suppliers.ai
How it works Features Security Pricing Blog Sign in

WIRE HARNESS ASSEMBLY AND CUSTOM CABLE ASSEMBLY MANUFACTURERS

Wire harness assembly: custom wire harness manufacturers, USA

Describe the harness or cable assembly you need built, and the AI shortlists US wire harness manufacturers with published minimums, lead times, IPC/WHMA-A-620 class and certifications compared, so you know which shop can build to your drawing before you send it.

Try the demo ↓
wire harness assembly custom wire harness wire harness manufacturers cable harness assembly cable harness manufacturers custom cable assemblies cable assembly manufacturers custom wire harness manufacturers ipc whma a 620 wire harness suppliers
Sourcing console
Interactive demo

Parsed spec Searching and cross-checking_
vetted matches
Supplier Unit MOQ Lead Fit

Press Source or pick a category to get a vetted shortlist.

Every shortlist is vetted/ Registry & customs cross-checked/ Certifications surfaced/ Risk flags shown/ No per-deal commission

The short answer

A wire harness manufacturer cuts, strips and terminates wire, fits the connectors and builds the bundle to your drawing, usually under your part number. Reading US harness shops' own sites in September 2026, the minimum order is rarely the obstacle: MiniProto states a true no MOQ policy from 1 to 500 units and Falconer Electronics states it has no minimums. What decides cost and timing is the drawing you send. The IPC/WHMA-A-620 standard makes the buyer responsible for naming the workmanship class, most shops do not state one, and Epec counts its 2 to 7 week production times from the day you approve the production drawings.

Why Suppliers

Buying a custom wire harness looks simple from the outside. You have a machine, a panel or a product, you know where the wires need to go, and you want somebody to build the bundle so your technicians stop making it by hand. Then the first quotes arrive and none of them line up. One shop wants a drawing you do not have. One quotes in two days and another in two weeks. One lists five certifications and another lists a standard revision that was replaced years ago. Nobody puts a price on the website.

This page is built from what US wire harness and cable assembly manufacturers actually publish, read directly from their own sites in September 2026. The pattern is clear once you line it up. Minimum order quantity, the question most buyers lead with, is mostly a non issue. The things that decide your cost and your delivery date are the workmanship class you specify, the date your drawing is approved, and the lead time on the connectors, and on all three the buyer holds more of the answer than the shop does.

Suppliers is the AI sourcing agent for that search. Describe the harness, the quantity for the first run and the repeat, the IPC/WHMA-A-620 class, whether you will supply the connectors or want the shop to buy them, and any certification your market requires. The agent shortlists US wire harness manufacturers that fit, with published terms side by side, then sends one consistent request for quote so the answers come back comparable.

Minimums checked, not assumed

Several US harness shops build from a single unit. The shortlist shows which ones state that in writing and which say nothing, so a prototype run of ten does not go to a shop that only wants production volume.

IPC/WHMA-A-620 class stated on every quote

The standard puts the choice of class on the buyer, and most shop websites never name one. The brief states Class 2 or Class 3 and the current revision up front, so every quote is priced against the same workmanship bar.

The lead time clock, in writing

A first article build and a repeat order are different numbers, and production time often starts at drawing approval, not at the purchase order. The request asks each shop for both figures and for the date its clock starts.

Connectors and terminals flagged early

The part that sets your delivery date is usually a connector, not the crimping. The brief asks each shop to review your bill of materials for long lead and single sourced parts and to propose approved alternates before you commit.

Turnkey or consigned, priced both ways

Some shops buy every component through distributors. Others run consigned inventory, vendor managed stock or Kanban programs. Say which model you want and the shops that cannot run it drop off the list.

Flat price, no commission

A predictable monthly fee in USD with no percentage of your purchase order, so nothing in our model rewards steering you toward a bigger run or a particular harness shop.

How it works

Describe, match, decide.

1

Describe what you need

Type your need in plain English. The agent extracts the structured spec, from quantity and material to target price and destination.

2

AI finds & vets

It matches qualified suppliers, cross-checks registry and customs data, surfaces certifications, and flags risk, then ranks the fits.

3

Compare & decide

Review quotes, MOQs, and lead-times side by side, then run RFQ outreach and POs in one place. You stay in control.

Buyer's guide

What to know before you commit.

Most harness shops will build one, so the minimum is not your problem

Ask a US wire harness manufacturer for its minimum order quantity and a surprising number will say there is not one. MiniProto in Kingston, New York describes a true no MOQ policy covering 1 to 500 units. Falconer Electronics in Falconer, New York writes it in a single line: we also have no minimums. American Precision Assemblers in Hampshire, Illinois lists one offs and prototypes alongside high volume work. Cloom, which runs a US office in Florida, states no minimum order quantity as well.

So the number that stops founders in consumer categories like cosmetics or supplements mostly does not exist here. What replaces it is fixed engineering work that has to happen before the first harness is built, whether you order one or a thousand: reading the drawing, programming the cut and strip equipment, building the layout board and setting up the test fixture.

Only one shop in our reading puts dollars next to any of that. MiniProto says its setup and NRE fees scale with complexity and does not give an amount, but it does publish two useful markers. Its sweet spot is orders of $1,000 to $5,000, and its design service ballpark for a sample harness with 10 connectors, 50 wires and 5 splices is $1,323 to $1,789. Treat those as one shop's published guidance for its own work, not a price list for the category. They are still more than anyone else in the set writes down, and they give you a realistic floor for what it costs to get a first prototype harness built from a sketch rather than a finished drawing.

If the size of the first commitment is what you are working around, the low MOQ manufacturers guide covers the same question across other categories.

The class nobody writes down: IPC/WHMA-A-620 and who has to pick it

IPC/WHMA-A-620 is the workmanship standard for cable and wire harness assemblies, the harness equivalent of IPC-A-610 for circuit boards. The current revision is F, published in October 2025, which replaced E from October 2022. It defines three product classes. Class 1 covers general electronic products, where the main requirement is that the finished assembly works. Class 2 covers dedicated service products, where continued performance and extended life are required but uninterrupted service is not critical. Class 3 covers high performance and harsh environment products, where downtime cannot be tolerated, such as life support systems.

Here is the sentence that matters for a buyer, taken from the standard itself: the user has the ultimate responsibility for identifying the class, and if the user does not establish and document the acceptance class, the manufacturer may do so. The same logic applies to the revision, which is the one specified by the user.

Now compare that with what the shops publish. Nearly every US harness manufacturer we read says it builds to IPC/WHMA-A-620, and almost none says to which class. Kato Cable, Epec, Conwire, Electro-Prep, Casco and American Precision Assemblers all cite the standard without naming a class. Circuit Assembly in Irvine, California is the exception that states it supports Classes 1, 2 and 3, and MJM Industries in Ohio states Class 3. Two shops cite revisions that are out of date: Technical Cable Applications references Revision D, and a Falconer page is written around Revision C.

None of that means the work is poor. It means the website is not where the class gets decided. If your drawing does not name a class and a revision, each shop will quote against its own default, the cheapest quote may be a Class 1 or Class 2 number competing with a Class 3 number, and nobody will have done anything wrong. Put the class and the revision on the drawing and in the request, and the comparison becomes fair.

When the lead time clock starts: the approved drawing, not the purchase order

Harness lead times are published more often than prices, and the useful ones say when the count begins.

Epec Engineered Technologies in New Bedford, Massachusetts publishes the most complete set. Quotes take 24 to 48 hours for a simple assembly, 48 to 72 hours for an overmolded one and 3 to 5 days for a complex harness. Production takes 2 to 4 weeks for a simple assembly, 3 to 6 weeks overmolded and 4 to 7 weeks for a complex harness, counted once the production drawings have been approved by the customer. That last clause is the one to underline. If your drawing goes back and forth three times, the clock has not started yet.

Kato Cable in Mankato, Minnesota publishes both halves of the timeline, which almost nobody does. A first time build, the new product introduction, takes 10 to 12 weeks. Standard production takes 6 to 8 weeks, and a quote takes about 2 weeks. The difference between the two is one time work: the layout board, the first article and the test fixture are built once and reused. Read the long number as setup and the short number as your real repeat lead time.

MiniProto quotes 10 business days from order confirmation, with custom quotes in 24 to 72 hours and an online configurator it says handles about 40 percent of its orders. Cloom states samples in 3 to 4 weeks and mass production in 4 to 5 weeks. Circuit Assembly says simple assemblies or prototypes can often be turned around in a couple of weeks or less, depending on component availability.

So when you compare lead times, ask three questions of every quote. When does your clock start, is this the first article time or the repeat time, and which part is the constraint.

The connector sets your delivery date, and its minimum belongs to somebody else

Crimping, routing and testing take days. The connectors and terminals that go on the ends can take months, and none of the US harness shops we read publishes a connector lead time or a component minimum on its website.

The best public measure is the connector industry backlog, which counts how many weeks of orders manufacturers are holding. TTI and Bishop and Associates reported that backlog at 14.7 weeks in June 2026, up from 12.6 weeks at the end of 2025, with a book to bill of 1.07. The Bishop Report put it at 10.7 weeks in February 2025. That is an order cover measure for the whole industry, not a quoted lead time for your part, but the direction is the point: it has been lengthening for more than a year.

There is a second trap that has nothing to do with the harness shop. Terminals and connector housings are often sold by distributors in bags, reels or package multiples. You can order twenty harnesses and still have to buy far more terminals than you need because that is how the part is packaged, which is the same minimum-belongs-to-somebody-else problem we found on electronics contract manufacturers and PCB assembly services, where a five board run can force a full reel purchase.

The practical fix is in the bill of materials. List every connector, terminal and seal by manufacturer part number, name approved alternates where your design allows them, and ask the shop to flag anything long lead or single sourced before you place the order. Falconer names Delphi, Molex, Panduit and Deutsch among the connector lines it works with, and most shops can suggest an equivalent that is in stock when your first choice is not.

Turnkey or consigned: who buys the parts decides half the quote

In a turnkey build the harness shop buys every component and sells you a finished assembly. MiniProto sources connectors from DigiKey, Mouser or directly from the manufacturer. Cloom states it sources through Arrow, Digi-Key, Mouser and Avnet. You pay for their purchasing time and handling, and in exchange the shortage risk and the leftover terminals are largely theirs.

In a consigned build you supply some or all of the parts. It can be cheaper when you already hold inventory or have pricing from a distributor, and it is how many OEMs protect a scarce connector they have already secured. Electro-Prep in Wareham, Massachusetts offers both turnkey and consignment materials. Technical Cable Applications runs consigned inventory programs alongside vendor managed inventory and just in time stocking. American Precision Assemblers offers consignment with JIT, Kanban and daily delivery.

If you consign, send more than the exact count. Some terminals are always lost to setup and scrap, so agree the allowance in writing before you ship parts, and agree who pays when the shop runs short.

For repeat production the delivery model matters as much as the price. Epec offers Kanban and stocking programs, and APA offers daily delivery, which suits a machine builder that wants harnesses arriving with the rest of the kit rather than sitting in a warehouse.

A US address is not always a US factory

Several shops that present as American build some or all of their work elsewhere, and most of them say so if you read past the home page. Cloom runs its US office in Medley, Florida while its plants are in Shijiazhuang, China and Cavite in the Philippines. Technical Cable Applications in Auburn, Washington works with a partner operation in Mexico. American Precision Assemblers lists Hermosillo alongside Hampshire, Illinois and Duluth. Precision Cable Assemblies in Brookfield, Wisconsin has a plant in Monterrey, Mexico. Epec works from New Bedford, Massachusetts and China.

There is nothing wrong with any of that, and a Mexico plant is often exactly right for a US machine builder on cost and freight. It matters in three situations. Export controlled work: Epec, American Precision Assemblers, Electro-Prep, Salt Lake Cable and Harness and Technical Cable all state ITAR registration, but you need to know which building your part is made in. Country of origin, which affects duties and any made in USA claim you make. And lead time, because an offshore sample of 3 to 4 weeks plus freight is a different schedule from a domestic prototype.

Ask one question to settle it: which facility will build this part number, and will that change between the first article and production. We do not provide tariff or customs classification, so confirm duty treatment with your broker.

What to put in the request so every quote is comparable

Most harness quotes disagree because the requests were vague, not because the shops are. Seven lines fix it.

The drawing, with wire gauge, color, length and tolerance, connector and terminal part numbers, and any splices, labels, sleeving or overmolds. The IPC/WHMA-A-620 class and revision, stated. Two quantities, the first run and the expected repeat, so you can see how much of the quote is one time setup. Turnkey or consigned, and approved alternates for each connector. The test you expect: MiniProto and Technical Cable both state 100 percent electrical or continuity testing, and you should ask for that in writing rather than assume it. The certifications your market requires, whether that is ISO 9001, AS9100 for aerospace, ISO 13485 for medical or IATF 16949 for automotive. And the delivery model, one shipment, Kanban or scheduled releases.

That is exactly the brief Suppliers sends. Describe the harness once, and the agent shortlists matching US wire harness manufacturers, surfaces their published certifications, class and lead time terms, and sends the same request to each so you compare like with like. If the harness is one part of a larger product, the contract manufacturers guide covers shops that build the whole assembly, and regulated medical products are covered on medical device contract manufacturers.

At a glance

What US wire harness and cable assembly manufacturers publish about minimums, lead times, workmanship class and certifications, read from their own sites in September 2026.

Company Location Published minimum, as stated Published lead time and clock start IPC/WHMA-A-620, as stated Certifications stated
MiniProto Kingston, NY True no MOQ, 1 to 500 units 10 business days from order confirmation; custom quotes 24 to 72 hours A-620 workmanship practices, class not stated Not stated
Falconer Electronics Falconer, NY We also have no minimums Not stated IPC-620, class not stated Not stated
Epec Engineered Technologies New Bedford, MA, plus China Not stated Production 2 to 7 weeks, counted from approved production drawings; quotes 24 hours to 5 days Follows A-620, class not stated ISO 9001, UL, ITAR
Kato Cable Mankato, MN Not stated First build 10 to 12 weeks; repeat production 6 to 8 weeks; quote about 2 weeks WHMA-A-620, class not stated ISO 9001:2015, cURus UL
Circuit Assembly Irvine, CA Not stated Simple or prototype often a couple of weeks or less, varies with components Classes 1, 2 and 3 supported ISO 9001:2015, AS9100D, ITAR
American Precision Assemblers Hampshire, IL, plus Hermosillo and Duluth One offs and prototypes through high volume Not stated; JIT, Kanban and daily delivery A-620, class not stated AS9100, ITAR, UL recognized
Technical Cable Applications Auburn, WA, plus a partner in Mexico Not stated Not stated; VMI and JIT stocking Cites Revision D ISO 9001:2015, UL/CSA, ITAR
Electro-Prep Wareham, MA Not stated Not stated A-620, class not stated ISO 9001:2015, UL/CSA, ITAR
MJM Industries Fairport Harbor, OH Prototypes, low to medium volume Not stated Class 3 Not stated
Cloom US office in Medley, FL; plants in China and the Philippines No minimum order quantity Samples 3 to 4 weeks; mass production 4 to 5 weeks; quote within 12 hours Meets A-620, class not stated ISO 9001, IATF 16949, ISO 13485, UL

Figures were read in September 2026 from each company's own website. Not stated means the company publishes nothing on that point, which is itself the finding rather than an omission on our part. MiniProto's dollar markers are that company's published guidance for its own work and are not a quote for your harness. The IPC/WHMA-A-620 class definitions and revision history are from IPC's published table of contents for Revision F. Connector backlog figures elsewhere on this page are from TTI and Bishop and Associates industry reporting and are an order cover measure, not a part lead time. Confirm every figure directly before committing, because lead times, certifications and capacity change.

People also ask

The questions buyers actually search.

How much does a custom wire harness cost?

No US harness shop we read publishes a per unit price, because cost depends on circuit count, connectors, labor time and class. The only published markers come from MiniProto: its typical orders run $1,000 to $5,000, and its design service for a sample harness with 10 connectors, 50 wires and 5 splices is $1,323 to $1,789. Quote two quantities to separate setup from unit cost.

What is the minimum order for a custom wire harness?

Often there is none. MiniProto states a true no MOQ policy from 1 to 500 units, Falconer Electronics states it has no minimums, and American Precision Assemblers builds one offs and prototypes. The real minimums tend to sit with connector and terminal packaging at the distributor, so check your bill of materials before assuming a small run is cheap.

How long does it take to make a custom wire harness?

Anywhere from two to twelve weeks, depending on whether it is a first build. Kato Cable publishes 10 to 12 weeks for a new product and 6 to 8 weeks for repeat production. Epec publishes 2 to 7 weeks counted from drawing approval, and MiniProto quotes 10 business days from order confirmation. Connector availability can extend any of these.

What is IPC/WHMA-A-620 Class 2 vs Class 3?

Class 2 covers dedicated service products where extended life is required but uninterrupted service is not critical, which fits most industrial and commercial equipment. Class 3 covers high performance and harsh environment products where downtime cannot be tolerated, such as life support systems. The standard makes the buyer responsible for choosing the class, so state it on the drawing.

What is the difference between a wire harness and a cable assembly?

A wire harness is a set of individual wires and terminals bundled and routed to several connection points, usually inside a machine or enclosure. A cable assembly groups conductors inside an outer jacket, often overmolded, and is built to survive handling or exposure outside the enclosure. Many shops build both, and IPC/WHMA-A-620 covers both.

Who are the best wire harness manufacturers in the USA?

The best fit depends on volume and market. For prototypes and small runs, MiniProto and Falconer Electronics state no minimums. For published lead times, Epec and Kato Cable are the most transparent. For aerospace and defense, Circuit Assembly and American Precision Assemblers state AS9100 and ITAR. Shortlist by class, certification and lead time, then compare quotes.

What information do wire harness manufacturers need for a quote?

A drawing with wire gauges, colors, lengths and tolerances, the connector and terminal part numbers, the IPC/WHMA-A-620 class and revision, quantities for the first run and repeat orders, whether the build is turnkey or consigned, the test you require and any certifications your market needs. Missing any of these is the usual reason quotes do not match.

Is IPC/WHMA-A-620 the same as IPC-A-610?

No. IPC-A-610 is the acceptability standard for printed circuit board assemblies, while IPC/WHMA-A-620 covers cable and wire harness assemblies: crimps, splices, routing, overmolding and testing. A shop building both boards and harnesses may cite both, and Falconer Electronics lists IPC-620 alongside IPC-610 and J-STD-001.

FAQ

Common questions.

Most will on a turnkey basis. MiniProto sources from DigiKey, Mouser or the connector maker, and Cloom sources through Arrow, Digi-Key, Mouser and Avnet. You can also consign parts you already hold. Ask each shop to review your bill of materials for long lead items before you order.

Yes, many shops run consigned builds. Electro-Prep offers both turnkey and consignment materials, and Technical Cable Applications runs consigned inventory programs. Send extra terminals to cover setup and scrap, and agree the allowance and who pays for shortfalls in writing.

ISO 9001 is the baseline quality system. AS9100 is expected for aerospace, ISO 13485 for medical devices and IATF 16949 for automotive, and ITAR registration is required for export controlled defense work. UL recognition matters when the harness goes into a listed product.

You cannot tell from websites, because none of the shops we read publishes a unit price. Domestic shops often win on prototype speed and control, while offshore and Mexico plants can win on labor cost at volume. Quote the same drawing at the same class with both and compare landed cost, including freight and duty.

Revision F, published in October 2025. It replaced Revision E from October 2022. The revision that applies to your order is the one you specify, so name it on the drawing, especially if a shop cites an older revision on its website.

Describe the harness in plain English: circuits, connectors, class, quantity and certifications. The agent shortlists US wire harness and cable assembly manufacturers that match, shows their published terms side by side and sends one consistent request for quote. A human reviews the shortlist and decides who to order from.

Related solutions

Explore more of Suppliers.

Electronics contract manufacturers

Describe the board or product you need built, and the AI shortlists US electronics contract manufacturers and PCB assembly services with published setup fees, turn times, IPC class and certifications compared, so you can see how much of a quote is one time cost before you commit.

Learn more →

Contract manufacturers

Describe the product you need built and the AI shortlists contract manufacturing companies set up for your process, category, and volume, with minimums, lead times, certifications, and quotes compared side by side.

Learn more →

Medical device contract manufacturers

Describe the device you need built, and the AI shortlists medical device contract manufacturers with ISO 13485 status, process capabilities, minimums, and lead times compared side by side.

Learn more →

Metal fabricators

Describe the metal part or assembly you need built and the AI shortlists metal fabricators with material, thickness range, tolerances, finishing, certifications, lead times, and quotes compared side by side.

Learn more →

CNC machining companies

Describe the part you need machined, and the AI shortlists CNC machining companies and precision machine shops with their certifications, tolerance capability, quantities, and lead times compared side by side.

Learn more →

Low MOQ manufacturers

Describe what you want made and the quantity you can actually commit to, and the AI shortlists low MOQ manufacturers whose minimum order quantities, unit prices, and lead times fit a first run.

Learn more →

US manufacturers directory

Describe what you need made in the United States, and the AI returns a shortlist of American manufacturers and US suppliers with capabilities, minimum order quantities, lead times, and quotes compared side by side.

Learn more →

Source your next product

Get a vetted shortlist in minutes.

Describe what you need and get a quote-compared supplier shortlist. Vetted shortlists, quotes compared, no per-deal commission.