The short answer: the best private label dog treat manufacturer is the one whose minimum and format fit your first run. To test one chicken jerky SKU, Nala and Lucas in Illinois at 15 bags. For dehydrated treats in small bags or jars, Lucky Premium Treats in Georgia at 20 bags per recipe. For a first branded baked treat with a price you can see before you call, Neoteric Brands in Texas: 100 bags per design at $6.50 a 5 oz bag, design included, about six weeks. For a clear path from stock treats to your own recipe, The Pound Bakery in Illinois. For custom meat jerky with organic or MSC claims, Phelps Pet Products. For freeze-dried treats with no minimum on catalog items, Glacial Freeze Dry, with one caveat on certification.
We read 17 pet food and treat co packers on their own websites in October 2026 and kept the nine treat makers that publish enough to judge: the format, the minimum and the unit it is counted in, any price or fee, the lead time and what starts it, and the food safety certificate. Where a company does not publish something, we say so. For kibble, wet food and the full regulatory picture, including FDA, AAFCO labels and state registration fees, start with our pet food manufacturers guide.
Private label dog treat manufacturers compared
| Maker | Treat format | Published minimum | Price, fee or lead time | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nala and Lucas, Roselle, IL | Chicken jerky | 15 bags | Quote on request | Testing one jerky SKU |
| Lucky Premium Treats, Norcross, GA | Dehydrated | 20 bags per recipe | Small setup fee, amount not stated | Boutique bags or jars |
| Neoteric Brands, Georgetown, TX | Baked | 100 bags per design | $6.50 per 5 oz bag at 100; about 6 weeks | A first branded baked treat |
| The Pound Bakery, Harvard, IL | Baked, dental, extruded | $150 order to 10,000 lb recipe | Custom est. $20,000+ | Stock now, custom later |
| Global Private Pet Brands, Tampa, FL | Soft chews | 300 stock, 1,000 custom | Not stated | Functional soft chews |
| Foppers, Logansport, IN | Baked biscuits | 2,000 to 4,000 lb per item | Not stated | Mid-size biscuit lines |
| Phelps Pet Products, Rockford, IL | Meat jerky, sticks | Not stated | Not stated | Custom jerky with claims |
| Glacial Freeze Dry, Wales, WI | Freeze-dried | None on catalog items | 1 to 2 weeks once packaging arrives | Freeze-dried pilots |
| Carnivore Meat Company, Green Bay, WI | Raw, freeze-dried | Not stated | Not stated | Raw treats at scale |
Read on each maker's own website in October 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not publish it. Minimums and prices change, so confirm each one in your quote.
Nala and Lucas has the lowest minimum we found
Nala and Lucas in Roselle, Illinois makes one thing: chicken jerky from "100% human-grade, USA-sourced chicken breast", handcrafted in Illinois. Its private label page offers "a low minimum order of just 15 bags", and you can supply your own label or use its design team. It does not publish a price; the page says your startup cost "depends on how many bags you order and whether you need help with label design". Lead time and certifications are not stated, so ask for both.
One regulatory point matters more for jerky than for any other treat. AAFCO says chicken jerky strips do not get the treat labeling exemption and "must be fully-labeled in all U.S. jurisdictions", with the full guaranteed analysis and ingredient panel. Budget for a compliant label before you order the first 15 bags.
Lucky Premium Treats suits boutiques and jars
Lucky Premium Treats in Norcross, Georgia dehydrates chicken and other proteins and sells private label from "just 20 bags per selected recipe", with a footnote that reads "Restrictions apply". Private labeling comes "with only a small setup fee", amount not given, and you must apply for a wholesale account before you see prices, which take "a few days". Its packaging options are unusually flexible: it will pack into clear bags or jars with or without your label, fill your own packaging, or sell in bulk for you to pack. That suits a pet boutique or groomer more than an online brand that needs printed stand-up pouches.
Neoteric Brands publishes the price, and the clock
Neoteric Brands is the only treat maker in our set that publishes a unit price. Its treats are baked "in an SQF-certified, human-grade bakery in Georgetown, Texas". The homepage sets the minimum at "100 bags per design. Each flavor is its own design, so an order with two flavors starts at 200 bags", and prices "5oz bags priced from $6.50/unit at 100 bags" and "2oz bags priced from $4.35/unit at 100 bags", with design and revisions included. One inconsistency: an older blog post on its site still says "150-unit minimum", so confirm the current figure.
Neoteric also says when its lead time starts: "Custom dog treats typically take ~6 weeks to get produced, following your final design approval." So your first $650 buys 100 finished, bagged treats about six weeks after you sign off the artwork. As a worked model, $6.50 for 5 oz is about $1.30 an ounce, or $20.80 a pound of finished treats in the bag. Use that number as a benchmark when a bakery quotes you per pound of bulk product.
The Pound Bakery is the path from stock to your own recipe
The Pound Bakery in Harvard, Illinois, part of PetDine, bakes for "over 50 different companies" and publishes every step of its private label ladder. Wholesale starts at "$150 per order", treats you relabel. Its Healthy Dogma program packs existing treats under your brand "for a minimum of 300 packages per SKU". Co packing starts at "1,000 lbs per SKU" in printed packaging you supply. A custom recipe starts at "10,000 lbs Per Order (Est. $20,000+ Initial Investment)", which you can split into two SKUs of 5,000 lb.
It holds SQF, CCOF organic and a USDA handler certificate. What it does not do is just as clear: "We do not offer product registration assistance or approval of pet treat labels." You register each treat in each state you sell into yourself. Texas, for example, charges $50 per product a year for packages of 5 lb or less.
Global Private Pet Brands for functional soft chews
Global Private Pet Brands in Tampa makes "Never Baked" soft chews, treats and supplements, and offers to design your label and graphics. It publishes "Stock Formulas 300 MOQ ~ Custom Formulas 1000 MOQ" without saying whether that means bags, jars or chews, and elsewhere "as little as 900 units". Ask for the minimum in finished packages of your size before you compare it with anyone else. If your soft chew makes a health claim, it may be a supplement or a drug rather than a treat, which pet product manufacturers covers in detail.
Foppers and Phelps for mid-size and specialty runs
Foppers in Logansport, Indiana bakes crunchy, soft and semi-moist treats on a rotary molder and wire cut line, from "dozens of stock formulations and shapes". Its minimum is "2,000-4,000 lbs per item per run", and it lists FDA, SQF, APHIS and Costco among its approvals. It does "not handle raw meats or raw eggs". Phelps Pet Products in Rockford, Illinois and Janesville, Wisconsin is a jerky specialist: more than 20 proteins, more than 15 shapes, stand-up resealable pouches, and claims including USDA organic, MSC and upcycled. It is SQF Level II but publishes no minimum. Neoteric's own site describes legacy makers like Phelps as catering to large retail accounts, so expect a bigger first order.
Glacial and Carnivore for freeze-dried and raw
Glacial Freeze Dry in Wales, Wisconsin imposes no minimum on items in its ready-to-ship catalog and ships them "within one to two weeks" once your wholesale account is approved and your packaging arrives. Custom recipes may carry a minimum. The caveat: its FAQ says it is "currently preparing for our SQF audit", so it is not SQF certified yet. If a retailer requires a GFSI certificate, Carnivore Meat Company in Green Bay makes raw frozen and freeze-dried treats under FSSC 22000 and is APHIS approved for export to 14 countries, but publishes no minimum.
Four questions that turn a quote into a budget
Ask every maker the same four things. What is the minimum in finished bags of my size, not pounds of product? Which one-time fees apply (setup, plates, design, formulation)? What starts the lead time, my deposit, my approved label or my packaging arriving? And will you help with the label and state registrations? Ask for the price at two quantities as well. The gap between the two per bag prices shows how much of a small run is fixed cost.
Once the first bags ship, most treat brands sell online first, and the questions buyers ask about ingredients and sourcing are worth answering in public. A steady run of SEO articles written around the questions your buyers search does that work while you handle production. For the treat run itself, Suppliers sends your brief to the makers that state your format and lines up their answers side by side; see co packers for other food categories and low MOQ manufacturers if a small first order is the deciding factor.
Frequently asked questions
Which dog treat manufacturer has the lowest minimum?
Of the makers we read, Nala and Lucas starts at 15 bags of chicken jerky and Lucky Premium Treats at 20 bags per recipe. Glacial Freeze Dry sets no minimum on its catalog items. For a branded baked treat, Neoteric Brands starts at 100 bags per design.
How much does it cost to private label dog treats?
A first branded run can cost under $1,000: Neoteric Brands publishes 100 bags of a 5 oz baked treat at $6.50 each, design included. A custom recipe costs far more; The Pound Bakery estimates $20,000 or more for its 10,000 lb minimum.
Do private label dog treats need FDA approval?
No. FDA does not require pre-market approval for animal food unless it contains an unapproved additive. The maker must run a registered facility with a food safety plan, and you usually must register each treat in each state where you sell it.
Do treat co packers register my products with the states?
Some help and some do not. The Pound Bakery states that it does not offer product registration assistance or label approval, so the brand owner registers each product. Ask every maker before you sign.
Suppliers · Get started
Put this into practice with an AI sourcing agent
Describe what you need to make or buy in plain English, and the AI finds, vets, and shortlists qualified manufacturers, with quotes, MOQs, and lead-times compared side by side, then helps you run RFQs and POs in one place. Flat price, no per-deal commission.