suppliers.ai
How it works Features Security Pricing Blog Sign in

ALUMINUM AND ZINC DIE CASTING MANUFACTURERS

Aluminum die casting manufacturers and zinc die casting, USA

Describe the cast part you need, and the AI shortlists US aluminum and zinc die casting manufacturers with published minimums, tooling prices, lead times and certifications compared, so you know which caster fits your drawing and volume before you send it.

Try the demo ↓
aluminum die casting manufacturer die casting companies die casting manufacturers aluminum die casting suppliers zinc die casting aluminum die casting company die casting services zamak die casting low volume die casting custom die casting
Sourcing console
Interactive demo

Parsed spec Searching and cross-checking_
vetted matches
Supplier Unit MOQ Lead Fit

Press Source or pick a category to get a vetted shortlist.

Every shortlist is vetted/ Registry & customs cross-checked/ Certifications surfaced/ Risk flags shown/ No per-deal commission

The short answer

Aluminum die casting manufacturers inject molten aluminum (usually A380) or zinc (Zamak 3 or 5) into a hardened steel die to make near net shape metal parts at volume. Reading 20 US die casters' and casting services' own sites in September 2026, only one caster publishes a tooling price, Lakeshore Die Cast at $15,000 to $150,000 for its size range, and only Lakeshore and Xometry publish a new tool lead time with a clear start. The die is the real gate, and zinc dies run roughly ten times longer than aluminum ones.

Why Suppliers

Sourcing a die cast part usually starts once machining gets too expensive. You have a housing, a bracket or a heat sink that costs $40 each to machine from billet, you need a few thousand a year, and someone has told you die casting would bring it under $5. Then the quotes come back and the first line is a tool you have to pay for before a single part ships, and nobody told you what it would cost.

This page is built from what US aluminum and zinc die casting manufacturers actually publish, read directly from 20 casters' and casting services' own websites and terms of sale in September 2026, plus the NADCA Product Specification Standards for Die Castings. The pattern is the one we keep finding in tooling heavy categories. The minimum order is rarely the gate. The die is, and two decisions that sit on the buyer's drawing, the tolerance level and the porosity limits, change what that die and every part from it costs.

Suppliers is the AI sourcing agent for that search. Describe the part, the alloy, the annual volume, the tolerances that matter, any pressure tightness or finish requirement, and whether it must be cast in the US. The agent shortlists die casting manufacturers that fit, shows their published terms side by side with vetting evidence, and sends one consistent request for quote so the answers come back comparable.

Tooling cost asked up front

Only one US caster we read publishes a tooling range. The brief asks every caster for the die price as its own line, whether it is billed up front or in stages, and what the part price is at two volumes.

Matched to your annual volume

Kinetic states a minimum of 100 parts a year, Apex quotes 1 piece to 100,000, Xometry sets 500 or 1,000 piece minimums, and the automotive casters want far more. The shortlist starts from your volume, not theirs.

Aluminum or zinc, decided on evidence

Casters publish zinc die life of 400,000 to over 1,000,000 shots against 50,000 to 400,000 for aluminum. For small parts the alloy choice can decide how many dies you buy over the product life.

Tool ownership in writing

Pace transfers die ownership only on payment in full, and RCM, Lakeshore and Xometry state the customer owns the tool. The agent flags each caster's published terms so you can move your die later.

Real casting location

A Michigan office can front parts cast by partner plants overseas, and some US casters build their dies abroad. Each match shows where the part and the tool would actually be made.

Flat price, no commission

Suppliers charges a flat monthly fee in USD and takes no cut of your order. You contract with the die caster directly, and the tool and the relationship stay yours.

How it works

Describe, match, decide.

1

Describe what you need

Type your need in plain English. The agent extracts the structured spec, from quantity and material to target price and destination.

2

AI finds & vets

It matches qualified suppliers, cross-checks registry and customs data, surfaces certifications, and flags risk, then ranks the fits.

3

Compare & decide

Review quotes, MOQs, and lead-times side by side, then run RFQ outreach and POs in one place. You stay in control.

Buyer's guide

What to know before you commit.

The minimum is not the gate. The die is.

Ask a US die caster for its minimum order and you will usually get no answer on the website. Of the 20 we read, only three job shops publish a quantity floor or range. Kinetic Die Casting in North Hollywood states a minimum annual quantity of 100 to 500 parts and says it will produce as few as 100. Apex Aluminum Die Casting in Piqua, Ohio says it can meet short run needs of 1 piece up to 100,000 a year. Lakeshore Die Cast in Baroda, Michigan says from 10 pieces to 3,000,000. On the service side, Xometry publishes a hard minimum of 500 pieces for its Economy option and 1,000 for Domestic, and recommends die casting only above 1,000; Fictiv says no minimum order quantity.

What actually gates a first order is the die, a hardened steel tool you pay for whether you run 1,000 parts or 100,000. Only one US caster puts a number on it: Lakeshore states tooling prices run anywhere from $15,000 to $150,000 for its size range, depending on the size and complexity of the part. Dynacast publishes an article titled "How Much Does a Die Cast Tool Cost?" that contains no dollar figure. The rest publish nothing.

That is the same inverted gate we found on plastic injection molding companies and rubber molding companies: the minimum is small or absent and the tool is the real barrier. The practical move is the same too. Ask every caster to quote the die as a separate line and the part price at two annual volumes. The gap tells you how much of your per part number is tooling amortization, and whether die casting beats CNC machining at your volume at all.

Zinc dies last about ten times longer than aluminum ones

The alloy decides more than the part's weight and strength. It decides how many dies you will buy. Casters' own published figures line up closely. Pace Industries states aluminum die casting tools last between 50,000 and 400,000 shots depending on the application and class of the tool, and zinc tools typically last between 400,000 and 700,000 shots. Dynacast states zinc can get a million plus shots off the die blocks, against about 150,000 for aluminum depending on requirements. Deco Products in Decorah, Iowa, which casts only zinc, gives the cleanest comparison: a zinc tool may run 1,000,000 shots before the mold is worn beyond repair, while an aluminum tool for the same part may only last 100,000.

The reason is heat. Zinc is cast at a much lower temperature, usually in hot chamber machines, so the die sees far less thermal shock. NADCA's standards put it plainly: aluminum dies wear out due to the aggressive nature and high melting temperatures of the material, and the life of any die can be unpredictable, which is why NADCA itself declines to give a generic shot count.

For a buyer, the arithmetic is simple. At 20,000 parts a year, an aluminum die at the low end of Pace's range needs replacing in about two and a half years; a zinc die at Deco's figure could outlast the product. Zinc is heavier and costs more per pound, so it wins on small, detailed parts (connectors, hardware, locks, housings under a pound) and loses on large, weight sensitive ones. Dynacast states that on an ideal part, one that is small, high volume and castable in zinc, the tool is paid back in full in roughly 10 to 14 months of production.

Who owns the die, and when

In die casting the published answer is more consistent than in most categories, and it favors the buyer, with one condition. NADCA's commercial practices say that generally the purchaser retains ownership of the die even though it stays with the caster, the caster is responsible for normal maintenance as caretaker, and the customer as owner pays for replacement. Casters that publish terms agree. RCM Industries' terms of sale say the buyer owns the tooling if it is so designated in the contract or if the buyer paid for it. Lakeshore tells customers they own the tool even though they will never see it. Xometry says you own your tooling and can re-order as needed.

The condition is payment. Pace Industries' seller terms say ownership of tooling Pace procures for a customer transfers only upon payment in full, and they publish the schedule: one third when Pace receives the tooling purchase order, one third when the tool is delivered, and one third at the earlier of product testing, acceptance of sample parts, or start of production. NADCA describes the same pattern, an advance for the die with the balance on approval of a sample, and a 30 day window for approving parts if nothing else is agreed.

Two more details are worth writing into your purchase order. NADCA notes that on rapid tooling the mold base is often owned by the caster while the part inserts are owned by the customer, so moving a rapid tool means moving inserts, not a complete die. And the customer is normally notified at half life that a replacement is needed, which is the moment to budget for the second die rather than discover it.

Tolerances and porosity are the buyer's call

Two lines on your drawing change the price of every part, and the standard puts both on you. NADCA's Product Specification Standards (2015 edition) define Standard tolerances as values consistent with high cycle speeds, uninterrupted production and reasonable die life, and say conformity to them assures the most predictable service and lowest cost. For a linear dimension in the same die half that is plus or minus 0.010 in. for the first inch, plus 0.001 in. per additional inch. Precision tolerances, plus or minus 0.002 in. for the first inch, require extra precision in die construction or special process controls, and NADCA advises they be specified only where necessary. If your drawing carries a title block tolerance of plus or minus 0.005 in. everywhere, you have asked for precision casting on every feature, often without meaning to.

Porosity works the same way. NADCA says zero porosity is virtually impossible in a die casting, so the size, nature and location of permissible porosity should be identified by the customer, with the agreement of the caster, and part prints should call out where only the lowest levels can be tolerated. It warns against limits more stringent than the application needs, because special porosity detection adds cost, and it lists pressure tightness as a special requirement to agree in advance. Machining matters here: NADCA puts the dense skin at about 0.015 to 0.020 in., and cutting deeper raises the chance of exposing porosity underneath.

The fix belongs in the RFQ. State which features need precision tolerances, mark the porosity zones, say whether the part must be pressure tight and how it will be tested, and ask whether X-ray or sectioning will be used for acceptance. Casters such as Le Sueur (X-ray, leak test, squeeze pins for pressure tightness) are set up for it, but they price it only when you ask.

When the clock starts

Only two sources we read publish a new tool lead time with a clear starting point. Lakeshore states typical lead times from submission of the final model, through tool building and production, of 6 to 14 weeks, depending on complexity and size, and says that if you send a complete tool ready to run it can have parts in two business days. Xometry states part samples arrive 12 to 18 weeks after the order is placed, with additional time to complete production once you approve the samples. Rapid Axis gives a tooling range of as little as two weeks or as long as twenty depending on tool material and shots required, with no start point. Fictiv advertises T1 samples as fast as 10 days, again without saying from when.

Other published times describe running parts, not new tools. Kinetic says production on aluminum parts typically begins in less than two weeks and orders of 5,000 parts or less ship in under four weeks. Deco says standard lead times can be as low as two weeks for a raw zinc casting. Those are real numbers for a repeat order on an existing die. They are not the number for your first order.

And there is a gate between the two that you control. NADCA says the customer must acknowledge part acceptance by formal letter before production is run, and that who inspects the first samples should be decided when the purchase order is issued. Le Sueur adds that overseas tooling can mean an additional 5 to 6 weeks. So ask every caster the same three questions: when does the tooling clock start, how long do you allow for sample approval, and where is the die built.

A US address is not always a US casting

Several casters with US addresses build tools abroad, and at least one builds parts abroad. TFG USA describes itself as a custom outsource manufacturing provider in Southfield, Michigan working through partner facilities, and writes about its 36 years of experience with manufacturing facilities in China. Le Sueur in Minnesota states overseas tooling adds 5 to 6 weeks. Chicago White Metal in Bensenville, Illinois says it has reduced die cast tooling costs by leveraging both offshore and domestic partners. Pace operates plants across the US and Mexico, including Saltillo and Chihuahua, and Dynacast runs US plants in Wisconsin, California and Illinois alongside plants in Mexico, Canada, Europe and Asia.

None of that is a problem in itself, and an offshore tool can cut cost meaningfully. But it matters for three things: a made in USA claim on your product, duty on a part cast outside the US, and schedule, since a tool built overseas has to ship before sampling starts. Casters that publish a domestic stance are easy to find: American Die Casting in Fontana, California states all raw materials are produced and purchased in the US, Kinetic ships a certificate of US manufacture with every order, and Deco and Apex describe themselves as made in the USA. We do not do tariff classification, so involve your customs broker if the part will be cast abroad.

What to send a die caster, and how to prototype first

A die casting RFQ that gets comparable answers includes: the 3D model and a drawing with precision tolerances called out only where needed; the alloy (A380 is the default for aluminum, Zamak 3 or 5 for zinc) or the properties you need; annual volume and first order quantity; porosity zones and any pressure tightness test; secondary operations such as machining, impregnation, powder coat, anodize or chromate; and whether it must be cast in the US. Ask for the die price, the payment schedule, the die life it is built for, and the part price at two volumes.

If the design is not frozen, do not buy a production die yet. Casters publish several bridges. RCM offers high pressure die casting in soft tooling equivalent to production parts, plus sand, plaster and machined prototypes. Chicago White Metal says a prototype die is a non issue when you only need 1,000 parts or fewer, and that sand casting suits volumes up to 2,500. Kinetic says its prototype insert, made of a lower grade, non heat treated steel, will make a few thousand parts. Dynacast puts spin cast prototypes at roughly 1 to 3 weeks and investment cast prototypes at 5 days to 4 weeks. Deco, which casts only zinc, recommends machined bar stock, sand, spin or investment casting for prototypes.

Once you have a shortlist, our RFQ tool sends one brief to every caster and lines the answers up, and if your part could also be stamped or fabricated, our comparison of metal fabricators covers the sheet metal side of the same decision.

At a glance

What US die casting manufacturers publish, September 2026

Company Location Alloys and machines, as stated Minimum or volume, as stated Tooling price and lead time, as stated Certifications stated
Lakeshore Die Cast Baroda, MI Aluminum 360, 380, 413; zinc 3, 5, ZA 8; 450 to 1,000 tons From 10 pieces to 3,000,000 Tooling $15,000 to $150,000; 6 to 14 weeks from final model Not stated
Kinetic Die Casting North Hollywood, CA Aluminum A380, A383, A360, A413; zinc 3, 5, ZA27; up to 400 tons Minimum annual 100 to 500 parts Running parts under 2 weeks; new tool not stated ISO 9001 and AS9100 compliant (older revisions), ITAR compliant
Apex Aluminum Die Casting Piqua, OH Aluminum and zinc; 14 machines 1 piece up to 100,000 a year Not stated; accepts transferred tooling Not stated
Deco Products Decorah, IA Zinc only (Zamak 2, 3, 5, 7, ZA-8); 14 to 500 ton hot chamber Not stated Raw castings from 2 weeks on existing dies; zinc die up to 1,000,000 shots ISO 9001
Pace Industries Novi, MI HQ; plants in US and Mexico Aluminum, zinc, magnesium; aluminum 400 to 3,000 tons Not stated Tool paid in thirds; ownership on payment in full ISO 9001, IATF 16949, ITAR registered
Dynacast Germantown WI, Lake Forest CA, Elgin IL, plus global Zinc, aluminum, magnesium; multi-slide Not stated No tool price; tool payback 10 to 14 months on an ideal zinc part IATF 16949, ISO 9001 (per site)
RCM Industries Four plants in IL, NC, SC Aluminum; 600 to 2,000 tons Not stated Not stated; buyer owns tooling it paid for IATF 16949
PHB Inc. Fairview, PA Aluminum 250 to 2,000 tons; zinc hot chamber 100 to 800 tons Low and high volume Not stated ISO 9001, IATF 16949, ITAR registered
Le Sueur Inc. Le Sueur, MN Aluminum 360, 380, 390, 413; 250 to 1,600 tons Higher volume applications Overseas tooling adds 5 to 6 weeks ISO 9001, ISO 14001, ITAR
Chicago White Metal Bensenville, IL Aluminum A380, zinc 3 and ZA8, magnesium AZ91D Prototype dies for 1,000 parts or fewer Not stated; offshore and domestic tool partners ISO 9001, IATF 16949
American Die Casting Fontana, CA Aluminum, zinc, brass; 385 to 1,800 tons Not stated Not stated ISO 9001, ITAR registered
Xometry (network) Domestic and Economy suppliers Aluminum, zinc, magnesium; hot and cold chamber 500 pieces Economy; 1,000 Domestic Samples 12 to 18 weeks from order; you own the tooling Network: ISO 9001, ISO 13485, IATF 16949, AS9100D, ITAR

Read from each company's own website and published terms in September 2026. "Not stated" means we did not find it on the pages we read. Kinetic's pages cite superseded standard revisions and may be older. Confirm every figure with the caster before you rely on it. Suppliers has no commercial relationship with any company listed.

People also ask

The questions buyers actually search.

How much does a die casting mold cost?

Lakeshore Die Cast is the only US caster we found that publishes a figure: tooling from $15,000 to $150,000 for its size range, depending on part size and complexity. Other casters publish no price. Multi slide, multi cavity and precision tolerance dies cost more, so ask every caster to quote the die as its own line.

What is the minimum order for die casting?

Most casters do not publish one. Kinetic states a minimum annual quantity of 100 to 500 parts, Apex says 1 piece up to 100,000 a year, and Lakeshore says from 10 pieces. Xometry sets 500 pieces for Economy and 1,000 for Domestic. The die cost, not the minimum, usually decides whether small volumes make sense.

Is zinc or aluminum die casting cheaper?

For small, detailed parts zinc is often cheaper over the product life, because its dies last far longer: Deco cites about 1,000,000 shots for zinc against 100,000 for aluminum on the same part. Aluminum wins on larger, weight sensitive parts, since zinc is denser and costs more per pound.

How long does die casting tooling take?

Lakeshore publishes 6 to 14 weeks from submission of the final model through tool building and production, and Xometry publishes samples 12 to 18 weeks after the order. Sample approval adds time, and overseas tooling can add 5 to 6 weeks, according to Le Sueur. Ask when each caster starts the clock.

Who owns the die casting die?

Generally the customer who paid for it, even though the die stays at the caster, which NADCA describes as standard practice. RCM, Lakeshore and Xometry say so in their terms. Pace transfers ownership only on payment in full, billed in thirds. Put ownership and your right to move the die in the purchase order.

How many shots does a die casting die last?

Casters publish 50,000 to 400,000 shots for aluminum (Pace) and 400,000 to over 1,000,000 for zinc (Pace, Dynacast, Deco). NADCA says die life can be unpredictable and gives no generic figure. Ask what shot life the quoted die is built for, and plan for replacement, which NADCA says is normally flagged at half life.

When is die casting cheaper than CNC machining?

Once volume spreads the die cost thin enough. Eastern Alloys suggests die casting for runs of at least 10,000 pieces, and Xometry recommends it above 1,000. Quote the part both ways at your annual volume, including the die, and compare total cost over the die life.

Can I get die cast prototypes before buying a production die?

Yes. Casters publish several routes: soft tooling and sand or plaster castings (RCM), prototype dies for 1,000 parts or fewer (Chicago White Metal), lower grade prototype inserts good for a few thousand parts (Kinetic), and spin or investment cast prototypes in days to weeks (Dynacast).

FAQ

Common questions.

A380 is the default for most aluminum die castings and is offered by nearly every caster we read. A360 and A413 are used where pressure tightness or corrosion resistance matters. For zinc, Zamak 3 and Zamak 5 are the common choices.

Under NADCA Standard tolerances, plus or minus 0.010 in. for the first inch plus 0.001 in. per additional inch. Precision tolerances start at plus or minus 0.002 in. for the first inch and cost more, so call them out only on features that need them.

Many do. Apex, Le Sueur, PHB, American Die Casting and A&B list in house CNC machining, and finishes such as powder coat, anodize, chromate, plating and impregnation are widely offered, sometimes through local partners. Ask which operations are in house.

You cannot tell from websites, because almost no US caster publishes a part price. Offshore tooling can cost less, which is why some US casters use offshore tool partners. Quote the same drawing both ways and compare landed cost, lead time and die ownership.

No. Suppliers verifies identity, cross-checks registries, surfaces certifications and flags risks. It reduces risk; it does not replace first article inspection, porosity testing or your own approval of samples.

Describe the part in plain English: alloy, volume, tolerances, porosity and finish needs, and where it must be cast. The agent shortlists US die casters that match, shows published terms side by side and sends one consistent request for quote. You review and decide.

Related solutions

Explore more of Suppliers.

CNC machining companies

Describe the part you need machined, and the AI shortlists CNC machining companies and precision machine shops with their certifications, tolerance capability, quantities, and lead times compared side by side.

Learn more →

Metal fabricators

Describe the metal part or assembly you need built and the AI shortlists metal fabricators with material, thickness range, tolerances, finishing, certifications, lead times, and quotes compared side by side.

Learn more →

Plastic injection molding companies

Describe the plastic part you need produced and the AI shortlists plastic injection molding companies with tooling cost, mold class, cavitation, lead times, and per-part quotes compared side by side.

Learn more →

Rubber molding companies

Describe the molded rubber or silicone part you need, and the AI shortlists US rubber molding companies with published tooling prices, lead times, tolerance classes and certifications compared, so you know which molder fits your drawing before you send it.

Learn more →

Electronics contract manufacturers

Describe the board or product you need built, and the AI shortlists US electronics contract manufacturers and PCB assembly services with published setup fees, turn times, IPC class and certifications compared, so you can see how much of a quote is one time cost before you commit.

Learn more →

Contract manufacturers

Describe the product you need built and the AI shortlists contract manufacturing companies set up for your process, category, and volume, with minimums, lead times, certifications, and quotes compared side by side.

Learn more →

RFQ software

RFQ software that builds your supplier shortlist, sends requests, and compares quotes side by side.

Learn more →

US manufacturers directory

Describe what you need made in the United States, and the AI returns a shortlist of American manufacturers and US suppliers with capabilities, minimum order quantities, lead times, and quotes compared side by side.

Learn more →

Source your next product

Get a vetted shortlist in minutes.

Describe what you need and get a quote-compared supplier shortlist. Vetted shortlists, quotes compared, no per-deal commission.