The short answer: the six US softgel manufacturers below publish minimums that appear to run from 1,000 to 500,000, a spread of five hundred times. Almost all of that gap is a measurement problem rather than a market one. Two of them define what they mean by a unit, and both define it as a 60 count bottle at 60 softgels per bottle. Convert the rest with that constant and a realistic first softgel run in the United States is somewhere between 2,500 and 8,500 finished bottles, with stock formulas at the bottom of the range and custom formulas at the top. The most useful single fact on this page is that the same factory quoting 8,500 bottles for a softgel will run 2,500 for a hardshell capsule, because the format sets your floor before the formula does.
Every figure here was read from each company's own website in September 2026. Where a company publishes nothing, that is recorded as not stated rather than estimated. Guessing at a minimum order and printing it as fact is how a first time supplement brand ends up budgeting for a run a third the size of the one it will actually be quoted.
The six manufacturers compared
| Manufacturer | Location | Published minimum, as stated | In 60 count bottles | Stated lead time and its starting point | Certifications stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Superior Supplement Manufacturing | Fountain Valley, CA | 500,000 softgels or 8,500 units of a 60 count for gelatin, vegan slightly higher | 8,500 as published | Not stated on the softgel page. Capsule page states 8 weeks first production, 6 to 8 recurring | cGMP certified facility. NSF, NSF for Sport, TGA, UL, Organic, Kosher, Halal available |
| NutraSeller | United States, FDA registered facilities | 150,000 softgels stock, 300,000 to 500,000 custom | About 2,500 stock as published, about 5,000 to 8,500 custom | 4 to 6 weeks stock. Custom 4 weeks R and D plus 10 weeks production | FDA registered, GMP compliant, USDA Organic, Kosher, Halal, SGS |
| Private Label Express | Coral Springs, FL | 300,000 softgels per SKU | About 5,000 (modeled) | 10 to 12 weeks from deposit, with 12 to 16 weeks stated elsewhere on the same page | cGMP 21 CFR Part 111, FDA registered, third party testing at ISO/IEC 17025 labs |
| Innova Nutra | Ontario, CA | Typically starts at 300k, unit not explicitly stated | About 5,000 (modeled, assuming softgels) | Around 6 to 12 weeks from receipt of final raw materials and packaging | ISO, cGMP and GLP |
| VITA PLUS INTER | Temecula, CA | 1,000 to 3,000 units, unit not defined | Not convertible without a definition | 6 to 10 weeks standard production cycle | GMP certified and FDA registered stated, made in USA |
| Cpack Manufacturing | Orem, UT | Flexible minimum order quantities, no figure published | Not stated | 10 to 14 weeks from formula approval, repeat orders faster | FDA registered, cGMP certified, USDA certified, UDAF registered |
Five of the six publish a figure you can plan against. One publishes an adjective. Five publish a lead time. Not one of the six publishes a price, a per unit rate or even a range, which is worth knowing before you lose an afternoon looking for one. In softgels, sending the same written brief to several factories is not a best practice you could skip if you were in a hurry. It is the only price discovery mechanism that exists.
The word "unit" is doing most of the damage
Put the two extremes side by side. Superior Supplement Manufacturing states 500,000 softgels. VITA PLUS INTER states 1,000 to 3,000 units. Read quickly, one factory wants five hundred times more product than the other, and you would reasonably conclude that one of them is not interested in new brands.
Now read what each is counting. Superior spells it out: 500,000 softgels or 8,500 units of a 60 count. A unit, to Superior, is a finished bottle holding 60 softgels. NutraSeller uses the same convention and shows its own arithmetic, putting 150,000 softgels at approximately 2,500 units for 60 count bottles. Two unrelated companies, the same definition, the same 60 softgels per bottle. That is a manufacturer published constant rather than one invented for an article, and it is enough to convert the whole category.
VITA PLUS INTER never defines the word. If its 1,000 to 3,000 units are bottles, it publishes the most accessible softgel minimum of any US facility here by a comfortable margin. If they are individual softgels, the number is so far below the rest of the market that it would need explaining. Nobody reading the page can tell which, and the page is not being evasive; it is using an industry word that the industry has never standardized.
Notice what that does to a shortlist. A founder skimming six factory pages for the friendliest number will put VITA PLUS INTER first and Superior last, when the two might be quoting quantities within a few thousand bottles of each other. Ranking suppliers by which page felt approachable means ranking them by unit of measure. The fix costs one sentence in your first email: ask every manufacturer to state the minimum in both individual softgels and finished bottles at your bottle count.
The same factory needs 3.4 times more softgels than capsules
Cross vendor comparisons always carry a nagging doubt that you are comparing a lean operation against an expensive one. Occasionally one manufacturer removes the doubt by publishing the entire ladder itself, and Superior does.
For a gelatin softgel it states 500,000 softgels, or 8,500 units of a 60 count. For a regular hardshell capsule it states 150,000 capsules, or 2,500 units of a 60 count. Same company, same facility, same bottle, and a minimum roughly 3.4 times larger for the softgel. The ingredient did not change. The delivery format did.
The ladder keeps climbing from there. Colored gelatin capsules and colored vegetable capsules are each stated at 350,000. Liquid capsules, capsule within capsule and beadlet capsules are each stated at 1,000,000 and require special approval. At one facility, from the plainest option to the most complex, the published minimum moves from 150,000 to 1,000,000. Roughly seven times, and every step of it decided before you have selected a single active ingredient.
This is the number that should shape a first production run. If you are choosing between formats on marketing instinct, you are making a cash flow decision without seeing the price tag. Getting the format question settled early is the cheapest thing you can do when you compare softgel manufacturers and capsule contract manufacturers against your actual budget.
Why softgel minimums are so much higher
The reason is mechanical, and knowing it changes how you negotiate. A hardshell capsule is filled into a shell that already exists and arrives by the drum. A softgel shell does not exist until your run starts. Two ribbons of gelatin or plant based film are formed, brought together over a rotary die that cuts and seals each capsule around the fill in a single pass, and the sealed capsules then need a drying and tumbling stage before they can be inspected and bottled.
Setting that up means matching die tooling to your capsule shape and size, preparing and conditioning a shell batch, and dialing in the seal. Manufacturers attribute the higher minimums to die setup, shell preparation and banding time rather than to ingredient cost, and the drying stage is why softgel lead times run longer than capsule lead times even at similar volumes.
Which means asking a factory to halve its softgel minimum is asking it to absorb a tooling and setup cost it cannot recover. It will not, and pushing on it wastes the goodwill you will want later. Three other questions do move the number. Is there a stock formula that fits, since NutraSeller publishes 150,000 softgels for stock against 300,000 to 500,000 for custom at the same company. Does the minimum apply per SKU or across an order sharing one fill. And what does the same product look like in a hardshell capsule.
That last one deserves more respect than it usually gets. The folk belief that launching a supplement brand takes hundreds of thousands of units is a statement about the softgel line specifically, and it is simply false one aisle over. Superior's own capsule minimum is 2,500 bottles. Gummy manufacturers publish stock minimums starting around 500 to 1,000 bottles. Protein powder manufacturers publish stock minimums as low as a few dozen units per SKU. Launching an oil based active in a capsule, proving it sells, and moving to softgels on the second or third purchase order is a completely ordinary path, and it is available this quarter rather than next year.
Three lead times, three different starting guns
The published turnarounds look comparable. They are not, because each one is measured from a different moment.
NutraSeller publishes 4 to 6 weeks for a stock softgel, and splits custom work explicitly into 4 weeks of research and development plus 10 weeks of production. Private Label Express publishes 10 to 12 weeks from deposit, and states 12 to 16 weeks typical from deposit to delivery elsewhere on the same page, an inconsistency worth raising with them directly rather than resolving by guesswork. Innova Nutra publishes around 6 to 12 weeks from receipt of final raw materials and packaging. Cpack publishes 10 to 14 weeks from formula approval to finished packaged product. VITA PLUS INTER publishes a 6 to 10 week standard production cycle without saying when it starts.
From deposit, from formula approval, and from receipt of final raw materials and packaging are three genuinely different days on a calendar, and the distance between them is where launch dates disappear. Formula approval can land weeks after your deposit clears. Receipt of final raw materials and packaging can land weeks after that, and it quietly moves your bottles, caps, induction seals and labels onto the critical path, where they are your problem rather than the factory's. A 6 week quote counted from receipt of everything can easily deliver later than a 12 week quote counted from deposit.
So ask for a delivery date rather than a duration, and name the milestone you want it counted from. It is the cheapest question in supplement sourcing and hardly anyone asks it. Either way you are looking at a couple of months where cash is committed and nothing is sellable, which is the natural window for finishing the label, the listing and the launch assets. Turning the finished product page into ad copy and on brand product images is work that costs nothing to do while the capsules are still drying, and it stops the run arriving to a store with no traffic pointed at it.
Best for scale and certification depth: Superior Supplement Manufacturing
Superior in Fountain Valley, California publishes the most useful page in this group, not because its minimums are low but because they are complete. It states softgel minimums in two units, publishes the capsule ladder alongside them, holds a cGMP certified facility, and lists NSF, NSF for Sport, TGA, UL, Organic, Kosher and Halal as available certifications. NSF Certified for Sport matters if you are selling into sports nutrition, since it has to be chosen before the run rather than added afterwards. It also states it holds a variety of stock softgel formulations. At 8,500 bottles the softgel minimum is the largest here, so this is the partner for a brand with funding and a plan to scale rather than one testing a concept.
Best documented lowest softgel minimum: NutraSeller
NutraSeller publishes the lowest softgel figure in the group that comes with its own conversion attached: 150,000 softgels for a stock formula, which the company itself puts at approximately 2,500 units for 60 count bottles. It also publishes both ends of the stock versus custom gap, at 300,000 to 500,000 softgels for custom, and splits the custom lead time into research and production. Certifications listed are FDA registered, GMP compliant, USDA Organic, Kosher, Halal and SGS, with shell options covering standard gelatin, vegan, enteric coated, opaque and rapid release. For a first softgel run on a stock formula, this is the clearest published starting point.
Best for shell options and testing documentation: Private Label Express
Private Label Express in Coral Springs, Florida publishes 300,000 softgels per SKU, roughly 5,000 bottles at 60 count, and is unusually specific about what it can run: bovine gelatin, fish gelatin for halal and kosher requirements, vegan HPMC, and enteric softgels, at fill volumes of 3 to 30 minims in oval and oblong shapes. It cites cGMP 21 CFR Part 111 by rule number and publishes third party testing at ISO/IEC 17025 accredited labs, which is more specific than the industry norm of naming a standard without naming who checks it. The lead time inconsistency on its own page is the one thing to clear up in your first email.
Best for a mid range custom run: Innova Nutra
Innova Nutra operates from two Ontario, California addresses, states ISO, cGMP and GLP, and offers both custom formulation and white label selection from existing products. Its published minimum typically starts at 300k, with the unit left implicit, and its lead time is around 6 to 12 weeks from receipt of final raw materials and packaging. Its stated specialisms are vegetarian, vitamin, CoQ10 and omega 3 fish oil softgels. Confirm the unit and get your packaging ordered early, because that clock does not start until the components land.
Best for a low stated minimum, once you confirm the unit: VITA PLUS INTER
VITA PLUS INTER in Temecula, California publishes the lowest number in this comparison, at 1,000 to 3,000 units, with a 6 to 10 week standard production cycle and GMP certified and FDA registered status stated. It positions itself around low minimums for startups and growing brands and supports made in USA branding. The entire value of the offer hinges on a word the page does not define, so this is the one call where the first question is not about price or timing. Ask what a unit is, then ask them to restate the minimum in finished 60 count bottles.
Best for a fully managed custom formulation: Cpack Manufacturing
Cpack in Orem, Utah is the group's outlier on disclosure, describing flexible minimum order quantities without publishing a figure. What it does publish is a clear custom timeline of 10 to 14 weeks from formula approval to finished packaged product, with repeat orders faster, and a solid certification set of FDA registered, cGMP certified, USDA certified and UDAF registered. Flexible may well be genuine, and for a complex custom formula it might be the most accommodating option here. You just cannot budget against it until you have asked, so put it on the list and treat the first call as the disclosure the website did not provide.
FDA registered is a baseline, not an endorsement
Every manufacturer above leans on FDA registration as a trust signal, and it is worth knowing exactly what you are being told. FDA states that it does not have the authority to approve dietary supplements before they are marketed, and that it generally does not approve dietary supplement claims or labeling before use. Separately, facilities that manufacture, process, pack or hold dietary supplements for consumption in the United States must register with FDA. So FDA registered means a required filing was made. Insist on it, and do not read it as approval of the facility, the formula or the finished product.
The requirement that actually separates these companies is current good manufacturing practice. FDA's regulations require those who manufacture, package or hold dietary supplements to follow current good manufacturing practices that help ensure the identity, purity, quality, strength and composition of the product. Ask for the evidence behind a cGMP claim rather than accepting the phrase, and ask who performs finished product testing and to which standard.
The part that catches first time private label brands is where liability lands. FDA states that a firm is responsible for ensuring that the dietary supplements it manufactures or distributes are not adulterated, misbranded, or otherwise in violation of federal law. Sell under your own brand and you are a distributor of that product. The factory runs the process and holds the certifications; the name on the bottle owns the outcome. That is a good reason to weight testing and documentation heavily when you rank a shortlist, and the same structure applies across every regulated category handled by supplement contract manufacturers. Take product specific regulatory questions to a qualified advisor rather than to a sourcing article.
What to send them
Because none of these companies publishes a price, the quality of your quotes is set entirely by the quality of your brief. Send all six the same one, and include the fill and target dose, the shell you need and whether vegan, halal, kosher or enteric is a hard requirement, capsule size or fill volume if you know it, your bottle count, the total quantity you want priced stated in both softgels and finished bottles, how many SKUs share the fill, your packaging and label status, and the delivery date you need with the milestone it is counted from.
Then ask each of them to quote at two quantities, the minimum and roughly double it. The gap between those two per unit prices tells you how much of the number is setup and how much is product, and that is the single most useful piece of commercial information you will get out of the process. It also makes six incomparable pages comparable, which is what this category needs more than anything else.
Frequently asked questions
Which softgel manufacturer has the lowest minimum order?
VITA PLUS INTER in Temecula publishes the lowest number at 1,000 to 3,000 units, but does not define what a unit is, so confirm that before ranking it first. The lowest figure that comes with its own conversion is NutraSeller's 150,000 softgels for a stock formula, which the company itself states as approximately 2,500 units for 60 count bottles.
How many softgels are in a bottle for MOQ purposes?
Both manufacturers in this comparison that define the term use a 60 count bottle at 60 softgels per bottle. Superior Supplement Manufacturing states 500,000 softgels or 8,500 units of a 60 count, and NutraSeller states 150,000 softgels as approximately 2,500 units for 60 count bottles. Confirm the ratio against your own dose and bottle count before budgeting.
Why is the softgel MOQ higher than the capsule MOQ?
Because a softgel shell is formed, filled and sealed in one pass over a rotary die and then dried, while a hardshell capsule is filled into a shell that already exists. Manufacturers attribute the higher minimum to die setup, shell preparation and banding time. Superior publishes both from one facility: 150,000 capsules against 500,000 softgels, or 2,500 bottles against 8,500.
How much does a softgel manufacturing run cost?
None of the six US manufacturers checked in September 2026 publishes a price, a per unit rate or a range anywhere on its website. Cost depends on the fill, shell type, capsule size, run length, bottle count and packaging. Ask each factory to quote at the minimum and at roughly double it, because the gap between those two rates shows how much of the price is setup.
Can a softgel manufacturer lower its minimum if I ask?
Rarely on the same specification, because most of the number is die tooling and shell batch setup rather than margin. What does move it is changing the specification. Ask whether a stock formula fits, since NutraSeller publishes 150,000 softgels for stock against 300,000 to 500,000 for custom, and ask what the same product looks like as a hardshell capsule.
Do I need a US softgel manufacturer?
Not necessarily, but domestic facilities buy you shorter freight, easier plant visits, simpler cGMP documentation and a made in USA claim on the bottle where it genuinely applies. The trade off is that published US softgel minimums cluster between 2,500 and 8,500 finished bottles, so if your budget only reaches a few hundred units the answer is usually a different format rather than a different country.
Suppliers · Get started
Put this into practice with an AI sourcing agent
Describe what you need to make or buy in plain English, and the AI finds, vets, and shortlists qualified manufacturers, with quotes, MOQs, and lead-times compared side by side, then helps you run RFQs and POs in one place. Flat price, no per-deal commission.