The short answer: the best private label tea manufacturer is the one whose format and packaging minimum fit your first order. For the smallest start on loose leaf, Tiesta Tea, which sells any of its blends in 25 lb bags for your label. For your own recipe at low volume, Davidson's Organics, which custom blends from 100 lb. For pyramid sachets, The Tea Spot in Colorado, from 12,000 sachets per SKU. For a launch on labels rather than printed boxes, Elmwood Inn Fine Teas in Kentucky, from 24 foil labels or a 1,000 label run. For a grocery program, Harris Tea Company, which runs two BRCGS certified plants in the US.
We read the private label and co-packing pages of US tea blenders and packers on their own websites in October 2026 and kept the six that publish enough to judge. For each we recorded what it makes for you, the minimum and the unit it is counted in, any packaging fee, and the lead time. Where a company publishes nothing, we say so. For the rules behind the numbers (why the printer sets the real minimum, how pounds convert to cups and tea bags, and why plain tea is exempt from the Nutrition Facts panel), start with our guide to private label tea manufacturers.
Private label tea manufacturers compared
| Company | Formats | Published minimum | Packaging or fees, as stated | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tiesta Tea | Bulk loose leaf blends | 25 lb increments | Not stated | The smallest loose leaf start |
| Davidson's Organics | Custom blends, tea bags, pyramids, iced tea | 100 lb custom blend | Printing from 50,000 overwraps and 3,000 boxes | Your own organic recipe |
| The Tea Spot, Broomfield, CO | Pyramid sachets, bulk loose leaf | 12,000 sachets per SKU | Not stated | Whole leaf sachets |
| Elmwood Inn Fine Teas, Danville, KY | Labeled loose tea and sachets | 24 foil labels or 1,000 printed | $300 minimum print fee | A launch on labels |
| Harris Tea Company, GA and NJ | Every tea bag style | Not stated | Not stated | Grocery and retail programs |
| Caraway Tea Company | Loose leaf, pyramids, filter bags, iced tea | "Low", no figure | Not stated | Mixed formats in one packer |
Figures are as each company published them in October 2026. Confirm every figure in writing before you place an order.
Tiesta Tea, the smallest loose leaf start
Tiesta Tea has the lowest tea minimum we found and the simplest program. Every one of its 30 plus blends is available for private label "in 25 lbs. increments," and the page adds "no questions asked." The blends are described as non-GMO, with green, black, oolong and fruit and herbal blends sourced from several countries.
What you get is bulk tea, not a finished retail package. The page does not mention packing into pouches or tins, so plan to pack and label it yourself or hire a separate co-packer. A 25 lb bag is roughly 11 kg, which at 2 oz per pouch is about 200 pouches, a sensible first run for a cafe or a small online shop. Ask for current bulk pricing, the shelf life of each blend, and whether a lot or origin certificate comes with the bag.
Davidson's Organics, best for your own organic recipe
Davidson's has the most complete private label page we read, and the most honest one about cost. It will "custom blend as little as 100 lbs as minimum, subject to review of ingredients, volume, and machine capability," on 3 blending machines with over 300 in-house flavors. It co-packs in the US and India and advises on organic, fair trade and kosher certification.
The useful part is the packaging warning. Davidson's says printers start "at 50,000 overwraps and 3000 boxes, translating to a start-up financial investment of $2000 to $10,000 appx. for your packaging materials," with printer timelines of 4 to 6 weeks, and that it can supply generic packaging case by case to reduce that outlay. Its formats cover tea bags without string for bulk counts, bags with string, tag and overwrap, filter brew bags from 5 grams to 6 ounces for iced tea, and loose packs from 100 grams to 5 lb. Best for a brand that wants its own blend and certified organic tea, and is ready to fund printed packaging on a later order.
The Tea Spot, best for whole leaf pyramid sachets
The Tea Spot in Broomfield, Colorado runs pyramid sachets on an automated line, "naked or individually overwrapped," and states its minimums: "Sachet programs start at 12,000 units per SKU," and bulk loose leaf at "250 lb minimum per blend." You can put its catalog teas under your brand or have it develop a custom blend.
Read its ingredient rules before you design a recipe. Liquid flavorings are capped at 8% of the blend by weight and powders such as turmeric and matcha at 1%, and it excludes tree nuts, coconut, cayenne, coffee and gluten containing ingredients. Sachets are whole leaf and herbal only. It co-packs sachets into your finished retail packaging but does not pack loose leaf into tins or pouches. The facility is organic and kosher, and the company is a certified B Corp. Pricing and lead time are discussed on an intro call.
Elmwood Inn Fine Teas, best for a launch on labels
Elmwood Inn in Danville, Kentucky is the only company we read that publishes a full price ladder for putting your name on its tea. The lightest option is a gold foil label with your blend name over the existing name: "$0.25 per label is added to the cost and we require a minimum order of 24 labels of the same name." You can also buy unlabeled cases and "deduct $.20 per unit" from the wholesale price.
The full private label tier uses your three panel label from its template. "Our label supplier requires a minimum run of 1000 labels. The print fee is $300 minimum," each unit costs $0.20 less than wholesale, and every order has a four case minimum. Labels take about 2 to 3 weeks to print, and the first tea order ships within a week after they arrive. Pouches hold loose tea by the pound or 3.5 oz, or 15 to 200 pyramid sachets. Best for a shop, museum or cafe that wants a branded tea quickly without paying for printed boxes.
Harris Tea Company, best for grocery and retail programs
Harris Tea calls itself "the largest private label tea packer in the US," with "over 40 years of experience" and "two BRCGS-GFSI certified manufacturing facilities in the USA," in Georgia and New Jersey. It packs every style of tea bag, from square and round to flow through and pyramid formats, and offers national brand equivalent blends for retailers that want a store brand next to a name brand.
It publishes no minimum, price or lead time on its private label page. That silence plus GFSI certified plants usually means a program sized for grocery chains and distributors, not a first run of a few hundred boxes. If you already have a retail buyer asking for a GFSI certificate, Harris belongs on the shortlist. If you are still proving the blend, start smaller.
Caraway Tea Company, best for mixed formats in one packer
Caraway Tea offers loose leaf, pyramid sachets, filter bags, portion iced tea and bulk packs, with packaging from stand up pouches to tea boxes. It says products go through GMP and HACCP practices, offers organic, kosher and non-GMO certifications, and shows an SQF supplement certified heading. It advertises "Wholesale Tea, Low Minimum Order" but publishes no number, so ask for the minimum per format in your first message. Best for a brand that wants loose leaf and sachets of the same blend from one packer.
How to choose between them
Pick the format first, then the company. Loose leaf in your own pouch points to Tiesta, Davidson's or Elmwood. Pyramid sachets point to The Tea Spot, Davidson's or Caraway. Printed tea bags in a retail box point to Davidson's or Harris, and that is where the packaging minimum, not the tea, decides your budget. A first run on labels is the cheapest way to learn which blend sells before you commit to 50,000 overwraps.
Two quick checks save the most time. Ask every company for the price at two quantities, which shows how much of the first order is one-time setup. And plan the sales side before the tea lands: a new tea brand selling online lives on search traffic, so it helps to write SEO articles about each blend and brewing ritual while the first run is being packed, rather than after the boxes are in your garage.
What to send for a real quote
Send the route (catalog blend or your recipe), the format and net weight per package, the number of SKUs, quantities at two levels, whether you supply printed packaging, your organic, kosher or fair trade needs, and the date the tea must arrive. Ask for the tea minimum and the packaging minimum separately, any print or setup fee, the case size, ingredient limits, the sample policy and what starts the lead time.
Suppliers turns that brief into a shortlist of US tea packers with their published terms side by side, sends one RFQ to the ones you choose and keeps the replies in one place. For a coffee line next to the tea, see our guide to private label coffee manufacturers, and for ready to drink iced tea in cans or bottles, the beverage co-packers guide.
Frequently asked questions
Which private label tea manufacturer has the lowest minimum?
Tiesta Tea publishes the lowest tea minimum we found: any of its blends in 25 lb increments for your label. For labeling alone, Elmwood Inn Fine Teas puts a foil label with your blend name on its loose tea from 24 labels, at $0.25 per label.
How much does private label tea packaging cost?
From a few hundred dollars for labels to about $2,000 to $10,000 for printed tea bag packaging. Elmwood Inn charges a $300 minimum print fee for 1,000 labels. Davidson's says printers start at 50,000 overwraps and 3,000 boxes, about $2,000 to $10,000 for packaging materials.
Which tea companies will make my own blend?
Davidson's Organics custom blends from 100 lb, and The Tea Spot develops custom blends for sachets or 250 lb bulk runs within its ingredient limits. Caraway Tea also offers recipe formulation, without a published minimum.
Who packs private label tea bags in the USA?
Harris Tea Company packs every tea bag style in two BRCGS certified plants in Georgia and New Jersey, mostly for retail programs. Davidson's packs tea bags with or without string, tag and overwrap, and Caraway Tea runs filter bags and pyramids.
How long does a private label tea order take?
About three to seven weeks, set mostly by printing. Elmwood Inn prints labels in 2 to 3 weeks and ships the first order within a week after. Davidson's puts printer timelines for overwraps and boxes at 4 to 6 weeks.
Suppliers · Get started
Put this into practice with an AI sourcing agent
Describe what you need to make or buy in plain English, and the AI finds, vets, and shortlists qualified manufacturers, with quotes, MOQs, and lead-times compared side by side, then helps you run RFQs and POs in one place. Flat price, no per-deal commission.