Learn more →Contract manufacturers
Describe the product you need built and the AI shortlists contract manufacturing companies set up for your process, category, and volume, with minimums, lead times, certifications, and quotes compared side by side.
Learn more →CNC machining companies
Describe the part you need machined, and the AI shortlists CNC machining companies and precision machine shops with their certifications, tolerance capability, quantities, and lead times compared side by side.
Learn more →US manufacturers directory
Describe what you need made in the United States, and the AI returns a shortlist of American manufacturers and US suppliers with capabilities, minimum order quantities, lead times, and quotes compared side by side.
Learn more →All sourcing & procurement solutions
- Procurement software
- AI sourcing agent
- Supplier sourcing
- Manufacturer sourcing
- Supplier discovery
- Supplier management
- Purchase order software
- RFQ software
- Wholesale suppliers
- Cosmetic contract manufacturers
- Supplement contract manufacturers
- Electronics contract manufacturers
- Private label skin care manufacturers
- Co-packers
- Private label shampoo manufacturers
- Clothing manufacturers
- Custom packaging manufacturers
- Jewelry manufacturers
- Candle manufacturers
- Pharmaceutical contract manufacturers
- Medical device contract manufacturers
- Pet product manufacturers
- Furniture manufacturers
- Private label manufacturers
- Private label soap manufacturers
- Gummy manufacturers
- Private label coffee manufacturers
- Activewear manufacturers
- Hat manufacturers
- Sock manufacturers
- Swimwear manufacturers
- Private label perfume manufacturers
- Makeup manufacturers
- US manufacturers directory
- CNC machining companies
- Low MOQ manufacturers
- Manufacturers for small businesses
- Contract manufacturers
- Is Alibaba legit
- Alibaba vs AliExpress
- Alibaba vs Temu
- Custom clothing manufacturers
- Plastic injection molding companies
- Metal fabricators
- Laser cutting services
- Protein powder manufacturers
- Energy drink manufacturers
- Private label lip balm manufacturers
- Softgel manufacturers
- Sauce manufacturers
- Snack manufacturers
- Wire harness manufacturers
Source your next product
Get a vetted shortlist in minutes.
Describe what you need and get a quote-compared supplier shortlist. Vetted shortlists, quotes compared, no per-deal commission.