suppliers.ai
How it works Features Security Pricing Blog Sign in
All articles

Comparisons

Best Private Label Protein Bar Manufacturers in the USA

Eight US protein bar co packers compared on what each one actually publishes. Three of the eight state a minimum, one states a lead time and one states a price, so the useful comparison is not who is cheapest but who will tell you anything before the first call.

By the Suppliers team · September 2026 · 9 min read

Sourcing console
Interactive demo

Parsed spec Searching and cross-checking_
vetted matches
Supplier Unit MOQ Lead Fit

Press Source or pick a category to get a vetted shortlist.

The short answer: Curio Sweets in Houston is the best starting point for a first protein bar run, because it publishes the lowest minimum in the category and converts it for you: 100 pounds per SKU, which it states is 800 protein bars at 2 oz each. ChipMonk Baking, also in Houston, is the pick if your label carries a gluten free claim, at 5,000 units in a dedicated gluten free facility. YouBar in Los Angeles is the most transparent manufacturer in US bar co packing and the right call once you are ready for volume, at 10,000 servings with a published price band of 30 cents to $2 a bar. Coastal Collaborative, Claremont Foods, Bridgetown Natural Foods, Silverland Bakery and Northwest Expressions all make bars and none of them publishes a minimum at all, which is the real story of this category.

This comparison was built by reading each company's own website and its own self written entry in the Specialty Food Co-Packers directory in September 2026. Where a company publishes nothing, that is recorded as not stated rather than estimated. The full buyer's guide behind these figures, including the USDA and FDA fork that decides which plants can even bid on your product, sits on our snack manufacturers and private label snack co packers page.

Eight US bar co packers, compared on what they publish

ManufacturerLocationPublished minimumWhat else is publishedBest for
Curio SweetsHouston, TX100 pounds per SKU, stated as 800 bars at 2 ozDevelopment projects approximately 2 to 4 months; cGMP compliant, FDA registeredThe smallest published first run
ChipMonk BakingHouston, TX5,000 unitsDedicated gluten free facility, GMP certified, flow wrapper and continuous band sealer with modified atmosphere packagingGluten free, keto and low sugar claims
YouBarLos Angeles, CA10,000 servings, higher for baked goods4 to 6 weeks production excluding R and D; 6 to 12 months idea to market; 30 cents to $2 per barVolume, and the clearest numbers in the category
Coastal Collaborative & Co PackVista, CANot statedHACCP and GMP, organic and kosher certified, chocolate enrobing, extruded products, flow wrappingEnrobed and extruded bars needing kosher or organic
Claremont FoodsLongmont, CONot statedEnergy, protein and nutrition bars plus popcorn; reformulation, cost reduction and run time on existing equipmentFixing the unit cost of a bar you already sell
Bridgetown Natural FoodsPortland, ORNot statedBars, granola and snacksA Pacific Northwest bar and granola line
Silverland BakeryForest Park, ILNot statedBrownies, cookies and barsBaked bar formats rather than cold press
Northwest ExpressionsShelton, WANot statedPublishes its equipment instead: enrobing lines with tempering pre-bottomer, three tempering machines, shell molding depositor, a 160 quart mixerChocolate heavy bars and confection formats

Three of the eight publish a minimum. One publishes a lead time. One publishes a price. That ratio is worse than sauce co packing, where seven of nine publish a minimum, and it is the single most useful thing to know before you start emailing: the numbers you need to budget a launch mostly do not exist on the public web, so your brief has to ask for them.

What each manufacturer is best at

Curio Sweets: the lowest published floor, and it does the arithmetic for you

Curio Sweets in Houston states that its MOQs start as low as 100 pounds of product per SKU, and then adds the sentence that no other company in this group bothers to write: for example, this is equal to 800 protein bars at 2 oz weight per bar. That is a manufacturer publishing a unit conversion, which turns its own minimum into a number a founder can hold in their head and, incidentally, gives you a constant to convert everybody else's pounds into pieces at roughly eight per pound.

It describes itself as cGMP compliant and FDA registered, and offers scalable contract manufacturing and co packing alongside R and D, recipe development and shelf life testing. On its own site it states that most development projects take approximately 2 to 4 months, with timing depending on the product, feedback between development rounds, ingredient availability and any outside testing. It also says that when you are ready for production it can help you find a manufacturer that fits your volume, which is a hint worth reading: this is a development and small run house first. Best for a brand that wants a real first run in the hundreds of bars rather than the thousands.

ChipMonk Baking: the gluten free pick, at 5,000 units

ChipMonk in Houston publishes a minimum of 5,000 units, and more usefully publishes its packaging equipment: a flow wrapper and a continuous band sealer on site, including modified atmosphere packaging. That matters more than it sounds. The wrapper is usually what sets a bar minimum, because film has to be changed and the machine re-threaded for your artwork, and a plant that runs both a flow wrapper and a band sealer can handle two different bar formats without sending your job out.

It operates a dedicated gluten free facility and states GMP certification, with five years of work on high protein, low carb, low sugar and vegan formulations. A dedicated facility, rather than a gluten free line inside a wheat bakery, is the difference between a defensible gluten free claim and a long conversation with your certifier. Best for a bar whose positioning depends on gluten free, keto or sugar free.

YouBar: the most transparent company in US bar manufacturing

YouBar in Los Angeles runs two plants, one for non baked products such as slab bars, extruded bars, crispy rice treats and nut butter filled bites, and a second protein bakery for baked goods. It publishes more hard numbers than anyone else here: MOQs typically starting at 10,000 servings and higher for baked goods, production of 4 to 6 weeks to make and ship a custom order, 6 to 12 months from idea to market if you are starting from scratch, and a cost range of as little as 30 cents a bar up to $2 a bar depending on ingredients, product type, size, run speed and order quantity.

Two details are worth catching. First, that 4 to 6 weeks explicitly excludes research and development and the time to source and stage ingredients, so it is a production window and not a delivery date. Second, YouBar had two live FAQ pages in September 2026 answering the minimum order question differently, one with the 10,000 servings figure and one saying only that MOQs vary and to contact them. Which page a search sends you to changes your entire impression of the company, so use the numbers above as your starting point in the call. Best for a brand with funding or retail commitments already in place.

Coastal Collaborative and Co Pack: enrobing and extrusion under one roof

Coastal Collaborative in Vista, California lists HACCP and GMP alongside organic and kosher certification, and its capability list is the most bar specific in this group: chocolate enrobing, protein bars, food bars and bites, extruded products, dry ingredient blending, recipe formulation and flow wrapping. Extrusion and enrobing are different processes with different cost structures, and having both in one plant means you can change your mind about a chocolate coating without changing manufacturer. It publishes no minimum, no lead time and no price. Best for a bar that needs a coating, an inclusion or a kosher certification and can afford to ask for the numbers.

Claremont Foods: the one to call when the bar already exists

Claremont Foods in Longmont, Colorado is unusual in this list because its published services are aimed at brands that already have a product. It lists energy, protein and nutrition bars plus popcorn production, and then: cost reduction of existing products through reformulation and packaging modification, production process improvements, quality improvement of existing products, run time on existing production equipment, raw material and packaging sourcing, and costing and pricing analysis. Run time on existing equipment is the phrase to notice, because it describes selling you scheduled capacity rather than a development program. Best for an established bar whose margin has stopped working.

Bridgetown Natural Foods, Silverland Bakery and Northwest Expressions

Bridgetown in Portland, Oregon lists bars, granola and snacks and nothing else, which is common for co packers whose order book is full. Silverland Bakery in Forest Park, Illinois lists brownies, cookies and bars, so it is a baked bar house rather than a cold press or extrusion line, which changes both the texture you can achieve and the shelf life you can claim.

Northwest Expressions in Shelton, Washington is the most interesting of the three, because it publishes in detail what almost nobody else does: its equipment. A walk in double rack revolving oven, two automated cookie machines, a 160 quart mixer, chocolate enrobing lines with a tempering pre-bottomer, three automatic tempering machines, a chocolate center creme beater, a cutting guillotine and a shell molding depositor. You can read a plant's real capability off a list like that faster than off any sales page, and a founder who knows their bar needs enrobing can tell in thirty seconds whether the call is worth making. Best for chocolate forward bars and confection style formats.

The number nobody publishes, and how to get it

Across the fourteen bar co packers listed on that co packer directory's bars page, three mention a minimum at all and two state a figure. One of the meat and bar plants, Alex's Meat & Provisions in Brooklyn, writes the sentence we have a minimum but no maximum, which is the category in miniature: the minimum exists, it matters, and it is not for the website.

That is not evasiveness, mostly. A bar minimum is a function of your recipe running through their wrapper at their line speed, and until someone runs an efficiency test on your formula nobody knows the number. You can see this in YouBar's own published process, which gates a bar program into more than twenty confirmed steps, and puts the pricing request after the large scale efficiency test rather than before it. The price is an output of the test, so it cannot be a number on a web page.

What you can do is make the first email produce the number. Ask each shortlisted plant for four things in writing: the minimum in both pieces and finished cases, the per unit price at that minimum and at double it, the total of the one time development steps listed individually, and a delivery date for finished goods with the milestone it is counted from. The gap between the two per unit prices tells you how much of the quote is setup rather than product, which is the single most useful figure in the whole exercise, and it is the one question that takes a vague reply and turns it into a budget.

What the first run actually costs

Use the only published price band in the category as a sanity check. At YouBar's stated 30 cents to $2 a bar, a 10,000 bar minimum is $3,000 to $20,000 of finished product before development, artwork, film, freight and storage. At Curio Sweets' published 800 bar floor, the same band is $240 to $1,600. Both of those are our arithmetic on published figures rather than a quote, but the ratio is the point: the manufacturer you pick moves your first cheque by more than an order of magnitude, and neither plant is wrong. One is built for national retail volume, the other for a launch.

Development is charged separately and almost always per flavor, which is where three flavor launches quietly become three development bills. Launch one flavor, sell it, then add the second with evidence about which one moves. If the size of the first order is the deciding factor for you, our low MOQ manufacturers guide covers the same trade off across other product categories, and co packers explains how food facilities sort by process rather than by product name.

How to brief three bar co packers so the quotes line up

Send all three the same brief. Include the recipe status, whether you have a finished formula, a kitchen recipe or a concept; the bar weight and dimensions; the packaging format and whether you need a flow wrap, a band seal or modified atmosphere; the claims your label will carry, since gluten free, organic, kosher and Non-GMO Project Verified are four separate processes; the quantity in pieces and cases; who supplies film and cartons; and a date you need finished goods rather than a duration. Ask who owns the finished formula and the shelf life data afterward, because that decides whether you can move production later without starting development again.

Suppliers does the shortlisting part for you. Describe the bar, the pack format and the quantity you can fund in plain English, and the agent returns vetted US manufacturers with published minimums converted into your unit, certifications, fees and lead times side by side, then sends one identical brief to the ones you approve. For powder formats and sports nutrition more broadly, our protein powder manufacturers page covers the same questions on the supplement side.

The work does not stop when the pallet arrives. Ten thousand bars with a twelve month shelf life is a clock, and most first time brands discover they have no idea which channel is actually moving units until they put ad spend and store data on one marketing dashboard and watch sell through week by week. Plan that before the run, not after it.

Frequently asked questions

Which protein bar manufacturer has the lowest minimum?

Of the US bar co packers publishing a figure in September 2026, Curio Sweets in Houston is lowest at 100 pounds of product per SKU, which it states is 800 protein bars at 2 oz each. ChipMonk Baking states 5,000 units and YouBar states 10,000 servings. The other five in this comparison publish no minimum at all.

How much does it cost to manufacture a protein bar?

YouBar is the only manufacturer here publishing a price, stating bars from as little as 30 cents each up to $2 each depending on ingredients, product type, size, run speed and order quantity. On that band a 10,000 bar minimum is $3,000 to $20,000 of product before development, film, artwork and freight.

How long does it take to launch a protein bar brand?

YouBar publishes both halves: 4 to 6 weeks to produce and ship a custom order, explicitly excluding research, development and ingredient staging, and 6 to 12 months to go from idea to market starting from scratch. Curio Sweets states development alone runs approximately 2 to 4 months.

Why will not bar manufacturers publish their minimum order quantity?

Because a bar minimum depends on how your specific formula runs through their wrapper. YouBar gates a bar program into more than twenty confirmed steps and places the pricing request after a large scale efficiency test, so the price and the practical minimum are outputs of testing your recipe rather than fixed numbers.

What should I ask a protein bar co packer in the first email?

Four things in writing: the minimum in both pieces and finished cases, the per unit price at that minimum and at double it, the one time development steps itemized, and a delivery date for finished goods with the milestone it is counted from. The gap between the two per unit prices shows how much of the quote is setup.

Suppliers · Get started

Put this into practice with an AI sourcing agent

Describe what you need to make or buy in plain English, and the AI finds, vets, and shortlists qualified manufacturers, with quotes, MOQs, and lead-times compared side by side, then helps you run RFQs and POs in one place. Flat price, no per-deal commission.

See how it works →

Source your next product

Get a vetted shortlist in minutes.

Describe what you need and get a quote-compared supplier shortlist. Vetted shortlists, quotes compared, no per-deal commission.

What vetting means →