SOFTGEL MANUFACTURERS
Softgel manufacturers: capsule contract manufacturers, USA
Describe the supplement you want to sell, from a stock fish oil softgel to a custom vegan shell, and the AI shortlists softgel manufacturers and capsule contract manufacturers with published minimums converted into finished bottles, plus shell options, certifications and lead times side by side.
| Supplier | Unit | MOQ | Lead | Fit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Shortlist matched to your spec. Run the same brief on your own account.
Press Source or pick a category to get a vetted shortlist.
The short answer
Last updated September 2026
A softgel manufacturer fills your liquid or oil based formula into a sealed gelatin or plant based shell and packs it under your brand. The number that decides whether you can start is the minimum order, and in this format it is high for a mechanical reason rather than a commercial one. Reading six US manufacturers' own websites in September 2026: Superior Supplement Manufacturing in California publishes 500,000 softgels or 8,500 units of a 60 count for gelatin, NutraSeller publishes 150,000 softgels for a stock formula and 300,000 to 500,000 for a custom one, Private Label Express in Florida publishes 300,000 softgels per SKU, and VITA PLUS INTER in Temecula publishes 1,000 to 3,000 units without saying what a unit is. The same Superior facility publishes 150,000 capsules, or 2,500 units of a 60 count, for a regular hardshell capsule. Same company, same bottle, roughly 3.4 times the minimum, decided by the dosage format rather than by the ingredient inside it.
Why Suppliers
Softgels are the format brands want for anything oil based. Fish oil, vitamin D, CoQ10, MCT, evening primrose, krill and most fat soluble actives dose better and taste better in a sealed shell than in a powder or a tablet. Then the first quote arrives and the minimum order is a number with five or six digits in it, and the founder who had budgeted for a first run of a thousand bottles quietly shelves the idea.
That reaction is usually based on a misreading, because the manufacturers are not all quoting the same thing. Some quote individual softgels, some quote finished bottles, and at least one quotes something it calls a unit without ever defining it. The gap between the smallest and largest published minimum in this category looks like 500 times. Converted into one unit it is closer to 3 times, and most of what is left is explained by whether you want a stock formula or a custom one.
Suppliers is the AI sourcing agent for that search. Describe the supplement you want to put your name on, including the fill, the shell you need, the bottle count and the quantity you can actually fund, and the agent finds softgel and capsule contract manufacturers that run your job, then lays their minimum order quantities, lead times, certifications and indicative quotes out side by side. Every match carries its vetting evidence: identity verification, registry cross-checks, surfaced certifications such as cGMP and FDA facility registration, and any risk flags worth a second look. The agent shortlists and ranks; you review the evidence and decide who runs your first batch.
Minimums converted into one unit
Softgels and bottles are two ways of counting the same production run, and comparing them by eye is how affordable factories get eliminated by accident. State your bottle count and target quantity and the shortlist restates every published minimum in the same terms so the numbers actually line up.
Format decides your floor before the formula does
A hardshell capsule, a softgel, a gummy and a powder are four different production lines with four different setup costs. Say which one you want and the shortlist shows what that choice does to your minimum, so you can price the decision before you commit tooling to it.
Stock formula or custom, asked up front
Putting your label on a formula the factory already runs and developing your own are different products with different minimums, often two to three times apart at the same facility. The brief asks which one you want so every quote you get back is answering the same question.
Shell chemistry filtered properly
Bovine gelatin, fish gelatin, and plant based HPMC or starch shells use different tooling and different chemistry, and enteric coating is a separate capability again. Flag vegan, halal, kosher or enteric in the brief and the facilities that cannot run it drop out before you spend a week on email.
Lead times compared from the same starting gun
One manufacturer counts weeks from your deposit, another from receipt of final raw materials and packaging, another from formula approval. Those are three different clocks. The shortlist shows the wording each one published so you can compare delivery dates instead of comparing numbers.
Certification evidence, not banners
cGMP under 21 CFR Part 111, FDA facility registration, NSF, USDA Organic, Kosher, Halal and third party lab testing are surfaced with the evidence behind them, alongside identity verification and registry cross-checks, so you can judge a claim rather than take it from a homepage badge.
How it works
Describe, match, decide.
Describe what you need
Type your need in plain English. The agent extracts the structured spec, from quantity and material to target price and destination.
AI finds & vets
It matches qualified suppliers, cross-checks registry and customs data, surfaces certifications, and flags risk, then ranks the fits.
Compare & decide
Review quotes, MOQs, and lead-times side by side, then run RFQ outreach and POs in one place. You stay in control.
Buyer's guide
What to know before you commit.
Six softgel manufacturers publish a minimum, and only two of them say what a unit is
The most useful hour before you contact anyone is spent reading manufacturers' own websites and writing down exactly what each one publishes, word for word. Do that across six US softgel facilities and the confusion resolves itself.
Superior Supplement Manufacturing in Fountain Valley, California states its gelatin softgel minimum as 500,000 softgels or 8,500 units of a 60 count, depending on formulation, and notes that vegan softgels can be slightly higher. NutraSeller states 150,000 softgels for a stock formula, which it itself puts at approximately 2,500 units for 60 count bottles, and 300,000 to 500,000 softgels for a custom formula depending on the formula. Private Label Express in Coral Springs, Florida states 300,000 softgels per SKU. Innova Nutra in Ontario, California says its minimum typically starts at 300k. VITA PLUS INTER in Temecula, California says the MOQ for softgels ranges from 1,000 to 3,000 units. Cpack Manufacturing in Orem, Utah offers flexible minimum order quantities and publishes no number at all.
Five of the six publish a figure. One publishes an adjective. None of the six publishes a price of any kind, which is worth knowing before you spend an afternoon looking for one.
The important detail is not the spread, it is the unit. Superior and NutraSeller both define what they mean: a unit is a 60 count bottle, and both of their conversions work out at 60 softgels per bottle. That gives you a manufacturer published constant to convert the rest of the market with. VITA PLUS INTER never defines it. If its 1,000 to 3,000 units means bottles, it is the most accessible softgel minimum published by any US facility on this list by a wide margin. If it means individual softgels, it is roughly 500 times smaller than everyone else, which would be extraordinary. A founder reading the two pages side by side has no way to tell, and that single undefined word is enough to put a good factory at the wrong end of a shortlist.
The same factory needs 3.4 times more softgels than capsules, and publishes both numbers
Cross vendor comparisons always carry the suspicion that you are comparing a cheap factory against an expensive one. Occasionally a manufacturer removes that doubt by publishing the whole ladder itself, and Superior Supplement Manufacturing does exactly that.
For a gelatin softgel it states 500,000 softgels or 8,500 units of a 60 count. For a regular hardshell capsule it states 150,000 capsules or 2,500 units of a 60 count. Same company, same facility, same 60 count bottle, and a minimum roughly 3.4 times larger for the softgel. Nothing about the ingredient changed. The delivery format did.
The same page keeps going, and the ladder is steeper than most founders expect. Colored gelatin capsules and colored vegetable capsules are both stated at 350,000 capsules. Liquid capsules, capsule within capsule and beadlet capsules are each stated at 1,000,000 capsules and require special approval. From the plainest option to the most complex, at one facility, the published minimum moves from 150,000 to 1,000,000, a range of roughly seven times, and every step of it is decided before you have chosen a single active ingredient.
That is the practical lesson for anyone sourcing a supplement contract manufacturer: pick the format with your budget in front of you, not after you have fallen in love with a product concept. The cheapest way to halve your first production run is often to change the capsule, not the formula.
Why softgel minimums are high, and what to do if you cannot meet one
The reason is mechanical. A softgel is not filled into a preformed shell; the shell is made and filled in the same motion. Two ribbons of gelatin or plant based film are formed, brought together over a rotary die that cuts and seals the capsule around the fill in one pass, and the sealed capsules then need a drying and tumbling period before they can be inspected and bottled. Setting that up means matching die tooling to your capsule shape and size, preparing and conditioning a shell batch, and dialing in the seal. Manufacturers describe the higher minimums as a consequence of die setup, shell preparation and banding time rather than of the ingredient cost, and the drying stage is why softgel lead times run longer than capsule lead times even when the run size is similar.
So the folk wisdom that starting a supplement brand takes hundreds of thousands of units is a statement about the softgel line, not about supplements. It is true here and false in the neighboring aisle. Superior's own capsule minimum is 2,500 bottles against 8,500 for a softgel. Gummy manufacturers publish stock minimums starting around 500 to 1,000 bottles. Protein powder manufacturers publish stock minimums as low as a few dozen units per SKU.
If you want to be in market this year with a fill that genuinely needs a softgel, there are three honest routes. Launch the same active in a hardshell capsule or a powder first, prove demand, and move to softgels when volume justifies the tooling. Take a stock softgel formula rather than a custom one, since NutraSeller publishes 150,000 softgels for stock against 300,000 to 500,000 for custom at the same company. Or find a facility that runs shorter softgel batches and accept that the per unit cost will be higher, which is a real trade and worth quoting rather than assuming. What does not work is treating the published minimum as an opening position; it is set by tooling economics, and there is usually very little movement in it.
Three lead times, three different starting guns
Softgel lead times look comparable until you read what each clock is measured from, and then they stop being comparable at all.
NutraSeller publishes 4 to 6 weeks for a stock softgel, and for a custom one splits it explicitly into 4 weeks of R and D plus 10 weeks of production. Private Label Express publishes 10 to 12 weeks from deposit, and states 12 to 16 weeks typical from deposit to delivery elsewhere on the same page, which is worth raising with them directly rather than assuming which figure applies to you. Innova Nutra publishes around 6 to 12 weeks from receipt of final raw materials and packaging. Cpack Manufacturing publishes 10 to 14 weeks from formula approval to finished packaged product, and says repeat orders are faster without giving a figure. VITA PLUS INTER publishes a standard production cycle of 6 to 10 weeks. Superior's softgel page states no lead time, though its capsule page publishes 8 weeks for a first production and 6 to 8 weeks for recurring ones.
Read those starting guns again. From deposit, from receipt of final raw materials and packaging, and from formula approval are three genuinely different moments, and the gap between them is where a launch date goes missing. Formula approval can sit weeks after your deposit. Receipt of final raw materials and packaging can sit weeks after formula approval, and it puts the sourcing of your bottles, caps, induction seals and labels on your critical path rather than the factory's. A 6 week quote measured from receipt of everything can easily deliver later than a 12 week quote measured from deposit.
When you send a brief out, ask every manufacturer for a delivery date rather than a duration, and name the milestone you want it counted from. It is the single cheapest question in supplement sourcing and almost nobody asks it.
FDA registered is a registration, not an approval, and the label carries the liability
Softgel manufacturer websites lean heavily on FDA registered as a trust signal, and it is worth understanding exactly what it means before you weight it.
FDA states plainly that it does not have the authority to approve dietary supplements before they are marketed, and that it generally does not approve dietary supplement claims or labeling before use. Separately, facilities that manufacture, process, pack or hold dietary supplements for consumption in the United States must register with FDA. So FDA registered means the facility did a required filing. It is a genuine baseline you should insist on, and it is not an endorsement of the facility, the formula or the product.
The requirement that actually differentiates manufacturers is current good manufacturing practice. FDA's regulations require those who manufacture, package or hold dietary supplements to follow current good manufacturing practices that help ensure the identity, purity, quality, strength and composition of the product, and Private Label Express cites the relevant rule on its own page as cGMP 21 CFR Part 111. Ask for the audit or certification evidence behind a cGMP claim rather than accepting the phrase, and ask who does the finished product testing and to which standard. Private Label Express publishes third party testing at ISO/IEC 17025 accredited labs. NutraSeller lists FDA registered, GMP compliant, USDA Organic, Kosher, Halal and SGS. Superior lists a cGMP certified facility with NSF, NSF for Sport, TGA, UL, Organic, Kosher and Halal available. Innova Nutra lists ISO, cGMP and GLP. Cpack lists FDA registered, cGMP certified, USDA certified and UDAF registered.
The part that surprises first time private label brands is where responsibility lands. FDA states that a firm is responsible for ensuring that the dietary supplements it manufactures or distributes are not adulterated, misbranded, or otherwise in violation of federal law. When the product is sold under your brand, you are a distributor of it. The contract manufacturer runs the process and holds the certifications; the name on the bottle owns the outcome. That is a reason to weight testing and documentation heavily when you rank a shortlist, and it is the same structure brands run into when they work with private label manufacturers in any regulated category. We do not do regulatory classification or customs work, so treat this as sourcing context and take product specific questions to a regulatory advisor.
At a glance
What six US softgel and capsule manufacturers publish on their own websites, September 2026.
| Manufacturer | Location | Published minimum, as stated | In 60 count bottles | Stated lead time and its starting point | Certifications stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Superior Supplement Manufacturing | Fountain Valley, CA | 500,000 softgels or 8,500 units of a 60 count for gelatin, vegan slightly higher | 8,500 as published | Not stated on the softgel page. Its capsule page states 8 weeks first production, 6 to 8 weeks recurring | cGMP certified facility. NSF, NSF for Sport, TGA, UL, Organic, Kosher, Halal listed as available |
| NutraSeller | United States, FDA registered facilities | 150,000 softgels stock, 300,000 to 500,000 custom depending on formula | About 2,500 stock as published, about 5,000 to 8,500 custom (modeled) | 4 to 6 weeks stock. Custom 4 weeks R and D plus 10 weeks production | FDA registered, GMP compliant, USDA Organic, Kosher, Halal, SGS |
| Private Label Express | Coral Springs, FL | 300,000 softgels per SKU | About 5,000 (modeled) | 10 to 12 weeks from deposit, with 12 to 16 weeks stated elsewhere on the same page | cGMP 21 CFR Part 111, FDA registered facility, third party testing at ISO/IEC 17025 accredited labs |
| Innova Nutra | Ontario, CA | Typically starts at 300k, unit not explicitly stated | About 5,000 (modeled, assuming softgels) | Around 6 to 12 weeks from receipt of final raw materials and packaging | ISO, cGMP and GLP |
| VITA PLUS INTER | Temecula, CA | 1,000 to 3,000 units, unit not defined on the page | Not convertible without a definition of unit | 6 to 10 weeks standard production cycle | GMP certified and FDA registered stated, made in USA |
| Cpack Manufacturing | Orem, UT | Flexible minimum order quantities, no figure published | Not stated | 10 to 14 weeks from formula approval to finished packaged product, repeat orders faster | FDA registered, cGMP certified, USDA certified, UDAF registered |
Every figure above was read from that company's own website in September 2026, not from a directory, and a blank means the company publishes nothing rather than that the answer is no. Five of the six publish a minimum you can plan against, one publishes only an adjective, five publish a lead time, and none publishes a price of any kind. The bottle conversion is a worked model, not a quote: it uses 60 softgels per 60 count bottle, which is the ratio Superior Supplement Manufacturing and NutraSeller each publish for their own runs, and it should be confirmed against your actual bottle count and dose. Confirm all of it directly before you commit, because published minimums and turnarounds change.
People also ask
The questions buyers actually search.
What is the MOQ for softgel manufacturing?
Across six US manufacturers checked in September 2026 the published softgel minimums run from 150,000 softgels for a stock formula up to 500,000 for gelatin at the largest figure on the list. Superior Supplement Manufacturing states 500,000 softgels or 8,500 units of a 60 count, NutraSeller states 150,000 softgels stock and 300,000 to 500,000 custom, and Private Label Express states 300,000 per SKU. In finished 60 count bottles that is roughly 2,500 to 8,500.
How much does it cost to manufacture softgels?
None of the six US softgel manufacturers checked in September 2026 publishes a price, a per unit rate or a price range anywhere on its site, so any figure you find online is someone else's quote rather than a rate card. Cost is driven by your fill, shell type, capsule size, run length, bottle count and packaging. Expect to send a written brief and receive a quote rather than to shop from a list.
How long does softgel manufacturing take?
Published lead times run from 4 to 6 weeks for a stock softgel up to 10 to 16 weeks for a custom one, but the clock starts in different places. NutraSeller counts 4 weeks of R and D plus 10 weeks of production for custom work, Private Label Express counts from deposit, Innova Nutra counts from receipt of final raw materials and packaging, and Cpack counts from formula approval. Ask for a delivery date, not a duration.
What is the difference between softgel and capsule manufacturing?
A hardshell capsule is filled into a shell that already exists, while a softgel shell is formed, filled and sealed in one pass over a rotary die and then dried. That extra tooling and drying is why minimums are higher. Superior Supplement Manufacturing publishes both from the same facility: 150,000 capsules or 2,500 units of a 60 count, against 500,000 softgels or 8,500 units.
Can softgels be made vegan?
Yes. Plant based shells using HPMC, starch or carrageenan replace bovine or fish gelatin, and Private Label Express publishes bovine gelatin, fish gelatin for halal and kosher, vegan HPMC and enteric softgels as separate shell options. Confirm the facility runs plant based shells in house rather than subcontracting them, because the tooling and chemistry differ, and Superior notes vegan softgel minimums can be slightly higher than gelatin.
Who are the largest softgel manufacturers?
The largest softgel producers are pharmaceutical scale contract development and manufacturing organizations such as Catalent, Aenova, Lonza, Procaps and Sirio Pharma, which serve pharmaceutical and large nutraceutical clients. For a first supplement run they are usually the wrong list. Mid sized US private label facilities like the six compared above publish minimums a new brand can realistically fund.
Do softgel manufacturers offer private label?
Most do, and it is the cheaper path. Private label puts your brand on a formula the manufacturer already owns and has already scaled, so the minimum is lower and there is no bench work to pay for. NutraSeller publishes 150,000 softgels for a stock formula against 300,000 to 500,000 for a custom one at the same company, and Superior states it holds a variety of stock softgel formulations.
Are softgel manufacturers FDA approved?
No, because FDA does not approve dietary supplements or the facilities that make them. FDA states it does not have the authority to approve dietary supplements before they are marketed. What exists is FDA facility registration, which is required, plus current good manufacturing practice requirements that FDA says help ensure the identity, purity, quality, strength and composition of the product. Treat FDA registered as a baseline, not an endorsement.
FAQ
Common questions.
Describe the product in plain English, including the fill, the shell you need, capsule size, bottle count, target quantity and region. The agent searches for softgel and capsule contract manufacturers that run that combination, verifies each one, and returns a ranked shortlist with published minimums, lead times, certifications and the evidence behind every match.
It shows each published minimum in the unit the manufacturer used, so you can quote it back to them accurately, and it helps you state your own requirement in both softgels and finished bottles in the brief. Where a conversion is applied it is labeled as a model with its assumptions shown, because a softgels to bottles figure depends on your bottle count and dose and is not a quote.
Yes. Set the region in the brief and the shortlist focuses on domestic facilities, which most supplement brands prefer for shorter freight, easier plant visits, simpler cGMP documentation, and the ability to support a made in USA claim on the bottle where it genuinely applies.
Yes, and comparing formats is often the most valuable thing you can do before committing. Name the formats you would consider and the shortlist shows what each one does to your minimum and lead time, which frequently changes the decision for a first production run.
No. We do identity verification, registry cross-checks, surfaced certifications and risk flags, with the evidence shown so you can judge it yourself. That is risk reduction, not elimination. Plant audits, sample approval, stability testing and finished product release stay with you, and a human should sign off before production. We do not do regulatory classification.
A flat monthly fee for the platform in USD, with no commission on what you buy and no margin taken on your orders. You contract with the manufacturer directly and we are never a counterparty on your purchase order. There is no free plan.
Related solutions
Explore more of Suppliers.
Supplement contract manufacturers
Describe the supplement you want made, and the AI shortlists cGMP contract manufacturers with MOQs, lead times, and testing compared.
Learn more →Gummy manufacturers
Describe the gummy you want to sell, from a private label vitamin gummy to a custom supplement or candy formula, and the AI shortlists US gummy manufacturers with minimum order quantities, actives, certifications, and lead times compared side by side.
Learn more →Protein powder manufacturers
Describe the protein powder you want made and the AI shortlists cGMP manufacturers that run your format, with minimums, lead times, testing, and quotes compared side by side.
Learn more →Private label manufacturers
Describe the product you want to sell under your own brand, and the AI shortlists private label manufacturers and suppliers with minimum order quantities, certifications, and lead times compared side by side.
Learn more →Low MOQ manufacturers
Describe what you want made and the quantity you can actually commit to, and the AI shortlists low MOQ manufacturers whose minimum order quantities, unit prices, and lead times fit a first run.
Learn more →Pharmaceutical contract manufacturers
Describe the drug product or dosage form you need made, and the AI shortlists pharmaceutical contract manufacturers and CDMOs with capabilities, certifications, minimums, and lead times compared side by side.
Learn more →Contract manufacturers
Describe the product you need built and the AI shortlists contract manufacturing companies set up for your process, category, and volume, with minimums, lead times, certifications, and quotes compared side by side.
Learn more →All sourcing & procurement solutions
- Procurement software
- AI sourcing agent
- Supplier sourcing
- Manufacturer sourcing
- Supplier discovery
- Supplier management
- Purchase order software
- RFQ software
- Wholesale suppliers
- Cosmetic contract manufacturers
- Supplement contract manufacturers
- Electronics contract manufacturers
- Private label skin care manufacturers
- Co-packers
- Private label shampoo manufacturers
- Clothing manufacturers
- Custom packaging manufacturers
- Jewelry manufacturers
- Candle manufacturers
- Pharmaceutical contract manufacturers
- Medical device contract manufacturers
- Pet product manufacturers
- Furniture manufacturers
- Private label manufacturers
- Private label soap manufacturers
- Gummy manufacturers
- Private label coffee manufacturers
- Activewear manufacturers
- Hat manufacturers
- Sock manufacturers
- Swimwear manufacturers
- Private label perfume manufacturers
- Makeup manufacturers
- US manufacturers directory
- CNC machining companies
- Low MOQ manufacturers
- Manufacturers for small businesses
- Contract manufacturers
- Is Alibaba legit
- Alibaba vs AliExpress
- Alibaba vs Temu
- Custom clothing manufacturers
- Plastic injection molding companies
- Metal fabricators
- Laser cutting services
- Protein powder manufacturers
- Energy drink manufacturers
- Private label lip balm manufacturers
Source your next product
Get a vetted shortlist in minutes.
Describe what you need and get a quote-compared supplier shortlist. Vetted shortlists, quotes compared, no per-deal commission.