suppliers.ai
How it works Features Security Pricing Blog Sign in
All articles

Comparisons

Wire Harness Manufacturers in USA for Prototypes

Ten US wire harness and cable assembly shops compared on what they publish. Two state no minimum, one publishes dollar figures, two name an IPC/WHMA-A-620 class, and several build outside the US.

By the Suppliers team · September 2026 · 9 min read

Sourcing console
Interactive demo

Parsed spec Searching and cross-checking_
vetted matches
Supplier Unit MOQ Lead Fit

Press Source or pick a category to get a vetted shortlist.

The short answer: for a prototype or a first run under a few hundred pieces, call MiniProto or Falconer Electronics first, because both state in writing that they have no minimum order. MiniProto is also the only US harness shop we found that puts dollar figures on its website. If you need a delivery date you can plan around, Epec and Kato Cable publish the most complete lead times, and Epec says exactly when its clock starts. For aerospace, defense or Class 3 work, look at Circuit Assembly, which states support for all three IPC/WHMA-A-620 classes, and American Precision Assemblers, which holds AS9100 and ITAR. And before you choose any of them, check which plant will actually build your part, because several shops with a US address build some work in Mexico or Asia.

We built this comparison by reading each company's own website in September 2026. Where a shop publishes nothing on a point, we record it as not stated rather than estimate it. The full buyer's guide behind these figures, including why the workmanship class belongs on your drawing and when harness lead times actually start, is on our wire harness assembly and custom wire harness manufacturers page.

Ten wire harness manufacturers in the USA, compared on what they publish

CompanyWhere it buildsMinimum, as statedLead time, as statedBest for
MiniProtoKingston, NYTrue no MOQ, 1 to 500 units10 business days from order confirmationPrototypes and first runs with a real budget number
Falconer ElectronicsFalconer, NYNo minimumsNot statedSmall runs of industrial and vehicle harnesses
Epec Engineered TechnologiesNew Bedford, MA, plus ChinaNot stated2 to 7 weeks from approved drawingsBuyers who need a plannable date and overmolding
Kato CableMankato, MNNot stated10 to 12 weeks first build, 6 to 8 weeks repeatProduction programs with a known repeat cadence
Circuit AssemblyIrvine, CANot statedSimple or prototype often a couple of weeks or lessClass 3 and aerospace work on the West Coast
American Precision AssemblersHampshire, IL, plus Hermosillo and DuluthOne offs through high volumeNot stated; JIT, Kanban, daily deliveryAS9100 and ITAR programs that scale
Technical Cable ApplicationsAuburn, WA, plus a partner in MexicoNot statedNot stated; VMI and JITConsigned inventory and stocking programs
Electro-PrepWareham, MANot statedNot statedITAR work, turnkey or consigned
MJM IndustriesFairport Harbor, OHPrototypes, low to medium volumeNot statedBuyers who need Class 3 stated up front
CloomUS office in Florida; plants in China and the PhilippinesNo minimum order quantitySamples 3 to 4 weeks, production 4 to 5 weeksCost led volume where offshore build is acceptable

MiniProto: the only shop that tells you what a first harness costs

MiniProto in Kingston, New York is built around the order most harness shops would rather not take. It describes a true no MOQ policy from 1 to 500 units, quotes custom work in 24 to 72 hours, and runs an online configurator that it says handles about 40 percent of its orders. Standard delivery is 10 business days from order confirmation.

What sets it apart is that it publishes money. Its typical order runs $1,000 to $5,000. Its design service ballpark for a sample harness with 10 connectors, 50 wires and 5 splices is $1,323 to $1,789, which is a useful number if you are starting from a sketch rather than a finished drawing. Setup and NRE fees scale with complexity and are not given as a figure. It sources connectors turnkey from DigiKey, Mouser or the maker, tests every harness for continuity, and states IPC/WHMA-A-620 workmanship without naming a class, so name yours in the request.

Verdict: the best first call for a prototype, and the easiest way to get a real budget figure before you talk to anyone else.

Falconer Electronics: no minimums, and it says so

Falconer Electronics in western New York states it plainly: we also have no minimums. It cites IPC-620 alongside IPC-610 and J-STD-001, names Delphi, Molex, Panduit and Deutsch among its connector lines, and runs an online quote builder for ground straps and ground wires that it says returns a price in under 60 seconds. It does not publish lead times, and one of its pages is written around an older revision of IPC/WHMA-A-620, so put the current revision, F from October 2025, on your drawing.

Verdict: a strong option for small runs of industrial, equipment and vehicle harnesses, especially where the connector families above are already in your design.

Epec: the clearest lead times, with the clock start in writing

Epec Engineered Technologies in New Bedford, Massachusetts publishes more timing detail than anyone else in this set. Quotes take 24 to 48 hours for a simple cable assembly, 48 to 72 hours overmolded, and 3 to 5 days for a complex harness. Production runs 2 to 4 weeks simple, 3 to 6 weeks overmolded and 4 to 7 weeks for a complex harness, counted once the production drawings have been approved by the customer. That last condition is the useful part. It tells you that every round of drawing changes is time you spend before the build starts, not during it.

Epec states ISO 9001, UL and ITAR registration, offers Kanban and stocking programs, and builds in both the US and China, so ask which facility will build your part.

Verdict: the pick when you need to commit to a ship date, and a good fit for overmolded cable assemblies.

Kato Cable: the only shop that publishes first build and repeat separately

Kato Cable in Mankato, Minnesota publishes both halves of the timeline. A first time build, its new product introduction, takes 10 to 12 weeks. Standard production takes 6 to 8 weeks, and a quote takes about two weeks. Most shops publish one number and leave you to guess which one it is. Kato's gap of roughly four weeks is the one time work of layout boards, first article and test fixtures, which you pay for in time once.

It holds ISO 9001:2015 and cURus UL recognition and builds to WHMA-A-620 without stating a class.

Verdict: best for a production program where you want a predictable repeat lead time after the first article.

Circuit Assembly and MJM Industries: the two that name a class

Almost every shop we read says it builds to IPC/WHMA-A-620. Only two say to which class. Circuit Assembly in Irvine, California states it supports Classes 1, 2 and 3 and holds ISO 9001:2015, AS9100D and ITAR registration. It says simple assemblies or prototypes can often be turned around in a couple of weeks or less, depending on component availability. MJM Industries in Fairport Harbor, Ohio states Class 3 and describes prototype through low to medium volume work.

This matters more than it looks. The standard puts the choice of class on the buyer, and if you do not state one, the manufacturer may choose. A shop that already talks about Class 3 on its website is telling you it expects to be asked.

Verdict: Circuit Assembly for aerospace and defense on the West Coast, MJM for Class 3 work in smaller volumes.

American Precision Assemblers, Technical Cable and Electro-Prep: certified shops that scale

These three are where a program goes when it moves past prototypes. American Precision Assemblers in Hampshire, Illinois lists one offs through high volume, holds AS9100, ITAR and UL recognition, and offers consignment with just in time, Kanban and daily delivery, with plants in Hermosillo and Duluth as well. Technical Cable Applications in Auburn, Washington holds ISO 9001:2015, UL/CSA and ITAR, runs consigned inventory, vendor managed inventory and just in time stocking, tests 100 percent electrically, and works with a partner operation in Mexico. It cites Revision D of IPC/WHMA-A-620, which is two revisions old. Electro-Prep in Wareham, Massachusetts holds ISO 9001:2015, UL/CSA and ITAR, and takes both turnkey and consigned materials.

Verdict: APA for a certified program that needs to scale with scheduled deliveries, Technical Cable when you want to consign your own connectors, Electro-Prep for ITAR work in New England.

Cloom: fast quotes, but check where it is built

Cloom runs its US office in Medley, Florida. Its plants are in Shijiazhuang, China and Cavite in the Philippines. It states no minimum order quantity, quotes within 12 hours, and publishes samples in 3 to 4 weeks and mass production in 4 to 5 weeks. It holds ISO 9001, IATF 16949, ISO 13485 and UL, and sources connectors through Arrow, Digi-Key, Mouser and Avnet.

Verdict: worth a quote for cost led volume where offshore production is acceptable. Not the right choice if you need domestic manufacture, a made in USA claim, or export controlled work.

Which one to call first

Match the shop to the situation rather than to a ranking. For a prototype from a sketch, MiniProto. For a small run with common connector families, Falconer. For a hard ship date, Epec or Kato Cable. For Class 3, aerospace or defense, Circuit Assembly or American Precision Assemblers. For consigned parts and stocking programs, Technical Cable Applications. Quote at least two, because none of these shops publishes a unit price, and the only way to see how much of a quote is one time setup is to ask for two quantities from the same shop.

One thing no shop controls is your connector. The connector industry backlog, as reported by TTI and Bishop and Associates, reached 14.7 weeks in June 2026, up from 12.6 weeks at the end of 2025. That is an order cover measure rather than a quoted lead time, but it is the reason to ask every shop to review your bill of materials for long lead parts and approved alternates before you place the order.

Once you have picked a shop, put the class, the revision, the test requirement and the agreed scrap allowance for consigned terminals on the order itself. If your team still raises orders by hand, purchase order software keeps those terms attached to every release so the second order carries the same spec as the first.

Shortlist the right harness shop in one brief

Every shop above answers a slightly different question on its website, which is why comparing them takes a week of email. Suppliers does it from one description. Tell the agent what the harness is, the quantity for the first run and the repeat, the IPC/WHMA-A-620 class, whether the build is turnkey or consigned and which certifications you need. It shortlists matching US wire harness and cable assembly manufacturers, shows their published terms side by side and sends the same request for quote to each one. If the harness is part of a board level product, our electronics contract manufacturers guide covers the assembly side, and the best electronics contract manufacturers for hardware startups compares eight US PCB assembly partners on the same terms.

Frequently asked questions

Which wire harness manufacturers in the USA have no minimum order?

MiniProto states a true no MOQ policy from 1 to 500 units and Falconer Electronics states it has no minimums. American Precision Assemblers builds one offs through high volume. Cloom also states no minimum, but its plants are in China and the Philippines.

How much does a prototype wire harness cost?

MiniProto is the only US shop we found that publishes figures: typical orders of $1,000 to $5,000, and a design service ballpark of $1,323 to $1,789 for a sample harness with 10 connectors, 50 wires and 5 splices. Setup fees scale with complexity, so ask for two quantities.

Which harness shop has the fastest lead time?

MiniProto quotes 10 business days from order confirmation. Epec publishes 2 to 4 weeks for simple assemblies counted from drawing approval, and Circuit Assembly says simple prototypes can often turn in a couple of weeks or less. Connector availability can extend any of these.

Which US wire harness manufacturers build to IPC/WHMA-A-620 Class 3?

Circuit Assembly states it supports Classes 1, 2 and 3, and MJM Industries states Class 3. Most other shops cite the standard without naming a class, so state Class 3 and the current revision, F from October 2025, in your request.

Are all US wire harness companies manufacturing in the US?

No. Cloom has a US office but builds in China and the Philippines, Technical Cable Applications works with a partner in Mexico, American Precision Assemblers lists Hermosillo, and Epec builds in the US and China. Ask which facility will build your part number.

Suppliers · Get started

Put this into practice with an AI sourcing agent

Describe what you need to make or buy in plain English, and the AI finds, vets, and shortlists qualified manufacturers, with quotes, MOQs, and lead-times compared side by side, then helps you run RFQs and POs in one place. Flat price, no per-deal commission.

See how it works →

Source your next product

Get a vetted shortlist in minutes.

Describe what you need and get a quote-compared supplier shortlist. Vetted shortlists, quotes compared, no per-deal commission.

What vetting means →