suppliers.ai
How it works Features Security Pricing Blog
All articles

Comparisons

Best Private Label Lip Balm Manufacturers

Seven private label lip balm and lip gloss manufacturers compared on what each one actually publishes. They quote their minimums in four incompatible units, gallons, pieces, dollars and pieces-by-format, and converting them changes which factories are worth calling.

By the Suppliers team · September 2026 · 8 min read

Sourcing Console
sample data
Parsed spec Matching suppliers_
vetted matches
Supplier Unit MOQ Lead Fit

Shortlist matched to your spec. Sample data shown.

Press Source or pick a category to get a vetted shortlist.

The short answer: the seven manufacturers below do not disagree about how big a lip balm order has to be. They disagree about what unit to say it in. Rain Shadow Labs quotes gallons, Metro Private Label quotes pieces and splits the number by format, Lady Burd quotes dollars, and three others quote pieces per SKU. Convert them all into standard tubes and the picture resolves: a US made twist up stick starts around eight to ten thousand tubes, a jar starts near three thousand, and the sub 1,000 unit options in this group are both in Europe. The most useful single fact on this page is that the same factory quoting 10,000 sticks will run 3,000 jars, because the component sets the floor rather than the formula.

Every figure here was read from each company's own website in September 2026. Where a company publishes nothing, that is recorded as not stated rather than estimated, because guessing at a minimum order and printing it as fact is how a first time brand owner ends up funding a run three times larger than the one they planned.

The seven manufacturers compared

ManufacturerLocationPublished minimum, as statedIn standard 0.15 oz tubesStated lead timeCertifications stated
Rain Shadow LabsSt Helens, OR10 gallons stock, 25 gallons customAbout 8,000 and about 20,000 (modeled)Around 8 to 10 weeks after label and packaging approvalFDA registered, ISO certified, GMP compliant
Metro Private LabelNot statedAround 10,000 units per SKU stick, around 3,000 jar10,000 and 3,000 as published10 to 14 working days sampling, about 4 weeks productionNot stated
Nardo's Natural Private LabelLargo, FL500 units per SKU for poly bagged, hand applied barcodes500 as publishedNot statedUSDA Certified Organic, stated as no SPF
Lady BurdNew York, NYAs low as $150 for stock itemsNot convertible without a unit priceNot statedNot stated. US manufacturer since 1972
Eco LipsCedar Rapids, IANot statedNot statedNot statedGood manufacturing processes, palm oil and petroleum free
SBL CompGermanyJust 300 units for the basic private label balm300 as published3 to 5 weeks production and shippingGMP certified, FDA and CPNP, meets EU and USA requirements
DLAB Custom CosmeticsPortugal100 units standard, from 500 for custom packaging100 and 500 as published45 to 60 daysGMP compliant, EU and US compliant

Four of seven publish a minimum you can plan against. Three publish a lead time. Exactly one publishes a number that resembles a price, and it is a floor rather than a rate. So the standard advice to gather several quotes is not a preference in lip care, it is the only mechanism that exists.

Four units for one number

Read these pages back to back and the disorder is not in the minimums, it is in the measure. Rain Shadow Labs publishes volume, because its floor thinks in batches. Metro Private Label publishes pieces per SKU, because its floor thinks in components. Lady Burd publishes money, because its stock program thinks in orders. Nardo's Natural publishes a threshold tied to a specific fulfillment condition rather than a floor at all.

Notice what the unit choice does to your perception, in both directions. Ten gallons sounds like something you could make in a large kitchen. Ten thousand units sounds like a factory that does not want to talk to you. A $150 minimum sounds like a decision you can make this afternoon. None of the seven is being misleading. But if you rank a shortlist by which page felt most welcoming, you have ranked it by unit of measure and nothing else, which is how founders end up eliminating the factory that would actually have taken their order.

Ten gallons is roughly eight thousand tubes

Here is the arithmetic that almost nobody runs before the first round of emails, using a constant one of these companies publishes rather than one invented for an article.

Nardo's Natural lists its standard lip balm as Net Wt .15 oz (4.25 g) in a clear tube with a clear cap, the ordinary drugstore stick. A US gallon is 3,785 mL. Lip balm is a wax and oil blend, so take a working density of about 0.9 g/mL, which is the one assumption in this model and the figure to confirm with your own manufacturer rather than take from this page. A gallon of balm therefore weighs roughly 3,400 g and fills about 800 tubes.

Push Rain Shadow's published minimums through that. Ten gallons for a stock formula is roughly 8,000 tubes. Twenty five gallons for a custom formula is roughly 20,000. Now set the first figure beside Metro Private Label's stated 10,000 units per SKU for a stick. Two unrelated companies, two different units, and the converted numbers land in the same neighborhood. That convergence is the finding, and it is more reliable than either number alone: the floor for a US made twist up lip balm run is somewhere around eight to ten thousand tubes, and neither company is being unusually demanding.

It also kills a comfortable assumption. Rain Shadow gets described as the low minimum choice because ten of something reads as small. Eight thousand tubes is a genuine inventory commitment with real cash behind it, and the honestly small piece counts in this group, DLAB at 100 and SBL Comp at 300, are both European. Low minimum and domestic supply chain are not currently available in the same row.

The tube sets the minimum, not the formula

Metro Private Label publishes both halves of a split that explains most of this category: around 10,000 units per SKU for a stick, around 3,000 for a jar. Same company, same formula library, more than three times the difference. One vendor proving the mechanism is worth more than six vendors describing it.

Nothing about the balm changed between those two numbers. The component did. A twist up stick is an assembly of a barrel, a base, a screw mechanism and a cap, usually printed or decorated, bought from a component supplier with its own minimum order that has nothing to do with your brand. A jar or pot is a simpler part with a wider standing supply. When a factory quotes you 10,000 units, a large share of that figure is frequently not its filling line at all, it is the smallest quantity of tubes it can buy on your behalf.

That reframes the negotiation entirely. Asking a factory to halve its minimum is asking it to eat a component order, and it will not. Asking whether the minimum falls if you take a stock tube from standing inventory instead of a custom decorated one is a different question, and it is often answered yes. So is asking what the number looks like in a jar, a squeeze tube, or a doe foot gloss wand. Lady Burd's $150 stock minimum sits at the far end of the same logic: it is low precisely because nothing in the order obliges anyone to buy anything new.

Per SKU is where the budget breaks

Look again at how often the phrase per SKU appears above. Metro states around 10,000 units per SKU. Nardo's states 500 per SKU. That preposition does more damage to a launch budget than any unit price.

A SKU is one finished good. Vanilla in a clear tube is one. Mint in the same tube is another. The same vanilla in a black tube is another again. A six flavor lineup at a 3,000 unit jar minimum is not a 3,000 unit order, it is 18,000 units. Lip gloss is worse, because a shade range is the entire proposition and a four shade launch is four SKUs before a single label is printed.

The tension is real and worth stating rather than sloganeering past. One flavor looks thin on a shelf and gives a retail buyer nothing to merchandise. Six flavors ties cash into inventory you have no demand data for, in a category seasonal enough that guessing wrong hurts. Most brands that survive the first year launch narrow and deep, two or three SKUs at a quantity they can sell through, then widen on the second purchase order once they know which one moves. Flavor and naming is exactly where founders overshoot, so it pays to narrow a long wishlist down to the two or three you can genuinely fund before you request a single quote.

Then ask one question in the brief: does the minimum apply per SKU, or across the order? A few manufacturers will let you reach a total across a family of flavors sharing one base and one component. That answer is usually worth more than any discount you could win on unit price.

Best for a plannable domestic run: Rain Shadow Labs

Rain Shadow Labs in St Helens, Oregon runs natural and organic private label across skin, hair and lip care, and it is the most transparent US page in this group. It publishes 10 gallons for stock formulations and 25 gallons for custom, states an FDA registered, ISO certified and GMP compliant facility, and gives a lead time of around 8 to 10 weeks after label and packaging approval. Note where that clock starts: approved artwork, not signed contract. It publishes no price. If you want a domestic partner whose numbers you can model before making contact, this is the one, provided you have converted the gallons first.

Best for the smallest possible domestic start: Lady Burd

Lady Burd has manufactured cosmetics in New York since 1972 and runs a deep color range covering lip balms, lip butters, lip oils, glosses, liners and finishers alongside face and skin care. Its minimum is the outlier in this comparison because it is expressed in money: as low as $150 for stock items. That is a genuinely different proposition from a piece count, since it lets you start on stock formulas without committing to a component order, and it makes the company the natural first call for a brand testing a concept rather than launching a range. It publishes no lead time and no certifications on the pages reviewed, so both are first call questions.

Best for format flexibility: Metro Private Label

Metro publishes the most operationally useful pair of numbers here, the stick and jar minimums side by side, plus around 10 to 14 working days for sampling and about 4 weeks for production. It lists eight core lip types including moisturizing, lip butter, tinted, peptide treatments, SPF, overnight masks, natural and organic, and men's balm. It states no location and no certifications, which is why it sits where it does in a comparison built on published figures rather than on capability. Ask for both first.

Best for certified organic: Nardo's Natural

Nardo's Natural Private Label in Largo, Florida offers USDA Certified Organic lip balms in the standard 0.15 oz clear tube, publishes a $75 per SKU organic certification application fee, and notes a 500 unit per SKU minimum for poly bagged and hand applied barcodes. It is also the company that makes the split in this category legible, because it lists its organic balms explicitly as having no SPF.

Why SPF changes the shortlist

FDA states that in the United States sunscreens are regulated as drugs, which means they must satisfy the safety and efficacy standards for nonprescription drug products. An SPF lip balm is therefore not simply a cosmetic, and it needs a manufacturer set up for over the counter drug work with the testing and labeling that follows. Nardo's exclusion is the market showing you the same boundary the rulebook draws. If sun protection is part of your concept, put it in the first line of your brief, because it shortens the eligible list considerably and lengthens your timeline.

The other regulatory point belongs on a sourcing page rather than a compliance one, because it decides what lands on you personally. FDA describes MoCRA as the most significant expansion of its authority to regulate cosmetics since the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act passed in 1938. Under it, manufacturers and processors register their facilities with FDA and renew every two years, and a responsible person lists each marketed cosmetic product with FDA including its ingredients, updated annually. FDA defines that responsible person as the manufacturer, packer, or distributor whose name appears on the label.

In a private label arrangement, that is you. The factory handles its own facility registration; the product listing follows the name on the tube. Ask in writing which obligations the manufacturer carries and which are yours, and get the answer into the agreement rather than discovering it after the first pallet ships. Note too that FDA does not approve cosmetic products or facilities, so a supplier advertising FDA approved lip balm is describing something that does not exist. FDA registered is real, checkable, and a different claim.

How to run the comparison yourself

Build one column in your sheet called tubes and convert every quote into it, keeping the original unit beside it so you can quote each factory back to itself. State your own target in both units when you write the brief. Ask each manufacturer for its minimum in two formats rather than one, and ask which part of the number is fill and which part is component. Ask whether the minimum applies per SKU or across the order. Then send the identical brief to every factory on the list, because replies written against different assumptions are not a comparison, they are a folder of PDFs.

That last step is the one worth automating. Describing your product once and getting a ranked shortlist of private label lip balm manufacturers with published minimums, formats, certifications and lead times already lined up in the same unit removes the two weeks of email that produce most of the confusion above. The same brief pattern works across beauty, so if your range will grow past lip care the shortlist extends to cosmetic contract manufacturers handling serums, creams and color without starting the search again. If your constraint is quantity rather than category, start instead from low MOQ manufacturers and work back toward the format your budget supports.

Frequently asked questions

Which private label lip balm manufacturer has the lowest minimum?

Among the US options, Lady Burd states minimums as low as $150 for stock items, which is a budget rather than a quantity and is the lowest bar to clear in the group. On a per unit basis the lowest published figures belong to European factories: DLAB in Portugal at 100 units standard and SBL Comp in Germany at 300. Metro Private Label's roughly 3,000 unit jar minimum is the lowest domestic-scale piece count for a full custom-decorated run.

How much does private label lip balm cost per unit?

Six of the seven manufacturers checked in September 2026 publish no unit price at all. Lady Burd publishes a $150 stock minimum and DLAB lists samples at $11 to $18, neither of which is a production rate. Cost is driven by format, stock versus custom formula, tube decoration, SKU count and run size, so ask each factory to quote per unit at two or three quantities.

Is 10 gallons a small lip balm minimum?

No, it is a fairly ordinary one that sounds small because of the unit. Using the 0.15 oz (4.25 g) standard tube that Nardos Natural publishes and a working density of about 0.9 g/mL, a gallon fills roughly 800 tubes, so Rain Shadow Labs 10 gallon stock minimum is about 8,000 tubes. That lands close to Metro Private Labels 10,000 unit stick figure rather than far below it.

Do I need a US manufacturer for private label lip balm?

Not necessarily, but the trade off is visible in the published numbers. The sub 1,000 unit minimums in this group are both European, while the US facilities cluster at several thousand tubes and up. Domestic buys you shorter freight, easier plant visits and a made in USA claim where it genuinely applies; offshore usually buys you a smaller first order.

Can a lip balm manufacturer lower its minimum if I ask?

Rarely on the same specification, because a large share of the number is often the tube rather than the fill, and the component supplier sets that. What does move it is changing the specification: Metro Private Label publishes about 3,000 units for a jar against about 10,000 for a stick at the same facility, and stock tubes from standing inventory ask less than custom decorated ones.

Suppliers · Get started

Put this into practice with an AI sourcing agent

Describe what you need to make or buy in plain English, and the AI finds, vets, and shortlists qualified manufacturers, with quotes, MOQs, and lead-times compared side by side, then helps you run RFQs and POs in one place. Flat price, no per-deal commission.

See how it works →

Source your next product

Get a vetted shortlist in minutes.

Describe what you need and get a quote-compared supplier shortlist. Vetted shortlists, quotes compared, no per-deal commission.

What vetting means →