suppliers.ai
How it works Features Security Pricing Blog

PRIVATE LABEL LIP BALM MANUFACTURERS

Private label lip balm manufacturers: lip gloss suppliers

Describe the lip product you want to sell, from a stock beeswax stick to a tinted balm, a jar, or a custom lip gloss, and the AI shortlists private label lip balm manufacturers and lip gloss suppliers with published minimums converted into one comparable unit, plus tube formats, certifications and lead times side by side.

Try the demo ↓
private label lip balm manufacturer lip balm manufacturers lip balm supplier private label lip balm lip gloss private label lip gloss manufacturers private label lip gloss manufacturer custom lip balm manufacturer white label lip balm organic lip balm manufacturer
Sourcing Console
sample data
Parsed spec Matching suppliers_
vetted matches
Supplier Unit MOQ Lead Fit

Shortlist matched to your spec. Sample data shown.

Press Source or pick a category to get a vetted shortlist.

Every shortlist is vetted/ Registry & customs cross-checked/ Certifications surfaced/ Risk flags shown/ No per-deal commission

The short answer

Last updated September 2026

A private label lip balm manufacturer fills a stock or custom formula into your branded tube, pot, or gloss wand and ships it under your label. The hard part of the search is that minimums are published in four incompatible units. Reading seven manufacturers' own websites in September 2026: Rain Shadow Labs in Oregon states 10 gallons for a stock formula and 25 gallons for a custom one, Metro Private Label states around 10,000 units per SKU for a stick and around 3,000 for a jar, Nardo's Natural in Florida publishes a 500 unit per SKU threshold, and Lady Burd in New York states minimums as low as $150 for stock items. Convert them using the standard 0.15 oz (4.25 g) tube that Nardo's publishes and 10 gallons works out at roughly 8,000 tubes, which sits close to Metro's 10,000 unit stick figure rather than far below it. The lesson underneath: the component usually sets the floor, not the formula, and the same manufacturer that needs 10,000 sticks will run 3,000 jars.

Why Suppliers

Sourcing a lip balm manufacturer looks like the easiest job in beauty and turns into the most confusing. Every factory page says low minimums. Then one quotes gallons, one quotes units per SKU, one quotes dollars, and one splits the number by whether you want a stick or a jar. None of them is being evasive; they are each quoting the unit their production floor runs on. But you cannot build a shortlist out of four units, so most founders end up choosing on tone of voice rather than on whether the order is one they can afford.

Suppliers is the AI sourcing agent for that search. Describe the lip product you want to put your name on, whether it is a beeswax stick, a tinted or organic balm, an SPF lip protectant, a jar or pot, or a lip gloss with a doe foot wand, and the agent finds cosmetic contract manufacturers that run your format and lays their minimum order quantities, lead times, certifications and indicative quotes out side by side in one unit you can compare. Every match carries its vetting evidence: identity verification, registry cross-checks, surfaced certifications such as ISO 22716 and cGMP, and any risk flags worth a second look. The agent shortlists and ranks; you review the evidence and decide who fills your first run.

01

Minimums in one comparable unit

Gallons, units per SKU, and dollars are three ways of saying the same thing, and comparing them by eye is how good factories get eliminated by accident. State your format and target quantity and the shortlist converts every published minimum into tubes so the numbers line up.

02

Format is the real filter

A twist up stick, a jar or pot, a squeeze tube, and a doe foot gloss wand are four different filling jobs on four different sets of tooling. Say which one you want and the manufacturers that cannot run it drop out before you spend a week emailing them.

03

Stock formula or custom, made explicit

Putting your label on an existing base and developing your own are different products with different minimums, often by a factor of two or three at the same facility. The brief asks which one you want so the quotes you get back are answering the same question.

04

SPF and treatment claims routed correctly

A sunscreen lip balm is regulated in the US as an over the counter drug, not simply as a cosmetic. Flag SPF or a treatment claim in your brief and the shortlist only shows facilities set up for that path, which is a smaller list than the one for a plain balm.

05

Domestic and offshore side by side

US made carries a shorter freight line, easier plant visits, and a claim you can put on the tube where it genuinely applies. Offshore often carries a lower minimum. See both, with locations shown, and decide with the trade off in front of you rather than after the sample arrives.

06

Certification evidence, not adjectives

ISO 22716, cGMP, FDA facility registration, USDA Organic, vegan and cruelty free claims are surfaced with the evidence behind them, alongside identity verification and registry cross-checks, so you can judge a claim rather than take it from a homepage banner.

02

How it works

Describe, match, decide.

1

Describe what you need

Type your need in plain English. The agent extracts the structured spec, from quantity and material to target price and destination.

2

AI finds & vets

It matches qualified suppliers, cross-checks registry and customs data, surfaces certifications, and flags risk, then ranks the fits.

3

Compare & decide

Review quotes, MOQs, and lead-times side by side, then run RFQ outreach and POs in one place. You stay in control.

03

Buyer's guide

What to know before you commit.

Seven lip balm manufacturers publish their minimum in four different units

The single most useful hour you can spend before contacting anyone is reading seven manufacturers' own websites and writing down exactly what each one publishes. Do it and a pattern appears that no directory shows you: they are not disagreeing about the size of a minimum order, they are quoting different units.

Rain Shadow Labs in St Helens, Oregon publishes volume. Its private label program starts at 10 gallons for a stock formulation and 25 gallons for a custom one. Metro Private Label publishes pieces, split by format: around 10,000 units per SKU for a stick and around 3,000 units for a jar. Nardo's Natural Private Label in Largo, Florida publishes a threshold rather than a floor, noting a 500 unit per SKU minimum for poly bagged and hand applied barcodes. Lady Burd, manufacturing in New York since 1972, publishes money: minimums as low as $150 for stock items. Offshore, SBL Comp in Germany states just 300 units and DLAB in Portugal states 100 units for standard products rising to 500 for custom packaging. Eco Lips in Cedar Rapids, Iowa publishes no minimum at all. The same silence runs across beauty and personal care generally, which is why comparing private label manufacturers on published figures alone shortens most shortlists fast.

Four units for one number. That is what makes this category feel chaotic when it is actually fairly orderly, and it is why the advice to get several quotes is not a preference here but the only mechanism that works. It also explains a specific failure mode: a founder reading gallons next to units concludes the gallon quote is the small one, because ten of something sounds smaller than ten thousand of something. It is not, as the next section shows.

Worth naming too is what the unit choice is doing rhetorically, in both directions. Gallons make a large minimum feel domestic and approachable. Units make the identical quantity feel industrial. Dollars make it feel like a decision you can make this afternoon. None of the seven is lying. But if you rank a shortlist by which page felt friendliest, you have ranked it by unit of measure.

Ten gallons sounds like a kitchen quantity and is roughly eight thousand tubes

This is the arithmetic almost nobody runs before the first round of emails, and it changes which facilities you call.

Start with a constant one of these manufacturers publishes rather than one we invented. Nardo's Natural lists its standard lip balm as Net Wt .15 oz (4.25 g) in a clear tube with a clear cap, which is the ordinary drugstore stick size. A US gallon is 3,785 mL. Lip balm is a wax and oil blend, so take a working density of about 0.9 g/mL, which is the assumption in this model and the one figure here you should confirm with your own manufacturer rather than take from this page. On that basis a gallon of balm weighs roughly 3,400 g and fills about 800 standard tubes.

Run Rain Shadow's published minimums through it. Ten gallons for a stock formula is roughly 8,000 tubes. Twenty five gallons for a custom formula is roughly 20,000 tubes. Now put that next to Metro Private Label's stated 10,000 units per SKU for a stick, and the two numbers, from two unrelated companies quoting in two different units, land in the same neighborhood. That convergence is the finding. It says the floor for a US made twist up lip balm run is somewhere around eight to ten thousand tubes, and that neither company is unusually demanding.

It also corrects the impression the raw numbers give. Ten gallons reads like something you could make in a large kitchen, and founders treat Rain Shadow as the low minimum option on that basis. Eight thousand tubes is a real inventory commitment with real cash behind it. Meanwhile the sub 1,000 unit options in the group, SBL Comp at 300 and DLAB at 100, are both in Europe rather than the US, so the low number and the domestic supply chain are not currently available in the same row of the table.

Build one column in your comparison sheet called tubes, convert every quote into it, and keep the original unit beside it so you can quote each manufacturer back to itself. Send your own target in both units when you write the brief, for exactly the same reason. Two manufacturers answering in gallons and pieces should be answering the same question.

The tube sets the minimum, not the formula

Metro Private Label publishes both halves of a split that explains most of this category, and it is more valuable than any single number on the page. The same company, offering the same formulas, states around 10,000 units per SKU for a stick format and around 3,000 units for a jar. One facility, one recipe library, a difference of more than three times.

Nothing about the balm changed. What changed is the component. A twist up stick is an assembly of a barrel, a base, a screw mechanism and a cap, usually printed or decorated, and those parts are bought from a component supplier who has their own minimum order that has nothing to do with your brand. A jar or pot is a simpler part with a wider standing supply. When a manufacturer quotes you 10,000 units, a large share of that number is very often not their filling line at all; it is the smallest quantity of tubes they can buy on your behalf.

That reframes the whole negotiation. Asking a factory to halve its minimum is usually asking it to eat a component order, which it will not do. Asking whether the minimum drops if you take a stock tube from their standing inventory instead of a custom decorated one is a different question, and it is frequently answered yes. So is asking what the minimum looks like in a jar, a squeeze tube, or a gloss wand instead of a stick. Lady Burd's $150 stock minimum sits at the far end of the same logic: it is low precisely because nothing about the order requires anybody to buy anything new.

So the practical sequence is: pick your format last rather than first, ask each manufacturer for its minimum in at least two formats, and ask specifically which part of the number is the fill and which part is the component. Founders who do this routinely find they can launch at a third of the quantity they were quoted, in a pot rather than a stick, with the stick version waiting until volume justifies the tube order. That component logic is the same one that governs low MOQ manufacturers in every category we cover.

Per SKU means per flavor, per shade, and per size

Read the minimums above once more and notice how often the phrase per SKU appears. Metro states around 10,000 units per SKU. Nardo's states 500 units per SKU. That preposition is doing an enormous amount of work in your budget and it is the single most common reason a lip balm launch costs three times what the founder modeled.

A SKU is one finished good. Vanilla in a clear tube is one. Mint in the same tube is another. The same vanilla in a black tube is another again. So a launch lineup of six flavors at a 3,000 unit per SKU jar minimum is not a 3,000 unit order, it is 18,000 units, and the money follows accordingly. Lip gloss makes this sharper still, because shade ranges are the whole point of the category and a four shade launch is four SKUs before you have printed a single label.

There is a real tension here worth stating plainly rather than resolving with a slogan. A single flavor looks thin on a shelf and gives retail buyers nothing to merchandise. Six flavors ties up cash in inventory you have no demand data for, and lip products are seasonal enough that guessing wrong is expensive. The usual resolution is to launch narrow and deep, two or three SKUs at a quantity you can actually sell through, then widen the range on the second purchase order when you know which one moves. Naming and flavor selection is where founders overshoot most, so it is worth taking the time to narrow a long wishlist down to the two or three you can genuinely fund before you request a single quote.

When you send the brief, state your SKU count explicitly and ask whether the minimum applies per SKU or across the order. A few manufacturers will let you hit a total across a family of flavors sharing one base and one component. That single question is often worth more than any discount you could negotiate on unit price.

SPF, MoCRA, and whose name is on the tube

Two regulatory facts decide things on a sourcing page rather than a compliance page, because they change which facilities can make your product and what you personally are on the hook for.

The first is SPF. FDA states that in the United States sunscreens are regulated as drugs, which means they must satisfy the safety and efficacy standards for nonprescription drug products. A lip balm carrying an SPF claim is therefore not simply a cosmetic, and it needs a manufacturer set up for over the counter drug work, with the testing and labeling that implies. You can see the split in the market rather than only in the rulebook: Nardo's Natural lists its USDA Certified Organic lip balms explicitly as having no SPF. If sun protection is part of your product concept, put it in the first line of your brief, because it shrinks the list of eligible facilities considerably and it lengthens your timeline.

The second is MoCRA, which FDA describes as the most significant expansion of its authority to regulate cosmetics since the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act passed in 1938. Under it, manufacturers and processors register their facilities with FDA and renew every two years, and a responsible person lists each marketed cosmetic product with FDA including its ingredients, with annual updates. FDA defines that responsible person as the manufacturer, packer, or distributor of a cosmetic product whose name appears on the label.

Read that definition again with a private label order in mind. Your name is on the tube. In the ordinary private label arrangement you are the responsible person for the product listing, not the factory that filled it, even though the factory handles its own facility registration. Plenty of first time brand owners assume the manufacturer carries all of it because the manufacturer made the thing. Ask directly, in writing, which registration and listing obligations the manufacturer handles and which land on you, and get it into the agreement.

Note also what neither of these creates: FDA does not approve cosmetic products or cosmetic facilities, so a supplier claiming FDA approved cosmetics is describing something that does not exist. FDA registered is a real and checkable status and it is a different thing. We surface certifications and registrations as evidence, and we do not do regulatory classification, customs brokerage, or tariff work. This is the question to put to a qualified consultant early, while it is still cheap to answer. If your range will eventually run past lip care into serums or creams, the same registration questions apply across your whole line, so it is worth asking them of cosmetic contract manufacturers at the same time.

04

At a glance

What seven private label lip balm and lip gloss manufacturers publish on their own websites, September 2026.

Manufacturer Location Published minimum, as stated In standard 0.15 oz tubes Stated lead time Certifications stated
Rain Shadow Labs St Helens, OR 10 gallons stock formula, 25 gallons custom About 8,000 and about 20,000 (modeled) Around 8 to 10 weeks after label and packaging approval FDA registered, ISO certified, GMP compliant facility
Metro Private Label Not stated Around 10,000 units per SKU for a stick, around 3,000 for a jar 10,000 and 3,000 as published Around 10 to 14 working days sampling, about 4 weeks production Not stated
Nardo's Natural Private Label Largo, FL 500 units per SKU for poly bagged and hand applied barcodes 500 as published Not stated USDA Certified Organic lip balms, stated as no SPF
Lady Burd New York, NY As low as $150 for stock items Not convertible without a unit price Not stated Not stated. US manufacturer since 1972
Eco Lips Cedar Rapids, IA Not stated Not stated Not stated Good manufacturing processes stated, palm oil and petroleum free
SBL Comp Germany Just 300 units for the basic private label balm 300 as published 3 to 5 weeks production and shipping GMP certified, FDA and CPNP, meets EU and USA requirements
DLAB Custom Cosmetics Portugal 100 units standard, from 500 units for custom products and packaging 100 and 500 as published 45 to 60 days GMP compliant, EU and US compliant

Every figure above was read from that company's own website in September 2026, not from a directory, and a blank means the company publishes nothing rather than that the answer is no. Four of the seven publish a minimum you can plan against, three publish a lead time, and one publishes a price of any kind. The tube conversion is a worked model, not a quote: it assumes the 0.15 oz (4.25 g) standard tube that Nardo's Natural publishes and a working lip balm density of about 0.9 g/mL, and both should be confirmed with the manufacturer. Confirm all of it directly before you commit, because published minimums and turnarounds change.

05

People also ask

The questions buyers actually search.

What is the minimum order for private label lip balm?

It depends far more on your format than on the factory. Of seven manufacturers checked in September 2026, Metro Private Label states around 10,000 units per SKU for a stick and around 3,000 for a jar, Rain Shadow Labs states 10 gallons for a stock formula (roughly 8,000 standard tubes on a modeled conversion), Nardo's Natural publishes a 500 unit per SKU threshold, and Lady Burd states minimums as low as $150 for stock items.

How much does it cost to make private label lip balm?

Only one of the seven manufacturers checked publishes anything resembling a price, and it is a floor rather than a rate: Lady Burd states minimums as low as $150 for stock items. Cost is driven by your format, whether the formula is stock or custom, the decoration on the tube, your SKU count, and run size. Ask for a quote per unit at two or three quantities so you can see where the curve bends.

How long does it take to manufacture private label lip balm?

Three of seven publish a figure. Rain Shadow Labs states around 8 to 10 weeks after label and packaging approval, Metro Private Label states around 10 to 14 working days for sampling and about 4 weeks for production, and SBL Comp states 3 to 5 weeks including shipping. Note where each clock starts, because approved artwork rather than signed contract is the usual trigger.

Can I get private label lip balm with a low minimum order?

Yes, by changing the format or the component rather than by negotiating. Metro Private Label publishes around 3,000 units for a jar against around 10,000 for a stick, which is the same company and the same formulas, so the tube is what carries the number. Stock tubes from standing inventory also cost less in minimum than custom decorated ones.

Who manufactures lip balm in the USA?

US lip care manufacturing is served by independent private label cosmetic contract manufacturers rather than a few large names. Facilities publishing US private label lip work in September 2026 include Rain Shadow Labs in St Helens, Oregon, Lady Burd in New York, Nardo's Natural in Largo, Florida, and Eco Lips in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Which of them fits depends on format, formula and volume.

Do I need FDA approval to sell lip balm?

No, because FDA does not approve cosmetic products or cosmetic facilities, so a supplier advertising FDA approved lip balm is describing something that does not exist. Under MoCRA, manufacturers register their facilities with FDA and renew every two years, and a responsible person lists each marketed product with its ingredients. FDA defines that responsible person as whoever appears on the label, which in private label is usually you.

Is lip balm with SPF regulated differently?

Yes. FDA states that in the United States sunscreens are regulated as drugs and must satisfy the safety and efficacy standards for nonprescription drug products, so an SPF lip balm needs a manufacturer set up for over the counter drug work rather than cosmetics alone. The market reflects it: Nardo's Natural lists its USDA Certified Organic lip balms as explicitly having no SPF.

What is the difference between private label and custom lip balm?

Private label puts your brand on a formula the manufacturer already owns and has already scaled, so it is faster and the minimum is lower. Custom develops a formula to your specification, which means bench work, stability testing and a larger first run. Rain Shadow Labs publishes both ends of the gap at one facility: 10 gallons for a stock formulation against 25 gallons for a custom one.

06

FAQ

Common questions.

Describe the lip product in plain English, including format, stock or custom formula, flavor or shade count, target quantity and region. The agent searches for cosmetic contract manufacturers that run that combination, verifies each one, and returns a ranked shortlist with published minimums, formats, certifications and lead times, plus the evidence behind every match.

It shows each published minimum in the unit the manufacturer used, so you can quote them back to themselves, and helps you restate your own requirement in both units in the brief. Where a conversion is applied it is labeled as a model with its assumptions shown, because a gallons to tubes figure depends on fill weight and density and is not a quote.

Yes. Set the region in the brief and the shortlist focuses on domestic facilities, which most beauty brands prefer for shorter freight, easier plant visits, simpler compliance, and the ability to support a made in USA claim on the tube where it genuinely applies.

Yes. Doe foot gloss wands, squeeze tubes, jars and pots, tinted balms, lip oils and treatment products are separate filling jobs, and the shortlist filters on the format you name. Say how many shades you plan to launch, because shade count multiplies a per SKU minimum faster than anything else in this category.

No. We do identity verification, registry cross-checks, surfaced certifications and risk flags, with the evidence shown so you can judge it yourself. That is risk reduction, not elimination. Plant audits, sample approval, stability testing and finished product release stay with you, and a human should sign off before production.

A flat monthly fee for the platform in USD, with no commission on what you buy and no margin taken on your orders. You contract with the manufacturer directly and we are never a counterparty on your purchase order. There is no free plan.

07

Related solutions

Explore more of Suppliers.

Cosmetic contract manufacturers

Describe the skin care, makeup, or personal care product you want made, and the AI shortlists cosmetic contract manufacturers with MOQs, lead times, and certifications compared.

Learn more →

Private label skin care manufacturers

Describe the serum, moisturizer, or cleanser you want made, and the AI shortlists private label skin care manufacturers with MOQs, lead times, and certifications compared.

Learn more →

Makeup manufacturers

Describe the color cosmetics line you want to launch, and the AI shortlists private label and custom makeup manufacturers with minimum order quantities, shade options, and lead times compared side by side.

Learn more →

Private label soap manufacturers

Describe the soap you want to sell under your own brand, and the AI shortlists private label soap manufacturers with minimum order quantities, formulas, certifications, and lead times compared side by side.

Learn more →

Private label manufacturers

Describe the product you want to sell under your own brand, and the AI shortlists private label manufacturers and suppliers with minimum order quantities, certifications, and lead times compared side by side.

Learn more →

Low MOQ manufacturers

Describe what you want made and the quantity you can actually commit to, and the AI shortlists low MOQ manufacturers whose minimum order quantities, unit prices, and lead times fit a first run.

Learn more →

Contract manufacturers

Describe the product you need built and the AI shortlists contract manufacturing companies set up for your process, category, and volume, with minimums, lead times, certifications, and quotes compared side by side.

Learn more →

Source your next product

Get a vetted shortlist in minutes.

Describe what you need and get a quote-compared supplier shortlist. Vetted shortlists, quotes compared, no per-deal commission.