suppliers.ai
How it works
Procurement software AI sourcing agent Supplier sourcing Manufacturer sourcing Supplier discovery Supplier management Purchase order software RFQ software Wholesale suppliers Cosmetic contract manufacturers Supplement contract manufacturers Electronics contract manufacturers Private label skin care manufacturers Co-packers Haircare manufacturers Clothing manufacturers Custom packaging manufacturers Jewelry manufacturers Candle manufacturers Pharmaceutical contract manufacturers Medical device contract manufacturers Pet product manufacturers Pet food manufacturers Furniture manufacturers Private label manufacturers Private label soap manufacturers Gummy manufacturers Private label coffee roasters Activewear manufacturers Hat manufacturers Sock manufacturers Swimwear manufacturers Private label perfume manufacturers Makeup manufacturers US manufacturers directory CNC machining companies Low MOQ manufacturers Manufacturers for small businesses Contract manufacturers Is Alibaba legit Alibaba vs AliExpress Alibaba vs Temu Custom clothing manufacturers Plastic injection molding companies Metal fabricators Laser cutting services Protein powder manufacturers Energy drink manufacturers Private label lip balm manufacturers Private label sunscreen manufacturers Softgel manufacturers Sauce manufacturers Snack manufacturers Wire harness manufacturers Die casting manufacturers Spring manufacturers Rubber molding companies Handbag manufacturers Tote bag manufacturers Clothing manufacturers in Mexico Vietnam clothing manufacturers Beverage co packers Factories in Mexico Toy manufacturers Private label deodorant manufacturers
Features Security Pricing Blog Sign in
All articles

Comparisons

Best Private Label Sunscreen Manufacturers USA

Eight US sunscreen makers read on their own sites. Minimums from 5,000 units per product, a testing package from $16,000 for a custom formula, pre-tested stock formulas that skip it, and the first bemotrizinol sprays.

By the Suppliers team · October 2026 · 8 min read

Sourcing console
Interactive demo

Parsed spec Searching and cross-checking_
vetted matches
Supplier Unit MOQ Lead Fit

Press Source or pick a category to get a vetted shortlist.

The short answer: the best private label sunscreen manufacturer is the one whose minimum, testing terms and calendar fit your first run. To launch this season on a formula that already has its SPF data, InSpec Solutions in Holly Hill, Florida, which starts most new brands from a pre-tested formula library. For a published floor and sprays, Pure Source in Miami at 5,000 units per product. For a mineral-only brand with a real budget, Solésence near Chicago, which makes its own mineral actives and prints its testing price. For the newest filter, Bell International Laboratories in Eagan, Minnesota, which already offers bemotrizinol in sprays.

We read the US makers that offer private label or contract sunscreen on their own websites in October 2026 and kept the eight that publish enough to judge. For each we recorded the formats, the minimum and the unit it is counted in, who runs the SPF test and who pays, and the lead time. Where a company does not publish something, we say so, because that is the first question to put in your brief. For the rules behind the numbers (why sunscreen is an OTC drug, what the NDC labeler code is, and what the FDA facility fee does to pricing), start with our private label sunscreen manufacturers guide.

Private label sunscreen manufacturers compared

MakerPublished minimumSPF testingTimeline, as statedBest for
InSpec Solutions, Holly Hill, FLVaries by format and packagingFormula library already testedNot statedLaunching on a tested stock formula
Pure Source, Miami, FL5,000 units per productCoordinated with outside labs8 to 12 weeksSprays and lotions at a known floor
Solésence, Chicagoland, IL10,000 white label, 30,000 custom (unit not stated)Custom package from $16,0006 to 18 months by pathMineral-only brands with budget
Bell International Laboratories, Eagan, MNNot statedR&D and testing in houseNot statedBemotrizinol sprays
Respect Manufacturing, Denver, COVaries by product and packagingCertified outside labsDevelopment 4 to 8 weeksA custom formula from scratch
Pure VelocityStock 5,000 to 10,000 units, typicalNot stated90 to 120 daysA wide stock range in one place
Prime Matter Labs, FL, NY and CANot statedSPF testing listedNot statedHigh volume bag-on-valve
Private Label Partners, Santa Ana, CAPilot batches, no numberCoordinated, incl. water resistanceNot statedWest Coast pilot runs

Read on each maker's own website in October 2026. Minimums, testing terms and timelines change, so confirm every figure in writing before you order.

InSpec Solutions, best for launching on a tested formula

InSpec makes mineral and chemical SPF "in lotion, stick, powder, and continuous spray on our own bag-on-valve line", plus hot-fill mineral and tinted sticks. The line that matters for a first-time brand is this one: "Most new brands start from our library of SPF formulas, already tested for their SPF and broad-spectrum claims." That sentence removes the largest fixed cost in a sunscreen launch. A custom formula has to go through in vivo SPF testing, a broad spectrum test and, for a water resistance claim, an immersion test before it can be sold. A library formula already has that data.

InSpec does not publish a minimum ("MOQs vary by format and packaging") or a lead time, and its testing is done by outside labs. Ask for the minimum at your exact fill size, and ask which changes to a library formula (fragrance, tint, texture) would mean new testing. Pick it if you want a branded SPF on shelves this season and can live with a proven formula.

Pure Source, best for a published floor and sprays

Pure Source in Miami is the clearest maker we read on volume: "a minimum of 5,000 units per product", and "We cannot manufacture orders under 5,000 units." It fills "SPF lotions, creams, gels, BOV sprays, Continuous spray, manual sprays, and tinted moisturizers", in mineral, hybrid and chemical systems, and offers both custom formulas and private label products. Its published turnaround is "8 to 12 weeks depending on formulation complexity, testing requirements, and packaging details." It coordinates SPF validation, stability and microbial testing rather than running them itself.

What it does not publish is any fee, despite a line about "transparent pricing", or what starts the 8 to 12 week clock. Pick it if you know you can fund 5,000 units of each SKU and want a spray or a body lotion, which many smaller fillers cannot run.

Solésence, best for mineral-only brands with budget

Solésence is a mineral specialist that makes "our own mineral sunscreen actives" in an FDA-registered facility outside Chicago, and it is the only maker we read that prints what testing costs. Its "standard regulatory package, which includes SPF testing, starts at $16,000" and covers static SPF, broad spectrum, water resistance, HRIPT and phototoxicity over 12 to 20 weeks. On its white label paths the products "have completed SPF testing" and Solésence covers it; on custom work the brand pays.

The numbers are big. The site lists "MOQ: 10,000" for white label and white label+ and "30,000" for custom, with no unit given, and time to market of 6 to 9 months, 6 to 12 months and 9 to 18 months by path. Pick it if your brand promise is mineral, your channel can absorb 10,000 or more, and you would rather pay for a formula partner who makes the active than buy zinc oxide from a third party.

Bell International Laboratories, best for bemotrizinol

FDA's final order of June 10, 2026 added bemotrizinol to the US sunscreen monograph, the first new filter in decades, and Bell in Eagan, Minnesota is already offering it in "Bag-on-Valve, Finger Pump Sprays and Flairosol sprays". The rest of its range covers "Mineral, chemical and hybrid" filters in "SPF lotions, sticks, sprays, and fluids", tinted SPF and zinc oxide only products, with "R&D, testing, filling and packaging in-house". It does not say whether the in vivo SPF test itself is run in house.

Bell publishes no minimum, fee or lead time. Pick it if you want to be early with a bemotrizinol spray, and ask early, because a new filter means a new formula and a new round of testing.

Respect Manufacturing, best for a custom formula from scratch

Respect runs a 30,000 square foot facility in Denver, states "FDA-registered facility" and "CGMP Certified", and makes mineral and chemical sunscreens in "tubes, bottles, pumps". It publishes a development window: "development takes 4-8 weeks, with production runs scheduled based on your launch timeline." Stability testing is in house; for SPF it works "with certified labs for official SPF verification".

No minimum ("MOQs vary by product type and packaging") and no fees. Pick it if you have a formula idea rather than a stock product in mind, and remember that the 4 to 8 weeks is development only. The outside SPF test comes after it.

Pure Velocity, Prime Matter Labs and Private Label Partners

Pure Velocity has the widest stock range we found: mineral lotion, stick, spray, serum, powder and lip balm, plus chemical clear sticks and sprays, sold as "Stock Formula / Customized Stock / Fully Custom". It says stock launches "typically start at 5,000 to 10,000 units" and quotes "90 to 120 days" from "signed agreement" to finished inventory, one of the few makers to say what starts the clock. Its site says "US and global production", so ask where your run will be made if Made in USA matters to you.

Prime Matter Labs runs plants in Miami Gardens and Medley, Florida, Brooklyn and Torrance, lists sun care, OTC and SPF testing, and cites more than 12 million units of bag-on-valve capacity at Medley. That is a high volume partner, not a first-run one. Private Label Partners in Santa Ana, California offers mineral sunscreens, sprays, tinted SPF and sticks, from "pilot batches to large-volume runs", and coordinates the required testing, including water resistance. Neither publishes a minimum.

How to choose between them

Start with one decision: stock or custom. A stock formula with existing data puts you on the InSpec, Solésence white label or Pure Velocity track, where the cost is mostly units, packaging and labels. A custom formula puts you on the Respect, Bell or Solésence custom track, where you should budget for a testing package that starts around $16,000 and adds 12 to 20 weeks. Then filter by format: sprays narrow the list to Pure Source, InSpec, Bell, Prime Matter Labs and the bag-on-valve fillers; sticks to InSpec, Private Label Partners and Pure Velocity.

Then check your price point against the shelf. A first run of 5,000 units commits real cash before you sell a tube, so before you fix the SPF, the fill size and the retail price, it pays to track what rival sun care brands charge and launch over a few weeks. If the numbers say you need a smaller first step, a lip product is the cheapest way into SPF, and our private label lip balm manufacturers guide covers the makers with much lower minimums (an SPF lip balm is still a drug, so ask the same registration questions). For the rest of the routine, from cleansers to serums, see private label skin care manufacturers.

The questions to send every maker

Send the same short brief to three or four makers so the answers can be compared. Give the format, mineral or chemical, the SPF and water resistance claims, the fill size, stock or custom, and two quantities (for example 5,000 and 10,000 units) so one-time costs separate from the unit price. Then ask the five questions that the websites leave out:

  • What is your minimum at this fill size, counted in finished units?
  • Does this formula already have SPF, broad spectrum and water resistance data, and does any change I ask for reopen testing?
  • Who books and pays for testing, and how long does it take?
  • Will you file the drug listing, and do I need my own NDC labeler code before the run?
  • Does your lead time start at the signed order, the approved formula, the test report or the arrival of packaging?

That is the request Suppliers runs for you. Describe the sunscreen once and the AI sourcing agent shortlists FDA-registered makers that fill your format at your quantity, verifies each company's identity and registrations with the evidence shown, and lines up their minimums, testing terms and lead times side by side. You choose the maker; the comparison is done before the first call.

Frequently asked questions

Which private label sunscreen manufacturer has the lowest minimum?

Of the US makers we read, Pure Source publishes the clearest floor at 5,000 units per product, and Pure Velocity says stock launches typically start at 5,000 to 10,000 units. InSpec, Respect and Private Label Partners say minimums vary by format, so ask with your fill size. Solésence starts at 10,000.

How much does SPF testing cost for a private label sunscreen?

Solésence is the only maker we found that prints a figure: its standard regulatory package, including SPF, broad spectrum and water resistance testing, starts at $16,000 and takes 12 to 20 weeks. None of the US testing labs we checked publishes a price. A pre-tested stock formula avoids the bill.

Can I launch a sunscreen without doing my own SPF testing?

Yes, if you use a formula that already has its data. InSpec starts most new brands from a library of formulas already tested for SPF and broad spectrum, and Solésence white label products have completed SPF testing. Ask whether any change you request reopens testing.

Which sunscreen manufacturer offers bemotrizinol?

Bell International Laboratories in Eagan, Minnesota offers bemotrizinol in bag-on-valve, finger pump and Flairosol sprays. FDA added bemotrizinol to the US sunscreen monograph in a final order on June 10, 2026.

Suppliers · Get started

Put this into practice with an AI sourcing agent

Describe what you need to make or buy in plain English, and the AI finds, vets, and shortlists qualified manufacturers, with quotes, MOQs, and lead-times compared side by side, then helps you run RFQs and POs in one place. Flat price, no per-deal commission.

See how it works →

Source your next product

Get a vetted shortlist in minutes.

Describe what you need and get a quote-compared supplier shortlist. Vetted shortlists, quotes compared, no per-deal commission.

What vetting means →