The short answer: if you want a stock formula with your label on it, ViaCore Nutrition publishes the lowest entry point of any US private label protein manufacturer at 48 bottles, followed by Vitalabs at 72 per SKU and Pure Private Label at 144 units. Makers Nutrition starts at 500. Aligen is the only one of the seven that publishes a lead time, six weeks. Bactolac is the one to talk to if you need NSF Certified for Sport, vegan, or bone broth protein. And the finding that matters more than any ranking: not one of the seven publishes a price.
This comparison was built by reading each company's own website in September 2026. Where a company publishes nothing, that is recorded as not stated rather than estimated. Guessing at a minimum order and presenting it as fact is exactly how founders end up raising money for a run they did not need to place.
The seven manufacturers compared
| Manufacturer | Published minimum | Lead time | Publishes a price? | Certifications stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ViaCore Nutrition | 48 bottles stock, 1,250 custom | Same day shipping on stock | No | GMP certified, Eurofins |
| Vitalabs | 72 bottles per SKU | Not stated | No | Not stated |
| Pure Private Label | 144 units | Not stated | No | FDA registered, cGMP, made in USA |
| Makers Nutrition | As low as 500 | Not stated | No | Not stated |
| Aligen | Not stated | Six weeks | No | FDA registered, Florida Health licensed, cGMP |
| Bactolac Pharmaceutical | Not stated | Not stated | No | cGMP, FDA, supports NSF Sport, organic, non GMO |
| YouBar Manufacturing | Not stated | Not stated | No | Not stated |
Four of seven publish a minimum. One publishes a lead time. Zero publish a price. That last line is the most useful thing in the table, because it means the standard advice to compare quotes is not a preference here, it is the only mechanism available. There is no rate card to read.
The 48 to 1,250 spread is one decision, not seven companies
Line the published minimums up and they look like a ranking of how founder friendly each company is. They are not. The entire spread is explained by a single choice you make before you contact anyone, and one company on this list proves it without needing the others.
ViaCore Nutrition publishes both ends itself: as few as 48 bottles on a stock product, increasing to 1,250 bottles on a custom formula. Same facility, same equipment, same week. The minimum moved by roughly twenty six times because of what the buyer asked for.
The reason is inventory risk, and it sits with whoever bought the raw material. A stock formula already exists. The manufacturer has purchased the protein, validated the blend, run the stability study, and is holding finished goods, so your order is really a labeling and packing job against inventory that would have been made anyway. A custom formula means buying commercial quantities of raw material specifically for you, developing and testing a new blend, and dedicating a line. The minimum has to cover that before a single tub ships.
So the advice circulating that you need thousands of units to start a protein brand is not wrong, it is answering the custom formulation question. If your first run is a stock whey with your branding on it, several US facilities will start you in the dozens. Decide stock or custom before you send a single email, because it changes which of these seven can even help you and it is the same trade that governs low MOQ manufacturers across every product category.
Best entry point for a first run: ViaCore Nutrition
ViaCore publishes as few as 48 bottles on a stock product with same day shipping, and describes the model as buying what you need for that week. It states GMP certification and displays Eurofins certification. Pricing is hidden behind a sign in, with a From $2.00 placeholder visible to logged out visitors that should not be treated as a quote.
For a founder testing whether anyone wants the product before committing capital, 48 units is a genuinely different proposition from 500. You can put real product in real hands, get feedback, and find out whether your flavor works before you own a pallet.
Best for a small multi SKU launch: Vitalabs
Vitalabs publishes a minimum of 72 bottles per SKU across its stock range, which covers protein powder alongside vitamins, weight loss products, and single serving packets. The per SKU framing is the useful part. If you want to launch chocolate and vanilla rather than one flavor, a low per SKU minimum matters far more than a low order minimum, because the number that hurts is the one multiplied by your flavor count.
Best for custom formulation at a small minimum: Pure Private Label
Pure Private Label publishes 144 units and frames it around custom formulation, which is unusual at that quantity given most facilities put custom work in the four figures. It states FDA registration, cGMP compliance, and US manufacturing, and specializes in capsule and powder products. Pricing is by phone.
If you want your own ratio rather than someone else's stock blend and you cannot carry a thousand units, this is the shortest path on the list. Confirm what custom means in their process before you plan around it, because the word covers everything from a flavor change to a full formulation project.
Best for scale and turnkey service: Makers Nutrition
Makers Nutrition publishes a minimum as low as 500 for turnkey private label protein and positions itself around handling the whole package: manufacturing, label design, packaging, and fulfillment. Five hundred units is a real commitment for a first time brand, but turnkey has a genuine value when you do not have a designer, a photographer, and a 3PL already lined up.
Best for a published timeline: Aligen
Aligen is the only company of the seven to publish a turnaround, stating six weeks for private label, and it publishes its FDA registration number and a Florida Health Department license number alongside cGMP compliance. Its minimum is described as flexible rather than given as a figure.
Publishing a registration number is a small thing that says something. Most facilities describe themselves as FDA registered and leave you to take it on trust; a number is checkable. Ask every manufacturer on your shortlist for theirs.
Best for specialty protein and sport certification: Bactolac Pharmaceutical
Bactolac manufactures vegan, whey, bone broth, and organic protein, and states it can support certification for NSF Certified for Sport, organic, and non GMO requirements. It runs powders alongside tablets, capsules, softgels, and chewables. No minimum, lead time, or price is published, and its FAQ answers the cost question by saying it depends on packaging and ingredients, which is honest but not actionable.
If your product is not standard whey, this is the one on the list built for that. Bone broth protein and organic certification both narrow the facility pool considerably.
Why does nobody publish a price?
Across all seven, not one dollar figure for a private label run. That is a stronger absence than you find in most manufacturing categories, and it is not evasion.
Protein is a commodity sold by weight, and the markets move. A tub of protein powder carries roughly a pound and a half of actual raw material, which is a completely different cost structure from a capsule where the ingredients are measured in milligrams and the bottle and labor dominate. A per unit price published today against last month's whey market is a promise the manufacturer would have to absorb.
The practical consequence is that you should be suspicious of any per unit number offered before someone has asked your protein type and grade, your grams of protein per serving, your servings per container, your flavor system, and your quantity. Those five inputs decide the cost. A figure quoted without them is marketing, not a quote. And when you do get quotes back, compare them on cost per gram of protein delivered rather than cost per tub, because two identical looking prices can be selling you meaningfully different amounts of protein.
Sport certification has to be chosen before the run
If you intend to sell to athletes, teams, or retailers who ask for it, banned substance certification is a facility and batch level program. It cannot be applied to finished inventory sitting in a warehouse, so it belongs in your first conversation rather than your second year.
NSF Certified for Sport tests for approximately 290 banned substances and carries the deepest institutional recognition, including the United States Anti-Doping Agency, Major League Baseball, the National Hockey League, and the Canadian Centre for Ethics in Sport, with the NFL, NBA, PGA, LPGA, NASCAR, and Ironman among those recommending it. Informed Sport, operated by LGC Assure since 2008, covers more than 285 substances. BSCG Certified Drug Free covers approximately 450, the widest list of the three.
The substance count is the number everyone compares and the less important one. Testing frequency is the real difference. Informed Sport tests every batch before release and also runs blind tests on retail product, and BSCG works on an every lot basis, while NSF Certified for Sport uses a variable model rather than certifying every single lot. If your buyer is a league, recognition is what they ask about. If your worry is a contaminated lot reaching a customer, per batch testing is what reduces it. Ask any manufacturer two questions: whether the facility is already enrolled, and whether your product would be certified or merely made in a certified facility. Only one of those can go on a label.
What to do with this list
Decide stock or custom first, because it removes most of the list either way. Then send the same brief to three facilities with your protein type and grade, grams per serving, servings per container, format, certifications, and quantity at two or three volumes so you see the price break curve. Ask what the overage assumption is, since the manufacturer overfills against your label claim to keep the panel true through shelf life and you pay for that material.
Once product is on its way, the bottleneck moves from manufacturing to selling it, and a supplement brand with no storefront has a pallet rather than a business, so it is worth having somewhere to build the direct to consumer site before the first run lands rather than after. The sourcing side compounds too: the same shortlisting work applies whether you are adding a second SKU or a different format entirely, and the wider pool of supplement contract manufacturers covers capsules, gummies, and liquids on the same cGMP rules. If you would rather describe what you want made and have the minimums, lead times, testing, and quotes compared for you, that is what our protein powder manufacturers page is built to do.
Frequently asked questions
What is the lowest minimum order for private label protein powder?
Of seven US manufacturers checked in September 2026, ViaCore Nutrition publishes the lowest at as few as 48 bottles on a stock product, followed by Vitalabs at 72 bottles per SKU and Pure Private Label at 144 units. Makers Nutrition publishes as low as 500. Aligen, Bactolac and YouBar publish no minimum at all.
How much does private label protein powder cost per unit?
None of the seven manufacturers publishes a price, so there is no figure to quote honestly. ViaCore shows a From $2.00 placeholder that requires signing in, and Bactolac states only that cost varies with packaging and ingredients. Compare quotes on cost per gram of protein delivered rather than cost per tub, because serving size and protein percentage differ.
Why do private label protein minimums vary so much?
Almost the entire spread is stock formula versus custom formula rather than company policy. ViaCore publishes both ends itself, rising from 48 bottles on a stock product to 1,250 on a custom formula at the same facility. A stock blend already exists and is being relabeled; a custom blend means buying raw material and validating a new formula first.
Which private label protein manufacturer offers NSF Certified for Sport?
Bactolac Pharmaceutical is the one of the seven that states it can support NSF Certified for Sport certification alongside organic and non GMO requirements. Sport certification is a facility and batch level program, so it has to be chosen before the run rather than added to finished inventory, and you should confirm whether your product is certified or only made in a certified facility.
How long does a private label protein powder run take?
Only Aligen publishes a figure, stating a six week turnaround for private label. ViaCore states same day shipping on stock products and says custom formulas take longer without giving a number. The other five publish nothing, so get any verbal timeline in writing before you plan a launch date around it.
Is private label the same as white label protein powder?
In practice the terms are used interchangeably for putting your brand on an existing stock formula. Where a distinction is drawn, white label means a generic product sold to many brands and private label implies some exclusivity or modification. Both differ from custom formulation, which is built to your specification and carries a far higher minimum order.
Suppliers · Get started
Put this into practice with an AI sourcing agent
Describe what you need to make or buy in plain English, and the AI finds, vets, and shortlists qualified manufacturers, with quotes, MOQs, and lead-times compared side by side, then helps you run RFQs and POs in one place. Flat price, no per-deal commission.