The short answer: the best private label hot chocolate manufacturer is the one whose format, allergen status and minimum fit your first season. For the smallest start, Omanhene Cocoa Bean Company in Wisconsin, which puts your label on its hot cocoa tins from one case of 16 tins. For your own recipe at low volume, Total Food Package in Michigan, from a 150 lb blend with a $1,500 minimum charge, in a plant free of the top 9 allergens. For packets and K-cups next to a coffee line, Coffee Masters in Illinois, which ships about 10 business days after proof approval. For a gluten free mix to your specification, American Instants in New Jersey. For a store brand, Gilster-Mary Lee.
We read the private label and co-packing pages of US cocoa blenders and packers on their own websites in October 2026 and kept the seven that clearly offer hot cocoa and publish enough to judge. For each we recorded what it makes for you, the minimum and the unit it is counted in, any fee, the allergen status and the lead time. Where a company publishes nothing, we say so. For the rules behind the numbers (how cases and pounds convert to servings, what the label is allowed to call cocoa, and why a sticker on a national brand packet is not private label), start with our guide to private label hot chocolate manufacturers.
Private label hot chocolate manufacturers compared
| Company | Formats | Published minimum | Allergen or certification | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omanhene Cocoa Bean Co., WI | Hot cocoa tins | One case of 16 tins | Supplies allergen statements | The smallest start |
| Total Food Package, MI | Custom blends, pouches to bulk bags | 150 lb, $1,500 minimum charge | Top 9 allergen free; organic, kosher, gluten free | Your own dairy free recipe |
| Coffee Masters, IL | Packets, portion packs, bags, K-cups | "Low", no figure | Not stated | Cocoa next to private label coffee |
| American Instants, NJ | Powdered drinks to your spec | Not stated | SQF; 100% gluten free facility | A gluten free custom mix |
| Gilster-Mary Lee | Pouches, canisters, foodservice | Not stated | SQF Level II | Grocery store brands |
| Cocoa Bombs LLC, ID | Cocoa bombs, mixes, gift sets | "Low", no figure | Nut free; contains dairy | Cocoa bombs and gift sets |
| Global Tea Solutions | Tins, tubes, pouches | Not stated | SQF level 2; organic, kosher | A tea brand adding cocoa |
Figures are as each company published them in October 2026. Confirm every figure in writing before you place an order.
Omanhene Cocoa Bean Company, the smallest start
Omanhene in Mequon, Wisconsin sells its own all natural hot cocoa in tins, including a mint version, and offers the same cocoa under your label with what it calls "an unprecedented one case (16 tin) minimum order." It says it provides "all FDA-approved nutrition and allergen statements and ingredient lists," which removes the label work most first time brands get stuck on, and names single outlet cafes, fundraisers and national retailers among its customers.
Price is by phone, and the page has been up for some years, so confirm that the one case minimum still holds before you design a label. What you get is Omanhene's recipe in Omanhene's tin format with your branding, not a mix developed for you. For a cafe testing whether a house cocoa sells this winter, that is exactly the right trade: 16 tins is a weekend of sales, not a garage full of stock.
Total Food Package, best for your own dairy free recipe
Total Food Package in Spring Lake, Michigan is a dry blend co-packer that lists hot cocoa mix among its products and publishes the clearest custom minimum we found: "Our minimum blend size is 150 pounds with a minimum charge of $1,500." It packs "from small pouches to bulk bags" and holds organic (Oregon Tilth), kosher and gluten free certifications, which it says it can extend to your company.
The defining fact is the plant: it is free of the top 9 allergens, milk included. So a cocoa made here is dairy free by design. That makes it the obvious shortlist pick for a vegan, allergy friendly or oat milk style mix, and the wrong pick if your recipe needs whole milk powder. At our assumed 28 grams per mug, 150 lb is about 2,400 servings, so the $1,500 floor is roughly 62 cents a serving before you know what it includes. Ask whether it covers ingredients and packing.
Coffee Masters, best for cocoa next to a coffee line
Coffee Masters in Spring Grove, Illinois is a coffee roaster whose private label program includes "soluble drink mixes (hot cocoa, cider, lemonade and more)." Formats include portion packs of 1 to 4 oz, retail bags from 8 oz to 5 lb, packets, gift packs and 2.0 compatible K-cups, and it will co-pack a dry mix you supply as well as develop custom blends and flavors.
It is the only cocoa packer we read that publishes both halves of its clock: a digital proof "within approximately 3 business days," then shipping "within approximately 10 business days" once the proof is approved. It advertises low minimums without a number and notes that coffee types cannot be mixed to meet them, so ask how that applies to cocoa flavors. Each label must carry traceable business details. Best for a roaster, cafe or office coffee brand that wants cocoa packets or K-cups in the same order as its coffee.
American Instants, best for a gluten free custom mix
American Instants in Flanders, New Jersey packs powdered drinks, hot chocolate among them, and blends "to YOUR specifications" with food scientists on staff. It says it is SQF certified and that "our facility is 100% gluten-free." It publishes no minimum, fee or lead time, so expect a specification conversation before a quote. Best for a brand that needs a documented gluten free claim and a recipe of its own, such as a protein or reduced sugar cocoa.
Gilster-Mary Lee, best for grocery store brands
Gilster-Mary Lee makes store brand cocoa and beverage products for retailers and distributors, in single serve pouches, canisters and foodservice sizes, with or without marshmallows, sugar free, and in flavors such as peppermint, salted caramel and horchata. It says it can match a national brand and that all its facilities are SQF Level II certified. It publishes no minimum, which together with the retailer focus means a program sized for chains. If a grocery buyer has already asked for your cocoa, this is the scale to talk to. If you are still proving the recipe, start smaller.
Cocoa Bombs LLC, best for cocoa bombs and gift sets
Cocoa Bombs LLC in Boise, Idaho makes private label hot cocoa bombs, hot cocoa beverage mixes, kits and gift sets, with custom shapes and R&D. It advertises low minimums without a figure and shows an SQF mark. Its allergen statement is direct: the facility is nut free and peanut free, and "all of our items and facility contain dairy or traces of dairy." Best for a gift brand or boutique that wants the novelty product rather than a plain mix.
Global Tea Solutions, best for a tea brand adding cocoa
Global Tea Solutions is a tea packer that asks buyers to "ask about our... hot chocolate," with custom tins, paper tubes, pouches and boxes, SQF level 2 and organic, fair trade and kosher options. Cocoa is a side line here, so confirm the recipe and minimum early. It makes sense if your tea already comes from them and you want a matching cocoa tin; for a tea line from scratch, our roundup of the best private label tea manufacturers compares the specialists.
The one to avoid if the cocoa must carry your brand
Promo suppliers sell custom hot cocoa that is really a sticker. Promotional Product Inc lists a "laminated decal on a pre-printed Swiss Miss package" from 240 units at $0.85 each with a $50 setup fee, shipping 7 business days from proof approval. It is honest about it and fine for a trade show, but the recipe and the brand on the packet are someone else's. Do not confuse it with private label when you compare prices.
How to choose between them
Pick the format and the allergen claim first, then the company. A stock tin with your label points to Omanhene. A custom dairy free blend points to Total Food Package. Packets and K-cups point to Coffee Masters. A gluten free recipe of your own points to American Instants. A store brand points to Gilster-Mary Lee. And because hot cocoa sells in a twelve week window, the deadline matters as much as the price: the clock starts at proof approval, so brief in October for December.
Plan the selling side while the first run is packed, not after the tins arrive. A seasonal product has one shot at its window, so it pays to have UGC video ads that test which holiday angle actually sells ready the week the cocoa lands, instead of guessing between gift, cozy night and office treat after the season has started.
What to send for a real quote
Send the route (stock cocoa or your recipe), the format and fill weight, the number of flavors, quantities at two levels, your dairy, gluten, kosher and organic needs, whether you supply printed packaging, and the date the cocoa must arrive. Ask for the minimum and its unit, what a minimum charge includes, any setup or label fee, the case size, the sample policy, shelf life and what starts the lead time.
Suppliers turns that brief into a shortlist of US cocoa packers with their published terms side by side, sends one RFQ to the ones you choose and keeps the replies in one place. For a chocolate bar or truffle line next to the cocoa, see our guide to private label chocolate manufacturers, and for coffee in the same gift box, the private label coffee manufacturers guide.
Frequently asked questions
Which private label hot chocolate manufacturer has the lowest minimum?
Omanhene Cocoa Bean Company in Wisconsin publishes the lowest we found: its hot cocoa tins under your label from one case of 16 tins, with nutrition and allergen statements supplied. For a custom recipe, Total Food Package in Michigan starts at a 150 lb blend with a $1,500 minimum charge.
How much does private label hot cocoa mix cost?
From one case of a stock cocoa, priced on request at Omanhene, to a $1,500 minimum charge for a 150 lb custom blend at Total Food Package, roughly 62 cents a serving at 28 grams. Most packers quote after a specification call and do not publish per unit prices.
Who makes dairy free private label hot chocolate?
Total Food Package runs a plant free of the top 9 allergens, milk included, so its cocoa blends are dairy free by design, with organic, kosher and gluten free certifications available. Cocoa Bombs LLC states the opposite: all its items and its facility contain dairy.
Can I get private label hot chocolate in K-cups or packets?
Yes. Coffee Masters in Illinois lists packets, portion packs of 1 to 4 oz, retail bags and 2.0 compatible K-cups among its private label formats, with hot cocoa among its soluble drink mixes, and ships about 10 business days after proof approval.
How long does a private label hot chocolate order take?
About two to three weeks from artwork at the packers that publish it. Coffee Masters sends a proof in about 3 business days and ships about 10 business days after approval. Brief in October for a December launch.
Suppliers · Get started
Put this into practice with an AI sourcing agent
Describe what you need to make or buy in plain English, and the AI finds, vets, and shortlists qualified manufacturers, with quotes, MOQs, and lead-times compared side by side, then helps you run RFQs and POs in one place. Flat price, no per-deal commission.